We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm and friendly welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   52 - 53 Market Place, Middleton in Teesdale DL12 0QH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A warm and friendly welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Upon our arrival the manager could not do enough for us. Yes the hotel had been closed over the weekend and was rather chilly, but apologies were made and adequate heaters were put on to warm the place through. Our bedroom was extremely cosy for the duration of our stay. It overlooked the main road , leading throught the village. Street parking was easy, free and plentiful. Our room was clean and comfortable, bathrobes, hairdryer and beauty products provided. We had a 3 course meal - Dinner was divine. The presentation was outstanding. The service from ALL the staff was first class and we were made to feel extremely welcome. Breakfast on the day of our departure was provided early, to accomodate an appointment we had to attend.
The efforts of the manager to make the place more attractive - painting of the restaurant, planting outside, BBQs on the terrace - will only add to the already welcoming feel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    62
    16
    7
    7
See reviews for
22
191
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We love coming to the Forresters for lunch. When we arrived in Middleton the first thing we did was to check the opening time on the notice board outside with the lunch menu. 12 mid day so we had a few hours to fill in. We wondered around Middleton, looking in the bookshop etc. We still had 40 mins to fill in and as it was so cold and we had too small children we decided to go into the cafe for a drink to sit out the remaining wait. We then went back to the Forresters and waited and waited and waited. By 12.20 we gave up. By now we had wasted over an hour waiting for the place to open so we gave up. But at least I can say nice fish and chips from the chip shop!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Review of Restaurant only:
My summer 2012 review of the Forresters restaurant was a glowing and accurate account of our experience. Not knowing that there had been any changes at the establishment we booked to go again with friends, to whom we had given it a build up and spoken about the flair that the French chef gave to every dish. This return visit was in December 2012 for an evening meal and as soon as we entered we saw some unwelcome changes. The comfortable lounge area had been taken over by a garish blue pool table in place of the leather settees and actually the place was quite empty. We were the only diners in the large dining room which was freezing cold in spite of having booked and the opportunity having been there to light the fire. We therefore sat through a very disappointing meal with our coats on and wondered how things could be so different from our previous meal. None of us felt like staying for dessert or even a coffee and we left feeling very disappointed but assumed that maybe the chef was absent and someone had had to stand in to do the cooking.
It was only recently whilst looking at some of the reviews here that I realised that the excellent French chef/proprietor had left and that the restaurant was under the new ownership when we visited in December.
It seems that the gem we thought we had discovered has now gone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were booked at this hotel for 2 nights bed & breakfast on a KGB deal and only spent one night there.
We checked in about 2.45pm on a Tuesday and the hotel was freezing cold. Granted this is the middle of winter but its not unreasonable to expect a warm hotel. Apparently the hotel is closed from Sunday pm until Tuesday pm, which probably explains why it was so cold. The bedroom was equipped with central heating and an electric heater but it took more than 2 hours before the room was anything like warm. The “feature” bathroom upstairs from the bedroom was especially cold, so much so that we had to leave the electric heater on all night to ensure that it would be warm next morning. Although the water was hot, taking a shower was a cold experience. It is obvious that cleaning in the bedrooms is not a priority with skirting boards and stair balustrades covered in dust.
That evening we were asked if we were dining in the hotel but the place was still not warm enough to sit and enjoy a meal so we ate out that night. Unfortunately there were no fires lit in the lounge and the dining room was in darkness. The menu we were given is quite different to that shown on the website so be advised. We thought the food prices were quite high with most main course meals over £14 and the steak at £18. I can’t say if vegetables are included with these prices as it wasn’t mentioned on the menu.
The next morning we went to the breakfast room, which was already very cold. To add to this the electric power to the village went off just as we walked in so the supplementary heaters went off. However, we were offered a cooked breakfast and we asked for crispy bacon. We shouldn’t have bothered asking because it came only just cooked. Cereals and orange juice weren’t offered, we had to ask, and then we had to ask for spoons and then for salt for the cooked breakfast. Everything was done half heartedly and seemed too much trouble.
These are just a few of the minor niggles that build up and create a bad impression of the place. We were so disappointed that we decided to leave the hotel after our first nights stay.
Looking at Trip Advisor clearly this hotel has had some praise in the past, but there has been a recent change in management and now there is a great deal of room for improvement in my opinion.
Needless to say we will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have just returned from an extremely enjoyable weekend at the Forresters. This is the second time that we have visited - both times on a Groupon deal. We were slightly concerned prior to going as we had heard that the management had changed, and as we had really enjoyed things last time we hoped that the experience would be the same. Why did we worry???. We were greeted in very friendly terms by Nadina, the new manageress and chef. This lady is trying very hard to reestablish the business after taking over at the end of November. She works very long hours and we hope that her efforts are rewarded in the longer term. She is also an excellent chef - we ate in the hotel both evenings and the food was superb, and very good value for money. The hotel rooms are ok but could do with a little bit of a refurb. Its not the Ritz but the rooms and the running water are warm!!. Our room was clean and the bed extremely large and comfortable.
For animal lovers - dogs are welcome., and can come into the bar. They are not allowed into the restaurant.
There is now a pool table in the bar, which has comfy chairs, a good selection of beers and lagers and a wide range of spirits. Liam the barman is a friendly very willing chap who also doubles as a waiter when required. Another mention should be given to Siobhan who is the breakfast waitress and is a bright intelligent chatty girl.
Our ratings are given based on our experience which was excellent. This is a small pub hotel, and we were here in the second week of January - hardly peak season. There is work to be done here but the value for money and the quality of the food are excellent. We will be returning and recommend the pub to all. Expect a good quality pub hotel and that what you get. It is not a 5* Hilton, but it has a charm and personality of its own. We wish Nadina and her team all the best for the year ahead.

Room Tip: The rooms do vary in size - some have baths and some just showers. Enquire when you book as to what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Thanks again Jo and Frank and the team for another lovely stay. Really enjoyed ourselves especially the amazing food. Loved the new layout with the lounging area by the wood burner in the dining room. Eddy & Erica.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay. On arrival were greeted by 2 friendly members of staff one showed us to our room which we were most disappointed with it was small, the television was on the window sill and it in general had a tired feeling to it. It also only had a shower. We went and asked if we could change to a room with a bath in the staff were happy to oblige and showed us 2 rooms to choose from. We chose room 4 which was twice the size of the original room with a bathroom upstairs with a bath- very nice!! The room had a problem with the heating but we were given a heater to help with this.
We went to the bar for a drink and to use the WiFi as we were unable to access it in the room. The signal for the free view television was also unreliable so not many of the channels worked.
After an awful nights sleep due to a constant pouring sound from the persistent rain overspilling from the guttering we went down to breakfast. We ordered a full English which consisted of bacon,local produced sausage, fried bread, egg, tomato, black pudding and mushrooms. We asked for the breakfast without tomato, black pudding and mushrooms and when we were presented with it we were very disappointed. On the plate was a chipolata sausage, a small piece of bacon, tiny pieces of fried bread and egg. (wish we had taken a photo). We complained and were told it was a standard breakfast and no one else had complained. It was really disappointing with not getting all the breakfast items maybe we could of got extras of others. Thankfully the following morning this had been taken into account and we did have a bigger better breakfast.
This hotel has so much potential but at the moment all the little things add up and we didn't have an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 52 - 53 Market Place, Middleton in Teesdale DL12 0QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Middleton in Teesdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Middleton in Teesdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our rooms are en suite with Freeview TV, Tea/Coffee making facilities and WiFi access. Our licensed bar is open until midnight every day and our restaurant serves outstanding French style dishes. Breakfast can be taken at any time - so you have no deadline in the morning and we also have a lovely terrace next to the river to relax on in the summer months. Dogs and children are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Forresters Hotel And Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.