We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel in area of outstanding beauty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   52 - 53 Market Place, Middleton in Teesdale DL12 0QH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Keighley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“lovely hotel in area of outstanding beauty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Enjoyed a long weekend with friends at this lovely hotel. The staff were very kind and helpful with special mention to Sophie and Callum who couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was excellent {even on the KGB deal} and the evening meal was beautifuuly prepared, fresh and tasty. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and we had no problem sleeping even in the room on the road side. The area is great for walking, cycling or simply sight seeing as the surrounding roads are very quiet. Extra staff on a Saturday evening would help as Callum was the only person working and he had to take orders, serve a large number of meals in the reataurant and also serve drinks in the bar. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    62
    16
    7
    7
See reviews for
22
191
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Lovely Hotel, serving beautiful food, Made very welcome once again .
This is the third time i have stayed here. The staff worked very hard indeed, nothing too much trouble for them.
Rooms are very comfortable, modern bathrooms, very clean ,
The food is very good great menu and fresh produce.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington , UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We spent a weekend here for our Wedding Anniversary recently and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our room was comfortable and stylish, the staff were friendly and helpful, the surrounding countryside was stunning and the food was fabulous.
All in all we would definitely go back and would have no hesitation in recommending it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We visited the Forresters for our Wedding Anniversary, we were lucky to get a Groupon deal which was amazingly good value, however, having been there and sampled the amazing food and hospitality i would (and will) return in a heartbeat.
This fab little place isnt the boutique luxury some would crave for, what it is, is a beautiful little hotel, with an excellent bar, really attentive and wonderfully welcoming staff and serving some of the best food ive tasted anywhere. The food alos really is a must do lunches and evening meals were exemplary however for me i found the breakfasts just satisfactory but there is no way the humble breakfast could match the food we had savoured for evening meal and i now realise that the breakfast represented the Groupon deal we had bought. We stayed for two nights and i have nothing but good to say about this lovely little place. One piece of advice if you stay there ask for a room at the back of the hotel the front is noisy with trucks and tractors from 5am for anyone who sleeps badly i would strongly recommend you ask for a hotel away from the front but i would also advise that you give this wonderful place and its amazing french cuisine a try.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We spent two nights here and really enjoyed both the hotel and surrounding countryside. The room was very different from the norm, in that we had a stairway leading up to our bathroom, and a very spacious one it was with all, good quality toiletries provided. The food was excellent and nothing was too much trouble, I like my bacon burnt and crisp and that was how it came. The one downside was, on the second night we waited for our vegetables to come and eventually asked for them. After some minutes, he came back and said that they had run out of vegetables, would we accept chips instead!
Overall, the place was clean and the staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llanbrynmair
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My first review ever on TA, that's how strongly I feel. We were on a KGB deal and how we were made to realise that! Breakfast was full or continental with any extras paid for at a premium, for example extra cup of tea £1.85. Full breakfast meant NO juice, NO cereal, NO toast, just a plate of the usual ingredients but bacon as a garnish on half a tomato! The room was shabby, clothes left from a previous occupant in the drawers and there was a coating of dust throughout. Linen and towels were clean but no room service. Evening meal was OK but overpriced, when I offered constructive criticism that the turnip was very bitter (couldn't actually get a knife through it) I was told turnips are bitter! I know what turnips should taste like.
Visited a pub/hotel in the area where there were 2 other residents with the same opinion as ours. When we talked to the owner he remarked that this was what he was hearing from everyone who had stayed at the Forresters.
I'm not fussy but had to leave this review because I feel that based on previous reviews you would be extremely disappointed as we were.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
forrestershotel, Owner at The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was unsatisfactory. Even more so that you felt you needed to air your grievances here rather than bringing them to our attention during your stay which would have given us the opportunity to correct any issues that you were unhappy with.

Our rooms are always cleaned to the highest standard so we are surprised to learn that yours was dusty or that items from previous residents had been overlooked. And we weren't aware that you required room service - something that we are happy to provide at all times - even to guest such as yourselves that are paying a heavily reduced price through a voucher company.

Your issue with the bitterness of the turnips has been investigated and we have now removed them from our menu. We are sorry that you found them to be this way and hope that the baby carrots, baby leeks and other vegetables that you received as the rest of the selection were to your liking.

We use all local, fresh, quality ingredients in our kitchen and aim to provide dishes that are noted for their taste rather than their size. Perhaps you can consider that the use of such ingredients, along with the provision of canapés and truffles influences our pricing – which we consider to be value for money. You mention the cost of your tea – but I would like to point out that the price you paid was for a pot of tea not a cup.

If you take a few moments to scan our other reviews you will see that your opinion is the minority and not the general consensus as you apparently learned from the owner and clientèle at the hotel opposite. We pride ourselves on good service, high quality food and attention to detail and this has lead to an ever increasing number of loyal and happy customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We booked a family lunch to celebrate a special birthday and also requested a cake to be made by the chef.
The meal was quite simply faultless and exceeded all expectations of what a rural hotel/restaurant could produce. The service, presentation and quality of the food was extraordinary, an absolute pleasure. The standard of cooking equalled some boasting coveted stars.
When the cake which I had ordered was brought out it certainly had the wow factor, it could easily have graced the finest Parisian patisserie, after all the chef proprietor is French.
The remainder of the cake - at least three quarters, was taken home where it continued to impress neighbours and visitors.
This place is an absolute gem and I wish I had discovered it sooner. We will certainly be back again, for dinner next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 52 - 53 Market Place, Middleton in Teesdale DL12 0QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Middleton in Teesdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Middleton in Teesdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our rooms are en suite with Freeview TV, Tea/Coffee making facilities and WiFi access. Our licensed bar is open until midnight every day and our restaurant serves outstanding French style dishes. Breakfast can be taken at any time - so you have no deadline in the morning and we also have a lovely terrace next to the river to relax on in the summer months. Dogs and children are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Forresters Hotel And Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.