We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't get too much” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Moreton Hall

Little Moreton Hall
Congleton Rd., Congleton CW12 4SD, England
01260 272018
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Congleton
Type: Historic Sites, Landmarks
Attraction details
Matlock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Can't get too much”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Magical. How has it survived? We are so lucky that it has, and the people involved in it's daily running from the gardeners to the guides clearly love it. And it's worth it. We will definately be back - can't get too much.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    70
    10
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Several steps back in time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Having lived less than 75 miles away for most of my life it took an organised visit to get me to go. I wish that I had gone sooner. A fascinating house, steeped in history and one of the better NT visits, which can sometimes feel a little formulaic and same-ish. All the features have already been amply described, I would add that the "Tudor housewife" spinning and describing her life, work and clothing was enthralling [well done Emma!] sometimes these "costumed interpreters", as the NT describe them, can be embarrassing or lessening of the ambience, but not this one, she MADE the visit. All in all a very worthwhile visit. Nobody in their right mind expects cheap food at NT properties but this was wholesome, very well served and one of the better NT eateries. The scones were so fresh that they were being eaten as fast as they came out of the oven. Cheap food ? go to Ronald Macdonald

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The tudor crooked house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This National Trust Property is well worth the £7.90 entrance although canny nonmembers may want to go in September on feefree day. The Hall surrounds a courtyard and is a photographers dream old carved oak beams, stained glass windows and lots of leaning floors, chimneys, posts and the long gallery on the second floor is really worth seeing-look out for the old grafitti on the windows. The staff as usual at Nat. Trust properties were welcoming and helpful but if you find the prices in the cafe and restaurant too steep there is a great garden centre just up the A road (towards Congleton) where we got quiche and salad and the cakes looked good too.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Amazing place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

If you like looking at quirky old buildings, go here! We went over Easter and even though it was cold, we have a great time. We chose to go with a guide who gave us loads of information and despite the wet and cold also kept us amused with his anecdotes! I can only remember his surname which was Williams, well done Mr Williams!

The hall itself looks like it will fall down while you are in it due to the slant on the building but it is safe!!

If you want to while away a couple of hours here go and have a look yourself, I'm sure you'll enjoy it too

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Seeing Christmas Tudor style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

I had never visited Little Moreton Hall before and was astonished at its exterior as we approached including the moat surrounding it. It was only the lower floor which was open but the display of a Tudor Christmas feast was very authentic and interesting to see. The chapel had a storyteller and the main hall a musician playing various instruments of the time - dulcimer, hurdy gurdy. He was a skilled musician and interesting raconteur.
I will definitely visit again in the open season to see the rest of the house.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Moreton Hall also viewed

 
Warrington, Cheshire
 

Been to Little Moreton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Moreton Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.