We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moorfield House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Moorfield House to your Saves list
Moorfield House
Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST RATE
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Warm and friendly welcome and a genuine interest shown in our holiday with advice and help readily given. Very comfortable en-suite room with a high standard of cleanliness, ample and beautifully presented breakfasts. For golfers the Boat of Garten course is a must and Moorfield House provide a discount voucher against green fees. The RSPB Osprey centre at nearby Loch Garten is well worth a visit as is the Funicular Railway on Cairngorm. For evening meals we would recommend Anderson's Restaurant just across the road or the Golf Club a ten minute walk away.

Room Tip: No comment
See more room tips
Green Features: Every effort is made to encourage environmental awareness e.g. Re- using bathroom towels.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian H, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to send us this super review. Harvey and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon and wish you both many,many more Happy Anniversaries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    15
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
84
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ramat Gan, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed at the Moorfield house for two days. The house was pretty and well-kept. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The service was very good and helpful. Unfortunately, the feeling was very businesslike ... something unexpected in a B&B.

WiFi & Skype worked well downstairs, cell phone service was spotty to non-existent.

Room Tip: Boat of Garten is a very quiet village so all the rooms at Moorfield are quiet, and most likely, ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian H, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write this review. Harvey and I are so pleased that you found most of our facilities good. Having read your review in full, I do agree that the village is quieter than Aviemore but this is a feature that most of our guests find attractive. We do try to ensure that our pricing is in line with other similar properties at all times. I do apologise for your finding us "businesslike" We do try to reach a happy medium in that respect by mixing professionalism with informality, as much as possible, being a guest house rather than a smaller B&B. We do hope that you will consider returning to Moorfield on your next trip to the UK. Apologies for the lack of mobile phone signal at times..a notorious problem in parts of the UK!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Our last overnight on walking the Speyside Way was Boat of Garten and our group of friends felt in need of a good meal, a good nights sleep and breakfast to set us up for the final leg to Aviemore and the drive home. Moorfield House more than filled the bill. We were greeted with tea and cake - glorious lemon drizzle cake- and beautiful rooms, each based in a Scottish clan. Mine was Gunn from the Hebrides, lovely room with an immense bath. Aaah!
Breakfast was a feast indeed. We left with a pleasant glow of satisfaction. Thanks Moorfield.

Room Tip: If you like a bath - with shower - I recommend Gunn, number 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian H, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to send us this super review. Harvey and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you all back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I would thoroughly recommend Moorfield House. A warm welcome, beautiful place, immaculate room with all you need, very comfortable bed and an excellent breakfast.
If you want to visit Loch Garten it is only 5 minutes drive. I hope to return next spring and Moorfield House will be my first choice.

Room Tip: The village is very quiet so any room would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian H, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Harvey and I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to send your super review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back next Spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Our stay at Moorfield House was just a short overnight trip for us, but Jillian and Harvey were most welcoming after a train ride from London and a long drive from Edinburgh. Our room and bathroom was immaculate and the bed was comfortable - exactly what you'd want in a good B&B. We've traveled through Ireland, Great Britian, Italy, and France and have stayed at quite a few B&Bs - this B&B was just downright charming. Even though we are not big "breakfast people," and told our hosts as much, Jillian still put out a beautiful breakfast to make sure that we were well cared for. Boat of Garten is a lovely little town and this B&B was the perfect place to rest our heads for the night. Thanks to the owners for making the start of our trip through Scotland a very pleasant one.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian H, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Harvey and I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to send your super review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip around Scotland. We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back next time you are in the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Moorfield House is a lovely choice if staying in the Aviemore area with the huge plus of Andersons Restaurant just up the street.. Boat of Garten is a lovely quiet wee village back from the buzz of Aviemore. Perfect location for walking the Speyside Way. Gillian & Harvey run a spotless B&B in a lovely old house. Our bedroom had everything you could wish for and we had a lovely night's sleep as the area is quiet. Breakfast was delicious with lots of variety and beautifully presented. Expect to return in the future. Great website and easy online booking system which shows if rooms are available. Great help!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian H, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to send us this super review. Harvey and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, it was lovely to see you again. We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

My wife and I found ourselves without a bed for the night during the May Bank Holiday Weekend in Aviemore. The staff in the Town’s Tourist Information uttered expressions of doubt (sharp intakes of breath!) and reckoned we would be lucky to find accommodation for the night, especially as it was already late afternoon. I picked Moorfield House from the STB brochure, entirely at random and a quick telephone call confirmed they had a double room available.

To say that we ‘dropped on lucky’ is an understatement.

A beautiful house, luxurious bedroom, undisturbed quiet night’s sleep and (above all) – a genuine warm welcome from mine hosts.

Our stay here was taken as part of twelve night tour of Scotland – using B&B stopovers for one night each. We find ourselves often unable to face a large traditional Scottish Breakfast every single morning, so we were thrilled to find the lighter, freshly cooked alternatives readily available here!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian H, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Harvey and I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to send your super review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon, maybe for a little longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moorfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorfield House

Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Boat of Garten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorfield House Hotel, a stunning Victorian Guest House / Bed & Breakfast offering luxurious accommodation, is located in Boat of Garten at the heart of the Spey Valley, in the Highlands of Scotland. We offer 4 Star (STB) accommodation where informality and a warm welcome are the key to your visit. We are fully non smoking and licensed to serve alcohol, ideal for those of you wanting comfortable, relaxed and peaceful surroundings. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities. WiFi is available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Moorfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorfield House Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moorfield House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.