We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scampston Walled Garden

Scampston Walled Garden
Scampston Hall, Malton YO17 8NG, England
44 (0)1944 759111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 17 Attractions in Malton
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
Attraction details
Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
167 attraction reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the walled garden. The flowers are dying back now but there was still lots to see. I liked the way the plants were numbered and for 50p for a catelogue you could see all the names. Earmarked a few for my garden, will return for the plant sale. I would recommend the cafe, wonderful homemade food. The plum and almond tart with fresh cream was gorgeous, as was the cream tea. The cascade walk is a good scenic walk to accompany the visit to the walled garden.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    22
    4
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stopped off on visit to North Yorkshire Moors from Derby, and was very glad we did.
It wasn't signposted on the A64 that we saw, but easy to find once off.
The parking is plentiful and free.
The restaurant is lovely with some super-nice staff. Coffee comes with free refills. We had a coffee, a tea, a quiche salad and a pork-pie salad for £18.
The toilets like the restaurant are lovely and clean.
Entry to the gardens is £6pp. They weren't at their best when we visited, but still made for a lovely stop-off on the drive further north.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk hammerton, york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

What a delightful garden. The design of the now maturing garden gave the impression of there being only you there. We were lucky having such a lovely sunny day and there being no too many other visitors. I loved the booklets detailing all the plants by number in the garden, many of which were available from the little nursery. All from the seeds and plants in the garden, with the wonderfully helpful lady in the ticket office/shop/nursey who when we asked for a specific unusual plant had someone check in the back area and bring the last one over for us. What we saved on entry with the Living Social deal we certainly spent on some really interesting and unusual plants but a very good value for money.

The cascade walk around the grounds was sublime with battling dragon flies on the lake. We will certainly go again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“quiet but beautiful garden to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

A plantsman's and family garden which you can spend a whole day. Old fashioned major house garden with boating lake and Caperbility Brown style and with the modern take in the walled garden where Piet Oudolf has designed beautiful gardens. The summer one was full of butterflies. Quiet and not touristy and the restaurant was high quality, clean and comfortable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for Young Families!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Having just arrived home from Scampston Gardens I feel compelled to write a review. I purchased a family ticket from Living Social for £10 for the gardens and cascade walk which was half the normal price. We took our 2 little girls aged 2 & 6 and they loved it. They were made to feel so special by the lady in the ticket office. She gave them a special bag to borrow with children's binoculars, a microscope and torch plus pencil and a work book with clear instructions what to look for. We had a lovely walk round the gardens, it was a gorgeous sunny day, and all the flowers seem to be in full bloom. We had our picnic lunch in the spot near to the car park then afterwards set off for the Cascade walk. The girls loved looking for the animal houses and we really enjoyed the fact that it wasn't over crowed and so they were able to run and play without any dangers. We spent 5 hours here and I think that is well worth £10!
We had ice creams and drinks in the cafe which was clean and modern. The food being brought out to others looking delicious-I would definitely return just for lunch after seeing the meals! The toilets were very clean and modern too with above average fitting and extras (Molten Brown hand wash and hand cream anyone!) I would highly recommend Scampston (on a dry day) for a happy and healthy family day out!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scampston Walled Garden also viewed

Malton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scampston Walled Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scampston Walled Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.