We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed her for our 7th wedding anniversary .” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Talbot Hotel Malton

Save Saved
You added The Talbot Hotel Malton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Talbot Hotel Malton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yorkersgate, Malton YO17 7AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Malton
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“We stayed her for our 7th wedding anniversary .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel was good, standards ok, very clean and tidy, we were rushed at breakfast and the staff started clearing away at 930am whilst we were eating, most rude and unprofessional. The room was clean and tidy, and the shower was excellent. We were very disappointed in the food, we have been to many fine dine restaurants and the food was very average, the portions were very small even for this level and type of experience. My husbands cod for his main course was no more than 4oz.. We will not be returning and went because of the James Martin name.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Netty1556,

I was sorry to read your review today regarding your recent stay with us and how you feel.

I wish that you may have flagged up your points of view in person at the time and we may have been able to address some of them.

Breakfast does indeed finish around 9.30 and we would normally start to tidy things up one everyone had finished with the cold buffet. We certainly do not intend to make people feel rushed.

I am also very sorry to see that you found our food offering only average and we did not live up to your expectations regarding this.

However, the really disappointing thing is that you say that you would not consider returning.

I do hope that you may at some stage reconsider and if you do, then please contact me at the hotel, where I would be delighted to take care of your booking personally.

My kindest regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    484
    139
    43
    17
    7
See reviews for
57
483
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Ok, let's start by saying you're unlikely to bump into James Martin when dining at the Talbot although the menu is his inspiration. What you can expect however, is first rate cooking and some nice touches. My wife particularly enjoyed the beetroot meringues with the goats cheese.
The hotel itself is something of a work in progress, but the rooms are very comfortable and it's fair to say a huge amount of work has already been undertaken. The front of house team are fairly young but were friendly and helpful and I can recommend staying with the DBB package as a great base for touring.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quiet and look out onto the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Hugoknutsford,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your review.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and were impressed with the refurbishment of the proprty that we carried out last year.

I hope that we may welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The overnight stay was a birthday gift and included dinner in the restaurant, so the destination was not of our choosing. Having said that the whole stay could not have been better from the friendly greeting at reception, an excellent lunch menu and attentive bar staff. This was followed by dinner in the James Martin inspired restaurant where the service matched the quality of the food which was further improved by a wine list running to 10 pages.
A "cooked to order" breakfast sent us on our way the following morning with contented smiles. Not the cheapest place in the world but really good value for what you would pay and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Room 9 is large and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Yorkshireman57,

Thank you for your review, we are all very happy that you enjoyed you stay with us.

It is always nice to read when someone has enjoyed their stay with us so much and you found our wine list so interesting!

I look forward to seeing you boyh back in the not too distant future.

My kindest regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Eaton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We recently stayed at the Talbot Hotel for two nights on a D.B&B basis. Our idea of a good Hotel is country house style and excellent food. This Hotel has both in abundance, public rooms are elegant and comfortable. Levels of service were impeccable, but the star of the show is the lovely Restaurant with it's white linen and superb food.
James Martin the exec. chef has produced excellent menus but the rest of the kitchen staff should be congratulated for presenting it so well.
Would we return to the Talbot?---Can't wait.

Brenda & Gavin
Long Eaton

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Summerlovin_8,

Thank you for your very kind feedback, we all really appreciate it.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our food and servie so much and I look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Probably the cleanest hotel we have ever stayed in. Only stayed for one night but the Norton room that we booked was very spacious with a lovely bathroom. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and went out of their way to assist with my food allergy - and certainly didn't make me feel like I was making work for them ! ( which I probably was :) )
The barman, whose name I forget was really helpful and the food was lovely. Tea and coffee can be requested any time and is complementary if you are staying so tea in bed before breakfast without having to make it ourselves was a nice treat...as was the full English breakfast.
Would love to return when we have an excuse to treat ourselves.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear NY777,

Thank you for your kind review, we are all delighted that you both enjoyed your stay so much.

We all look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We recently visited the Talbot Hotel having purchased a deal through travelzoo. The deal was for a 5 course taster menu created by James Martin, room and breakfast and a bottle of pink champagne in our room. The taster menu was great, all five courses were beautifully presented, with the lamb main as the stand out dish. The young staff in the restaurant were charming, which added to the dining experience, but the restaurant felt rather impersonal and lacked warmth. The section of the restaurant that we sat in for breakfast was much nicer. Our room was very ordinary. It was also a bit off putting to find someone else's clothes hanging on the back of the bathroom door on our arrival. We informed reception and it was quickly rectified. Great deal, great food, OK hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Catherine P,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am very sorry that our housekeeping team forgot to remove a couple of items of clothing before your arrival, it is most unusual as we pride ourselves with very high housekeeping standards.
A general read through of all the comments we receive are always very complimentary about our public areas and bedrooms, but please accept our sincere apologies for overlooking these items.

I was however delighted that you enjoyed your meal and the service from our team and I do hope that you would consider coming back to us, where I would love to be able to allocate one of our Feature Rooms for you to enjoy at no extra charge.

Many thanks once again for your comments,

Kind regards,

Jeremy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Having read in a magazine about James Martin's involvement in this hotel was intrigued to see what this could mean. Obviously his name must bring a lot of people to the hotel. Was pleasantly surprised by all the work that had been done to this place but in some parts of the hotel there was an uneasy mix of old and new. We were disappointed to find that there were only almonds to go with our drinks from the bar - surely a place like this could come up with something more. The restaurant menu looked good but we did not have time to spare and in any case it would seem that booking is absolutely essential as you cannot get a table just on the off chance. Worth a look but remember to book for the evening meal.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear happygardenerkent,

Thank you for your feedback, we always have free almonds for our guests and unlike many other places, we do not charge for them.

We will shortly be adding some other pick bits to our menu and people will be able to purchase those if wishing to have a small snack instead of a meal.

Hopefully we will see you back for a meal in the near future.

My kindest regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Talbot Hotel Malton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Hotel Malton

Address: Yorkersgate, Malton YO17 7AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Malton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbot Hotel Malton 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel has recently been fully restored. Classic British design now meets traditional values of comfort and unobtrusive service for an elegant hotel with 26 bedrooms, landscaped gardens and a great restaurant. We are in the heart of the North Yorkshire market town of Malton, 20 minutes from the city of York. Visitors here are spoilt for choice. In fully restoring the Talbot Hotel, we have created 26 individual bedrooms – each one capturing the elegant spirit of a property that is more than 300 years old, whilst meeting your expectations for complete comfort and convenience. You'll find sumptuous beds, the finest linen, modern bathrooms and luxury toiletries, set to Vivien Greenock's imaginative interior designs. With Malton-born chef James Martin now in charge of the kitchen, the Talbot Hotel tops the list of must-visit places for local and visiting gastronomes. James, who is well-known for his cookery shows on BBC and Channel 4, makes the most of the area's renowned butchers, fishmongers, game dealers, farmers and cheesemakers to produce menus of classic but simple food of the highest quality. "North Yorkshire is in my blood," he says. "And I've been thrilled to see my home town of Malton build a reputation as a foodie destination based on the abundance of growers and producers in the area." "Guests can look forward to finding all my favourite Yorkshire produce on the menu from Wakefield rhubarb to Whitby crab." The menu at the Talbot changes regularly to take advantage of the seasons. Dishes are produced with flair by a team of highly trained chefs and served in a professional yet understated manner. 50-cover restaurant Drawing room with open fires Bar and informal dining Wentworth room for private functions for up to 65 people Morning coffee and light bites in the bar and lounge Afternoon cream teas, cakes, sandwiches and drinks in the Drawing Room Traditional Sunday roast in the restaurant Hand-pulled cask bitter and wide selection of wines by the glass in the bar Wines from around the world including select vintages from the renowned 'Chateau Talbot.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Talbot Hotel Malton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Hotel Malton Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Talbot Hotel Malton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.