We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting more then you paid for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moorfield House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Moorfield House to your Saves list
Moorfield House
Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST RATE
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Getting more then you paid for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Overall: The house is situated on the main road. Not a bad thing because Boat of Garten is not big, so the main street isn't as busy as it may sound and makes it easy to be found. You will spot this charming, sweet house quiet easily. Its only a ten minute walk from the town's own little "lake" where you can watch the water birds. On your way back you can stop over at the Osprey's Bistro for a refreshing ale or a good old whiskey.

the room: did the Scottish theme the honor. Royal blue walls and matching tartan bed covers matching the curtains. the huge walnut wardrobe offered enough space for clothing if one was planing to spend a few days for a round of golf.

the bed: was nice and warm and we needed it to be as we woke up the next morning it had dropped 20 centimeters of fresh snow over Scotland and only noticed when getting up. The bed was very comfortable and allowed for a deep sleep

the bathroom: offered all one needed but wasn't anything out of the ordinary but that towel heating did come in very handy.

the breakfast: was the best part of this BnB. the menu was huge and the portions, well those were big too and very tasty. The scrambled eggs with smoked salmon - very recommendable. All was served in the cozy and warm dining area with its view onto the veranda and the garden (and in our case - snow covered garden)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillianlaura, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    15
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
84
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Very friendly, spotless room with lovely decor, food ecellently cooked, lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillianlaura, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I completely enjoyed my 2 night stay with Harvey and Gillian in Boat of Garten. They both really did everything to ensure my comfort.

The B&B was spotless. Room #1 was completely comfortable. The breakfast spread was generous. They even went over & above by helping me with some personal errands during my time there.

I understand why people make both this town and lodging a regular return vacation spot - there are so many great outdoor activity opportunities conveniently located, and this town is very quiet. I had no problem getting around by bus to do the activities I desired.

When I make it back to Speyside, I will not hesitate to call Moorfield first!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillianlaura, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Many thanks for you kind review Anna. It was lovely to have you stay with us and we hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip to Scotland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We spent a few nights here last summer.

Positives - The room was spotless, the breakfast was very good and the location and area are nice.

Negatives - We found the owners to be a bit cold and quiet. The bed was not kingsize and they turned off my electic toothbrush charger when we went out! We also found the whole house was not warm enough to get comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillianlaura, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Many thanks for your review. I do apologise for your feeling cold and do wish you had mentioned this to us. With your stay having been in August it is more than likely that the central heating in the house was set to come on for a background heat , We can always provide more heat for rooms if you let us know that you need it. I do apologise for your charger having been unplugged, this must have been an error during the daily servicing of your room as we would never deliberately unplug guests' electrical devices . As for our personal demeanour... we are honestly not grumpy people and have to tread a fine line between being friendly and welcoming and being intrusive. it can be hard to get it right in every situation! You will always be welcome at Moorfield and hope that you consider returning in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Margaret S.

We have just spent a most enjoyable stay at Moorfield House . We were served tea and biscuits when we arrived and continued to enjoy excellent hospitality. The rooms were comfortable, warm and well-equipped . Breakfasts were delicious and a three-course evening meal could be served if required. We would highly recommend this excellent establishment.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillianlaura, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We have just returned from a most enjoyable stay in Moorfield House. Everything was perfect with tea and biscuits provided on our arrival. The rooms were warm, clean and comfortable with quality furnishings and accessories. The breakfasts were excellent and served promptly. Gillian was especially helpful in contacting a garage for us as we had a puncture on our journey north. We also found the same excellent service there! Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillianlaura, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. I am so please you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craftsbury, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for six nights this past September. We were a little nervous about staying anywhere, sight unseen, for that long. But, not to worry. Gillian and Harvey are wonderful hosts. Our room was spacious, well-appointed, and spotless. The beds (we chose two singles) were comfortable. There was plenty of hot water for showers.

For those who absolutely have to stay "connected," the internet service was fast and reliable.

Breakfast was included, and it was excellent. Gillian offered several choices, including a full breakfast. Dinner was an optional "plat du jour," featuring a starter, main course, and dessert. We planned on eating out most evenings, but after the first dinner we were hooked on Gillian's cooking (and Harvey's attentive service), and ended up eating three of our dinners in. The wine selections also were very good. Breakfasts and dinners were served in a comfortable, intimate dining room.

The common areas at Moorfield House are warm and inviting. There are lots of games and books for rainy days, plus a ton of information on places of interest. The location is excellent too, with several restaurants within a few 100 years, and immediate access to walking trails.

I would highly recommend a stay at Moorfield House.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillianlaura, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We really appreciate it and look forward to perhaps
having the opportunity of welcoming you back soon! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moorfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorfield House

Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Boat of Garten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorfield House Hotel, a stunning Victorian Guest House / Bed & Breakfast offering luxurious accommodation, is located in Boat of Garten at the heart of the Spey Valley, in the Highlands of Scotland. We offer 4 Star (STB) accommodation where informality and a warm welcome are the key to your visit. We are fully non smoking and licensed to serve alcohol, ideal for those of you wanting comfortable, relaxed and peaceful surroundings. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities. WiFi is available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Moorfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorfield House Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moorfield House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.