We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food & dogs welcolme” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   52 - 53 Market Place, Middleton in Teesdale DL12 0QH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Newton Aycliffe, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Fantastic food & dogs welcolme”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just got back from a 2 night stay at The Forresters and it has fantastic food which not only tasted great but looked like a work of art,great staff, lovely rooms and a great location for river walks. Hopefully will be returning soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    62
    16
    7
    7
See reviews for
22
191
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Visited for an evening whilst walking the Pennine Way.
Welcomed by Frank who was most helpful and gave good service either at the bar or in the restaurant.
A good sign was that locals were using the hotel.
Good selection of food and local ale on tap.The friendly local chef was very helpful with points of interest. Our accommodation was elsewhere but residents staying there spoke highly of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed for two nights using groupon.Room was small but was advised of this when booking as was only one left that weekend.Although small was very clean and bedding and towels lily white even had iron and ironing board in wardrobe.
Staff were all very pleasant but top marks to Franc who seemed to be there 24hrs worked really hard throughout our stay and a very pleasant French man with a lovely family, had a chat with his father who was on holiday from france.
Now the food I don't think you could get better anywhere we ate both nights in the restaurant and the food was delicious reasonably priced and very well presented top marks to Francs wife for the choux pastry swan gateaux was delicious.
Breakfast we had full English but there were several choices and again well cookes and presented.
Would recommend this hotel for great food and hospitality looking forward to staying again
Alan & Jenn
Newcastle

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Hi, six family members stayed here Friday and Saturday 26th April. we had a friendly greeting and were escorted to our rooms to see if everything was ok and it was, we had a duplex room with the bedroom upstairs, in the bathroom were freshh white bathrobes, a wonderfull large bath, plenty of tea and coffee for your use, everything in the room was spotless.. downstairs you are welcomed by the whole family, Franc, the owner is a top guy, nothing at all is any trouble, they have a cracking selection of beers at a reasonable price,
Now for the Restaurant........ the best food i have had in a long time, the presentation and flavour is just supurb.... i take my hat off to the Chef !! we tried the full three courses, wow absolutly faultless, we were given a free bottle of wine, well how nice is that, Franc is French, and shows he is proud of his establishment, he never stops, he still understood Geordie.... well done Franc ha ha , try the " Gateau Brekky " it looks like a Gateau, but a full english, presented in a 5 star manner, you will have to try hard to find fault here......... will we be back.......... you bet we will Steve and Bren and Family

Room Tip: Room 3 is a duplex with large bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

we have just returned from a 2 night stay wed/thur april 2013.the owner also had his parents over from france which gave the hotel that little touch of france.the hotel had a great feel about it,very relaxed and friendly.staff went out of there way to help in every way.the food was excellent,great breakfast included and evening meals/wine out of this world with down to earth prices.for real ale drinkers there is a great range at a great price.our dog has'nt learnt to speak yet but i'm sure he enjoyed his stay as much as us.great walks starting a few yards from the hotel front door.will definately be paying another visit later in the year..
jane and jim

Room Tip: we had room 3 which is at the front of the hotel.it has an upstairs bathroom which is very spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scunthorpe
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay with my husband and some friends, none of us wanted to leave. The hotel is very quaint and the rooms were lovely. Nothing was too much trouble for the owner Frank very willing and very friendly. The bar had every drink imaginable and my husband enjoyed the guest ale. Now to start on the food!! Which was absolutely fantastic, we decided to eat in on the first night and were going to go elsewhere on the second but soon changed our minds. Everything that all four of us had was very delicious and well presented. We had starters mains and sweets and absolutely could not fault anything. We were talking to the chef who said he had been out of the trade for a few years and only just returned..... This guy needs to be a chef all the time his food is amazing! We will definitely be returning, hopefully in the summer.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just returned home from a 2 night stay here and I cannot praise it more!!brilliant hotel with lovely comfy room,amazing food and top staff!the best part about this hotel has to be the owner frank!he could not do enough for us!nothing was a problem!we stayed in the bar area both night as it had such a warm and friendly atmosphere!will be returning here in summer,the hotel is a hidden gem!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 52 - 53 Market Place, Middleton in Teesdale DL12 0QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Middleton in Teesdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Middleton in Teesdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our rooms are en suite with Freeview TV, Tea/Coffee making facilities and WiFi access. Our licensed bar is open until midnight every day and our restaurant serves outstanding French style dishes. Breakfast can be taken at any time - so you have no deadline in the morning and we also have a lovely terrace next to the river to relax on in the summer months. Dogs and children are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Forresters Hotel And Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.