We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas only” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Market Place Wine Bar & Bistro - CLOSED

The Market Place Wine Bar & Bistro
46 Market Place, Malton YO17 7LW, England
01653 691432
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Café, Bistro, Tea Room, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: CURRENTLY CLOSED
Malton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Christmas only”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

A fascinating and interesting building, I have only been in there for Christmas parties. But the food has always been very good as has the service. I feel it is not properly supported by the local community - the reason unknown.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    23
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food is amazing, the building is gorgeous.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Went to the market place for a birthday meal and have to say it's very very very well furnished, for a market place bistro! The good I had was the pie which was delicious and the portion sizes were hefty too!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york12, Owner at The Market Place Wine Bar & Bistro, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
The restaurant is currently closed - as stated on Trip Advisor. Thank you all for your lovely reviews. we worked hard for them and we are proud of them. We are hoping to be reopen soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“tea and cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stopped about 4pm when few cafes were open . The cafe had good ambience and friendly staff and my friend liked the purple decor!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Closure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Very dad that The Market Place Wine Bar & Bistro had now closed.
This was one of the nicest places in Malton.
Not sure what will come in the premises in it's place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york12, Owner at The Market Place Wine Bar & Bistro, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you all for your loyal and ongoing support. I am pleased to say that progress is underway with the future of the restaurant so watch this space. We are still number one after closing and that is down to hard work and excellent loyal customers. Thank you all so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“hard to better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

So sad to hear this is closing. We have always enjoyed eating here whether during day or evening. It is such a shame. Please dont go. Please let us know where you will be moving to if you reopen elsewhere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Market Place Wine Bar & Bistro also viewed

Malton, North Yorkshire
Malton, North Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Market Place Wine Bar & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.