We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Sunday carvery lunch.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Spider

The Blue Spider
Station Road | Beamish, Stanley, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 35 Restaurants in Stanley
Cuisines: Steakhouse, English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday carvery lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We went as a group of 10 for Sunday lunch, l hadn't realised that Pepe's ( which we have enjoyed many a meal in) and the Blue Spider were apparently one and the same restaurant. We all had carvery, great choice of Beef, Turkey, Pork or Ham, I had beef & ham which were both delicious and there was a good selection of veg. Rather than just the usual carrots & peas, it was lovely to also have a choice of roast parsnips, red cabbage, leeks in a creamy cheese sauce, as well as mashed & roast potatoes, mashed turnip, cauliflower & cabbage which all were fresh & cooked to perfection. All 10 of us enjoyed the food, the service was efficient & staff very friendly. Only complaints were the fact that it was so busy that we felt a little bit cramped, my chair was beside a pillar which I was a bit squashed against and also the music, at one point there was music playing in the room where we were sitting and also music coming from the other room (but different music) so it was a bit distracting. These are only minor niggles though, the most important thing is the food and the service which were both great. We will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Second visit this year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Visited the restaurant as part of a group and a set carvery buffet had been ordered. The food was very good. There were 50 of us and it didn't take that long to get everyone served. We had been there in March as well and this meal was as good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“steak perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

i don't like my steak red, so i'm always getting wrong off my husband who likes his steak very rare, they did it perfect for me

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We chose the Blue Spider as it was new and we have visited Pepe's, the sister restaurant on many occasions and had never been disappointed, The Blue Spider didn't disappoint and we would definitely go back again. We went as a couple for my partners birthday so we went straight into the restaurant but there is a wine bar attached to the restaurant where you could go for a pre dinner drink if there were more of you. We both had steak and it was cooked to perfection, was hot and we didn't have to wait long between courses but they weren't rushed out either so we didn't feel pressured into eating and leaving. The only down side was the Tiramisu, being Italian we expected home made but it was still a nice dessert and a nice little touch at the end of the meal we were both given a glass of Bailey's. It is not too expensive and we look forward to our next visit

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Mothers Day evening carvery for a party of 50”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We joined a party of 50 for an organised meal at The Blue Spider. We were all motorhome owners staying at Beamish Museum over the weekend. Never seen the place before, it didn't look like a working mens club to me, I had been renovated and looked very slick. Service was first class, and the carvery was excellant. Couldn't manage a desert. The wine was reasonably priced and the meal was very good value for money. Everyone in our party spoke very highly of it. I left a decent tip as I thought they certainly deserved it. Would go again if we are in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Spider also viewed

 
Stanley, County Durham
Stanley, County Durham
 

Been to The Blue Spider? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Spider, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.