We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fathers day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Purple Pakora

Purple Pakora
8-14 Lawton Street, Congleton CW12 1RP, England
01260 291 110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 59 restaurants in Congleton
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fathers day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Went for hubbies father's day Sunday lunch fab value for money choice of 4/5 starters and 4 mains rice and nanne bread we all really enjoyed planning our next trip there already !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    66
    34
    8
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another gem of a restaurant in Congleton .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Starters very nice, I had prawn purree ( very tasty) wife had bhajis 3 very big and delicious best I've tasted not very greasy at all. Mains chicken korma +++ wife had veggie korma +++. Place was very busy and yet service was very good . This place is up against some other very good Indian restaurants in the area and is well worth a visit .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sunday Eve Buffet- A Real Winner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We went to the Purple Pakora to celebrate my daughter's 16th Birthday and booked a table for 11 teenage girls at 7pm Sunday.The restaurant rang half an hour prior to the booking to confirm the numbers in the party and to check it was a Special Occadion.The girls all chose the Buffet ( a set meal) at £15 per head, and there was a wide selection of dishes all brought to the table.The food was great and the portions were plentiful, so no-one left hungry or disappointed.Despite the group being only 16 years old, the service they received was great and they were really treated like young adults, and not giggly girls.

They even brought out a big Ice Cream dish with lit sparklers in it for the Birthday girl, sang happy birthday and even took a Polaroid of the group which they presented with a £5 voucher for a future visit.

All in all, everything was spot on so in summary,many thanks and we'd highly revcommend the Pakora to others as a venue for a Birthday

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich Cheshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very special birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great place for a party meal, in fact would be brilliant for a wedding reception too, especially if your theme colour was purple.
Delightful fresh interior, staff welcoming and caring,. The food was fantastic, so much choice and flavours. Recommend the fish pakora.
We ate early, 5.30pm and by the end of the meal the room was quite full, so we were served easily.
Nice touch was a waiter who could not believe how old I was ! And, the cake arrived at the table with a candle fountain and a "Happy Bithday" tune, cheesy but fun !!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable birthday meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

On first arrival the seating area can get busy and it's not obvious which member off staff you need to tell that you've arrived. However we were promptly seated and given menus. A drinks order was taken at the same time however after a 15 minute wait and still no drinks we chased this up, it turns out our order had been lost so we had to order again. Although this wasn't the best start to the meal the staff member dealing with the situation was very apologetic. We went for the banquet option which was great value and the food was delicious. At the end of the meal the birthday boy received ice cream with a sparkly candle, happy birthday music, a photo of him with his desert and a £5 voucher - a very nice touch. Overall, we had a lovely evening and would return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purple Pakora also viewed

Congleton, Cheshire
 

Been to Purple Pakora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purple Pakora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.