We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel (but choose your room with care)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   52 - 53 Market Place, Middleton in Teesdale DL12 0QH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Fife, Scotland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel (but choose your room with care)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed for one night on our cycling holiday. The reception was friendly and efficient (our bikes were very well looked after). The room and bathroom (which has a bath - very welcome on a cycling holiday!) were both clean and comfortable. Our evening meal was perfectly adequate, and there was a number of real-ales available: just the job on a cycling holiday!

The only problem is bar noise in the bedrooms. We had room-6, which along with room numbers five and above, are all directly above the bar. Our sleep was not affected too much, but only by virtue of having cycled for 6-hours that day! We recommend that you try to get rooms 1 to 4, as (we think) they should be much quieter.

Room Tip: Avoid room numbers 5 and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    62
    16
    7
    7
See reviews for
22
191
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Driving through Middleton-In-Teesdale recently, we stumbled across The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant. We did not use the hotel facilities, so cannot comment on those, but an impromptu decision to take a break from a long drive turned out to be a good one. A warm welcome awaited us. Nothing was too much trouble for the waitress, Sophie, who was friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive without being intrusive.
The food was delicious! Beautifully cooked and presented without being 'fussy', yet the attention to detail was beyond reproach. Try the pork loin with savoy cabbage and mustard cream! Their very talented chef had prepared everything, down to the truffles which accompanied our coffee. It was well worth the drive, and I'm sure in the future we will be sampling other dishes from the menu. This was possibly the best meal I have eaten in a restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Can't comment on hotel as only visited restaurant we were a party of 8adults and and 9children the food was fantastic not one complaint from any of us even the kids chicken strips were freshly made. Service was brilliant would recommend the belly pork starter

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Four of us recently stayed at this hotel. The food and service were superb, the breakfast was amazing. We stayed in a room at the back of the hotel, not a great view and was quite noisy. When we mentioned this we were told it was due to there being an old chimney breast and that the music and people talking travelled up this. I am not sure that was the reason as our friends stayed in a room at the front and could hear someone talking loudly at 3 in the morning. Their room had a bathroom up a flight of stairs, there was no door on this and my friend found this really odd. Having said all that, we would probably return as the owner and staff were lovely

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Very enjoyable stay. The only thing I would say negative would be it advertised a super king size bed. Once in the room it was 2 singles joined together. But was still comfortable. Food for me was the highlight (not cheap but I don't mind for that kind of quality) service excellent and breakfast was also nice on the morning. Would return again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights B + B, and also had 2 evening meals. I had requested a smoking room, which was room 5 at the front of hotel, nice room with wc/shower up a carpeted staircase. We had a cafetiere and ground coffee in the room, fresh milk on request, tea, and hot chocolate. I loved the atmosphere in the restaurant, loads of character, and the food was absolutely fantastic! Frank the owner, works very hard, as do his staff. They are all so friendly and welcoming.The lady chef (sorry, didn't get her name), takes great pride in her food prep + presentation. All our meals were beautifully presented and tasted great. The surrounding area has spectacular scenery. We will definitely return. Thank you! xx

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had a 1 night stay before attending a wedding the next day. Pleasant greeting and shown to our room. Room seemed very comfortable and clean, although a live month was found in one of the pillow cases flapping about. Unfortunately the TV didn't show a picture, only radio. Room had tea, coffee and hot chocolate for us to help ourselves. Hotel is set in a lovely, idyllic village with a few choices of restaurants for evening meals. We ate in the restaurant and were amazed by the food. Excellently presented, good portions and very tasty. Breakfast was the same in the morning too! Our room was above the bar which was a little noisy at night, but overall good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 52 - 53 Market Place, Middleton in Teesdale DL12 0QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Middleton in Teesdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Middleton in Teesdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our rooms are en suite with Freeview TV, Tea/Coffee making facilities and WiFi access. Our licensed bar is open until midnight every day and our restaurant serves outstanding French style dishes. Breakfast can be taken at any time - so you have no deadline in the morning and we also have a lovely terrace next to the river to relax on in the summer months. Dogs and children are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Forresters Hotel And Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.