We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B and brilliant wedding venue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandhole Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Congleton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandhole Farm
Save
You added Sandhole Farm to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   A34 - Manchester Road | Hulme Walfield, Congleton CW12 2JH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Congleton B&B and Inns
Leeds
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great B&B and brilliant wedding venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed at the Sandhole Farm for my cousins wedding on the 26th August 2012 and it was lovely. I stayed in room 33 in the house and it was a lovely genourous sized room with ensuite. The only thing I would say is the shower in the ensuite is not up to much but you cannot have everything. The owners were great even providing a nice bottle of wine for the room (no bar facilities on site unless you are attending a function in the barn). The site is to die for with a nice lake and decking area to the barn which was brilliant for milling out onto at the evening party! Definately would stay here again. Great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
10
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I attended my nephew's wedding yesterday. What a delightfully unique location. The main room overlooks open green fields and a pretty lake. The service and food were exquisite. Everyone who attended gave the occasion a 100% thumbs up. The icing on the cake (apologies for the pun) was the overnight accommodation; these rooms seem as if they were converted from farm buildings; they are perfection with every facility required to top off an exhilarating day. This morning the families gathered for a wonderfully traditional breakfast accompanied by the sight of rabbits playing in the adjoining field. Fabulous.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We were guests at a wedding here last weekend. A beautiful setting on the lake, very personal and intimate wedding ceremony, exquisitely presented wedding breakfast with gourmet food to die for. The quiet time prior to evening guests arriving was spent relaxing in the gardens and the evening buffet was excellent a wonderful place set in the countryside of Congleton.

Room Tip: We did not stay overnight here but we were told it was very good. There are plently of alternatives...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Attended as guests. Were blessed by weather but either way - this is perfect venue. Family run - not very corporate - in idyllic location. Food service and wedding organization seemed pretty flawless. Room and breakfast very good. I couldn't imagine a much better UK based wedding or special occasion experience

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed here as guests at a wedding and found this venue to be excellent. The grounds have a real 'wow' factor with a lovley lake and decking that extends out from the function area and overlooks it all. The B&B room we stayed in itself was small but tastefully decorated and very clean. The only negative for us was that breakfast finished at 9:30am and after being at a wedding all day for the previous day there was no way that was going to be doable, especially with checkout being 10am! That's just a personal opinion on not being a morning person! There were kitchen facilities to prepare your own snacks though so that's helpful and tea/coffee making facilities in the room so you can do your own refreshments. I would highly recommend this venue for both the accomodation and for the whole wedding package.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here recently with a baby and had a great time. The staff were very friendly and the room was clean. The environment is astounding, with a huge lake, swans, ducks, ponies, and goats. We would consider staying again.

Best bits: the cooked breakfast, especially the sausages, was very good, as was the dining room. The staf, and easily found baby cot.

Downsides: at 90 sterling it was on the higher side of pricing. The bathroom in our room was small and the shower uncomfortably so, though functional.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012 via mobile

Had our wedding here and all our guests stayed over, the management couldn't do enough for everyone, even serving breakfast after it had finished because we got up late. It's a beautiful setting with a gorgeous lake and lovely walks around the grounds and nearby, there are also some excellent pubs nearby.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandhole Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandhole Farm

Address: A34 - Manchester Road | Hulme Walfield, Congleton CW12 2JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Congleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Congleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandhole Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 15

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandhole Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.