We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moorfield House forever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moorfield House

Save Saved
You added Moorfield House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moorfield House
Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST RATE
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Moorfield House forever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

After climbing Mount Cairngorm, me and my son were very warm welcomed at Moorfield House. The comfortable and cosy room contributed to our speedy recovery from the climb. A good night's rest was easy in the quiet setting (though the beds are quite short for persons over 1.85 m).
The superb quality Scottish breakfast made an impression. Moorfield House forever!

Whilst visiting Boat of Garten, a stop over at the Boat Hotel is worth your while for trying Scotland's finest product: whisky!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillianlaura, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    11
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
70
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Another great weekend at Moorfield House. It's becoming a habit for me but I just can't bring myself to stay anywhere else! Couldn't be better looked after. The rooms are always comfortable and well cared for, and the breakfasts are a treat, setting you up for the day ahead.
Looking forward to my next trip already....

Room Tip: Pick a room, any room, they're all quiet and to the same high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillianlaura, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you so much for the fantastic review Paul. Hurry back soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

A very comfortable guest house with welcoming, helpful and informative hosts. The rooms were very comfortable, the location perfect for exploring the Cairngorm National Park and and the breakfasts beautifully cooked, wholesome scottish fare. Whilst your visitng Boat of Garten do visit both village shops - eyeopening variety to visitors from the home counties.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillianlaura, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The two shops are pretty amazing ! Harvey and I hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

A very good experience in this well appointed guest house. Room were very well furnished & spotlessly clean. Evening meal & breakfast were fantasic & would be hard to beat even in a top hotel.A good quiet location but very handy for reaching the whisky trail or the many walking areas. The owners are very attentive & wish all guests too enjoy their lovely house.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillianlaura, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your super review of Moorfield House. We do appreciate it and hope that you will choose to stay with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Great location, even though we arrived too late to see the ospreys. 2 minutes walk to Speyside Steam railway and excellent restaurant at the Boat Hotel. Red squirrels in garden; forest walks all round. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast also excellent. One tiny niggle - we had to strip off layers of bedding before we could sleep in comfort. It must get cold in Scotland in winter.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillianlaura, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon. I am sorry you found the bedding too ample but we would rather guests had too much rather than not enough!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My wife and i stayed for a weekend in August, beautiful place, lovely breakfast and the owners could not have been more welcoming, very helpful. Nice to note the commitment to environmental sustainability too, will definitely be back at some stage, hopefully soon.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillianlaura, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you so much, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We absolutely enjoyed staying at this beautiful guesthouse and meeting the lovely hosts again. Our bathroom and room were spacious and clean, while breakfast was super yummy. The cozy lounge is made for enjoying a Drambuie in the evening. We hope to come back soon and then stay a little bit longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillianlaura, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Many thanks for your super review. It was lovely to have the opportunity of welcoming you back and hope that you are able to return to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moorfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorfield House

Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Boat of Garten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorfield House Hotel, a stunning Victorian Guest House / Bed & Breakfast offering luxurious accommodation, is located in Boat of Garten at the heart of the Spey Valley, in the Highlands of Scotland. We offer 4 Star (STB) accommodation where informality and a warm welcome are the key to your visit. We are fully non smoking and licensed to serve alcohol, ideal for those of you wanting comfortable, relaxed and peaceful surroundings. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities. WiFi is available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Moorfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorfield House Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moorfield House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.