We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great nights stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moorfield House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Moorfield House to your Saves list
Moorfield House
Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST RATE
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great nights stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed for one night on the way to Applecross and arrived later than planned at 8:30pm. We'd arranged dinner (7:30) but phoned to say were delayed. We got a fantastic meal when we arrived.

Really nice room in a beautiful house, with perhaps a slightly tired bathroom (fully frosted glass in the window next to the loo would be good!) the only marks off.

Very friendly people and a great breakfast too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillianlaura, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Many thanks for your super review. We are so pleased to enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will be back soon. I do understand your comments regarding the bathroom window, however we did have to balance the options available without compromising the Victorian features of the house, hence the etched glass. I do promise that privacy is fully maintained. Thank you again, Gill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    15
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
84
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Myself and my partner were skiing this weekend and chose to stay in Boat of Garten for the evening beforehand, so we could make an early start on Saturday. The owners were really accommodating when we asked for an early breakfast and we ordered cooked food the night before so they could bring it to us quickly the next morning – which they did with a smile. Beds were comfy and soft, the hotel was very quiet, WiFi available, bathroom large and plenty of soft towels. The hotel down the road served good food (although I think we were lucky to get a table without booking on a Friday night) and the surrounding area was beautiful and sleepy. Plenty of outdoorsy things to do in the area (skiing, quad biking, shooting, walking). Would stay again!

Room Tip: We had room 3 - absolutely no complaints. Lovely and quiet, large bathroom (power of the shower coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillianlaura, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your super review of Moorfield House. We do appreciate it and hope that you will choose to stay with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheathampstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed along with other family members attending a funeral. We could not have been made more welcome. A beautiful house, lovely rooms and a great breakfast. The owners really could not have done more for us. Thoroughly recommended I hope to return and spend more time there in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillianlaura, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. We are so delighted that you were pleased with your accommodation, it was just a pity that it was under such difficult circumstances. Hopefully we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon on a happier occasion, as it would be lovely to meet you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous old Victorian villa decorated in keeping with the period but with modern facilities. Fantastic breakfast and great service. Set in a lovely wee village with great local walks in the beautiful Cairngorms National Park.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillianlaura, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Harvey and I hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back next time you come to Boat of Garten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hard to say what was the best thing here; the warm, comfortable room, the stylish decor (great use of tartan and colour!), the great bathroom, and the fact there is a lounge for lolling about in. The breakfast was great, too, setting us up for a freezing trek up Cairngorm. I would recommend this place to anyone going skiing or walking at Cairngorm; Boat of Garten is quiet (in a good way) and there are a few places to eat out if you fancy. We thought it was excellent value.

Room Tip: They're all good but the ones at the front have a bit of a view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillianlaura, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your super review of Moorfield House. We do appreciate it and hope that you will choose to stay with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

cant recommend this place enough. friendly, helpful staff, lovely setting and a great breakfast. will definitely go back again. is close to the main amenities in the village and is a good base for all the surrounding outdoor activities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillianlaura, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your super review of Moorfield House. We do appreciate it and hope that you will choose to stay with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We arrived to see a red squirrel running along the fence - lovely welcome! To make matters even better, when we checked in, they had managed to re-jig the booking to give us the room with the bath which we had been told was not available at the time of booking (room 6 I think - it also has a great view of the box of nuts for the squirrel and I spent ages watching him/her opening the box, nibbling nuts, burying nuts etc). The room was very pleasant with decent wardrobe space - a must if you are on a walking break with all those layers. The bed was comfortable - for those more used to duvets note the beds have blankets but they do keep you warm. Breakfast was good - smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, a treat in a B&B, as well as the full cooked breakfast using local suppliers for fresh produce and Portsoy kippers. They do evening meals in season and they serve wine and other drinks in the lounge.

Room Tip: Book early if you want a bath as only one room has one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillianlaura, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Harvey and I hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moorfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorfield House

Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Boat of Garten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorfield House Hotel, a stunning Victorian Guest House / Bed & Breakfast offering luxurious accommodation, is located in Boat of Garten at the heart of the Spey Valley, in the Highlands of Scotland. We offer 4 Star (STB) accommodation where informality and a warm welcome are the key to your visit. We are fully non smoking and licensed to serve alcohol, ideal for those of you wanting comfortable, relaxed and peaceful surroundings. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities. WiFi is available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Moorfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorfield House Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moorfield House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.