We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scrummy afternoon tea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Old Lodge to your Saves list
The Old Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Maltongate, Malton YO17 7EG, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
£25 (GBP)
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Scrummy afternoon tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Enjoyed a lovely afternoon tea. The service was great and all staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was great and the cakes were enjoyed. The lodge itself is beautiful and has a gorgeous garden and surroundings. The authentic china tea cups on the table were a gorgeous added touch! There was so much food! Lovely finger sandwiches, scones,clotted cream and jam and even more cakes to finish. We had a glass of champagne to start and a huge pot of tea. Overall a really scrumptious treat!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldLodgeOwner, Owner at The Old Lodge, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
I would like to thank this customer for their kind review and I am delighted that they enjoyed their afternoon tea, including our authentic old fashioned china!
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    47
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
55
111
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Malton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I took my parents for an anniversary lunch but it wasn't what we were expecting we had great starters but unfortunately two of the mains weren't very good one was the steak and chips which I am afraid looked like it had been boiled it was quickly replaced by fish and chips and no charge was made but when you fancy a steak fish isn't really what you want the other was battered chicken which was really soggy not really appetising. The service was excellent and the surroundings lovely but the food needs a bit of attention, maybe it was because it was lunch time and there was only us 3 eating but food should be excellent what ever time of day. The starters and the one main meal which was liver and bacon with mash were very nice so maybe we will try here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldLodgeOwner, Owner at The Old Lodge, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
I would like to thank you for your constructive feedback, and I am pleased to hear that your starters were great.
I am sorry that your steak was below standard, however I am glad to hear that the mistake was quickly rectified and that you were not charged on this occasion.
I often eat our tempura battered chicken with dips- it's one of my favourites- and although I'm not disputing that it was below standard on this occasion it's usually really good, so I'm really disappointed that it was not great on this occasion.
You are quite correct that our food should be excellent whatever time of day- our lunchtimes are often very busy, and there should be no difference in the quality of the food whatsoever.
I am aware that our head Chef was (and still is) on holiday during the time of your visit, however I'm sure he will be investigating these issues and delivering training where necessary as soon as he returns.
Thank you
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Another great stay at Old Lodge. Have stayed several times now and it's always clean and comfortable with good food and great service from the moment you arrive. Thank you to Eileen and all the staff.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldLodgeOwner, Owner at The Old Lodge, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
I would like to thank this customer for taking the time to post such a kind review for The Lodge. The staff really appreciate receiving the good feedback.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights for price of 2 which was well worth the extra day. Our good friend was celebrating her 60th birthday on the first evening and the organisation was excellent including buffet food. All staff very pleasant and helpful. Cannot comment on dinner as we only enjoyed breakfast each morning - very well cooked and served hot. Setting super in lovely grounds and convenient for local attractions such as Castle Howard and a leisurely and picturesque drive to the coast at Whitby. Room spacious and very comfortable and warm with excellent facilities. Large convenient car park. Definitely a place to consider for a formal occasion or just a short break.

Room Tip: Our room 2 was very spacious, comfortable and warm. Bathroom all you could wish for ladies, (free st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldLodgeOwner, Owner at The Old Lodge, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We would like to thank these customers for their kind review. We are glad that they enjoyed their stay and we hope to see them again at The Lodge very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding reception. The room was nice and large with a four poster bed, large tv, and the only disappointment being the bathroom which could use updating and being twice as big! Breakfast was excellent and the service we received was always good and friendly.
Other guests we were with had some different feelings about the service side of things but we can only really comment on what we received, which was good.
The food at the wedding reception was also very good, especially for this size of event, and its a nice place for the photos.
I am unsure what I would have thought of the whole thing if I hadn't been with the wedding party as the bar area is quite small and was very full and I'm not sure I would have been very happy as an outsider surrounded by loads of happy people celebrating!
Overall a nice place to stay but I would check what else was on before booking - something I always do these days.
Something to be aware of - some of our party were put in the Lodge just down the road which would be ok if they had known about it, just means you might get wet trying for breakfast!

Room Tip: As above make sure you are in the main hotel if that is what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldLodgeOwner, Owner at The Old Lodge, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We would like to thank this guest for their review, and we are glad that they enjoyed their room. We would love to make the bathroom bigger in the room that they stayed in, but of course we can only work with what space we have. We believe that one of the joys of The Old Lodge is its age and quirkiness, and there is no place to make a bigger bathroom in this particular room- we've done the best we can!
I'm glad that this guest felt the service and food were good, and once again we'd love for our bar to be bigger too, but as The Lodge has been there since 1604 and is a listed building, we can only work with what we have. We do appreciate that some customers would be put off by being part of a wedding, which is why we put all the outside signage on wedding days alerting people, and also on our notice board so that our regular customers can see in advance what events we have taking place.
We take on board the comments about the Old Lodgings. Generally speaking our guests book their own rooms, and as such would know where they are, and thus expect the short walk up to the hotel. We also provide umberellas and complimentary rain macs for guests' use, should the weather be rainy.
There is information about all of our bedrooms, including what type of bathroom they have, and about The Old Lodgings on our website, so we would always encourage customers to have a look on there and make an informed choice about which room they would like.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Old Lodge is fantastic.
It feels like you're staying in a castle, especially if you're in one of the superior/luxury rooms.
The little bar is lovely, it has a log fire and black sheep on tap, a winning combination.
The only slight downside is the rude woman on the front desk, she makes me feel slightly unwelcome at times but all the other staff are great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldLodgeOwner, Owner at The Old Lodge, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
We are glad that this customer enjoyed the rooms and the bar at The Lodge.
Regarding the title of the review, I would like to say that Malton is a small town and we work closely with our other colleagues in the industry. We have an excellent relationship with The Talbot, as do they with us, so we are a little disappointed that this customer has chosen to comment on his view of The Talbot in a review about The Lodge.
We are fully aware of why this customer has chosen to comment about a rude member of staff on front of house. We do not believe that she was rude, merely that she was unable to comply with his request on this occasion.
Tracey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location in the edge of malton , Eileen and her staff worked tirelessly to make our stay special . Bedrooms are large and quality lovely grounds and you might be in a little castle in the highlands ideal for a wedding .. Well worth a trip

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldLodgeOwner, Owner at The Old Lodge, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
We would like to thank this customer for their kind review, and we hope to see them again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Lodge

Address: Old Maltongate, Malton YO17 7EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fully restored Tudor mansion set in extensive well maintained grounds, with 28 rooms, many with four post beds. Restaurant with choice of menus, and fully equipped bar. A wonderful venue for work, a holiday, wedding or celebration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Old Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Hotel Malton
The Old Lodge Malton, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.