We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If your into world war2 history this is a must see.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Camp

Eden Camp
Malton YO17 6RT, England
01653 697777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Attractions in Malton
Type: History Museums, Military Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed within the buildings and grounds of a former Prisoner of War camp, a visit to this unique museum will take you back to wartime Britain. Experience the sights, sounds and even smells of life on both the Home Front and the Front Line.
stockton
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“If your into world war2 history this is a must see.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Me and my fiancee visited here last march (for my benefit as i am a bit of a war history nerd)
Brilliant place to be has quite a sombre feel to it but packed with information sone of the cabins are extremly eye opening esspecially the sinking u boat room.
It is a well run place but when it gets busy it does get cramped.
The sights sounds and smells make you feel like you are really there and it really is a sobering experience.
A word of warning though the holocaust part of the museum does have quite graphic descriptions and pictures of what happened which nearly reduced me to tears so maybe not one for the younger visitors.
All in a very good place to visit and crammed full of information just remember some of it may not be suitable for little ones.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    611
    220
    47
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“so much to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

there was nothing that i disliked, Out of he 40+ huts we managed about 30 of them and vowed to return in the summer with friends to do it again...the day was a Monday in February and the temperature was -1 degrees

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing! Value for Money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We visited here in September 2012 during a holiday to Whitby & what an amazing place! It took us an entire day to get round it all. It's extremely informative, the information & memorabilia they have is brilliant & the whole place is so worth a trip. It's also very good value for money. The food in the "Mess" hall is lovely. Proper homecooked meals & not at all expensive. This is particularly worth seeing if you are interested in WW2. Even our 7 year old enjoyed it, especially the adventure fort, the vehicles & weapons. The staff are all very friendly & are happy to answer questions. Highly recommend this place & definitely will be returning!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“What a hidden gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We were enjoying a lovely holiday based in Pickering when we awoke one day to rain. What to do? Searching through the leaflets in our holiday cottage, we found one for Eden Camp. Looked interesting, but we had our dog with us. Would a place like this allow dogs?? Quick phone call - YES! What a great day out. A nice balance between information and fun, but never losing sight of the terrible experience of living through a World War. An elderly relative with us was moved by the memories which all the exhibits brought back. Only slight drawback was when a busload of schoolchildren arrived, but how else are they to learn about this period in our history? Perhaps they should be split into smaller groups as they move through the museum.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“eden camp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

great place to visit if interested in this type of thing
loads to see and easy to get around ok for wheel chairs as all on one level
you can get a good basic meal at good price
if you want to remember this eara in time this is the place to go

part of it is hands on for kids

easy to find and cheap enough entrance as well
iv been a few times and would go again
only one problem i find is going when children have trips from school
other than that great

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eden Camp also viewed

Malton, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Eden Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.