We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Bell Inn

The Blue Bell Inn
Kip Hill, Stanley DH9 OLR, England
01207 232 163
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 32 restaurants in Stanley
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely family meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Had a lovely decent meal. Nice atmosphere with polite, friendly staff. Portions are good value for money! Would recommend to others :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    64
    20
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stanley
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“xmas fayre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

hubby had the broth with a warm roll which was very tasty, and i had prawn cocktail which ddywas lovely. We both had turkey, pigs in blankets, roasties, yorkkshire pud, and brussels, carrots, peas, cauliflower, and turnip,plenty of hot gravy. Our desserts were xmas pudding and i had pouring cream, hubby had cheesecake with berries and pouring cream. The meal was lovely and well presented, best xmas meal we have had so far this year, and the owner Eddy makes you feel welcome.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Christmas Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Just been for my Christmas dinner with my fellow quilting ladies and Eddy and Stuart have once again pulled out all the stops. Meal was ready for us prompt on time (although we were a little late) and no hanging about between courses. The atmosphere was great, the friendliness superb and the meal was the best yet!! Merry Christmas to all of you at the Blue Bell you deserve the best x

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“seasonal nosh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

my husband and i with 17 friends have just had our christmas lunch here today 7th december and it did not disappoint well worth the visit. Eddie and his staff were excellent very courteous and helpful and happy -the meal itself was good the choice was broth-prawn cocktail and cameberet meal dish was turkey-beef- pork and salmon dessert xmas pudding cheesecake and chocolate cake all dishes were served with detail and piping hot and good selection of vegetables in fact too much,in fact if i eat any more i would not have room for my dessert.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“family lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

took my mum,2 daughters,and granddaughter for lunch. The food was fab as usual...Eddie kept everyone amused singing Xmas Carol's!!!..Xmas Decs are lush!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Bell Inn also viewed

Stanley, County Durham
Stanley, County Durham
 
Beamish, County Durham
 

Been to The Blue Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Bell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.