We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite what we expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Boat Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Boat Hotel to your Saves list
The Boat Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Not quite what we expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The Boat Hotel is ideally located for a visit to Speyside. During or stay there the staff provided very good service in a friendly manner. The food was of a satisfactory standard and bed was very comfortable. However this hotel is aiming for the Scottish Country hotel feel but falls short. In our opinion the hotel would benefit if the absentee owners showed more interest and investment. It has the ideal location in a picturesque area to repay any investment many times over.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    295
    124
    87
    36
See reviews for
115
502
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Only stayed one night but should have stayed more. Very comfortable hotel, with large bedroom overlooking the train station. Bit old fashioned but comfortable four poster bed mad very clean facilities made up for it. Great view of the Royal Statesman train in the station overnight. Also beautiful views of the hills partially covered by snow. Dinner was great as was breakfast. Excellent choices, very well presented for both. The staff were lovely and friendly. Really enjoyed staying here and used it as a base for fantastic attractions in the area. The Ospreys ( just along the road) Nethybridge, the forest village with great walks; The steam trains outside your door ; the hills and scenery all around this beautiful area. What a very pleasant stay. Wish it had been longer

Room Tip: We were in R210 but there are suites also available at a small extra charge. Very good offers on sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have just returned from a two night break with friends. We stayed in the garden rooms which were clean, fresh and warm with modern ensuites and very powerful showers. There was also a bottle of prosecco and handmade chocolates waiting for us on our arrival. We had dinner on both nights and the food was very good. However the pricing structure regarding the monetary allowance for dinner is very confusing and needs to be simplified asap, in order that guests can understand it!
All of the staff we met were very helpful and friendly and went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Their customer service approach was excellent and they responded to any requests quickly and efficiently.
We all enjoyed our stay at the Boat Hotel and would certainly return to the hotel in this beautiful part of Scotland.

Room Tip: Choose one of the luxury garden rooms. Good size of room with lovelyy views over the hills and the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookham Dean, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Been to the Boat a few times and never had any real complaints. Location is perfect for visiting the Osprey site at Loch Garten, Strathspey Railway etc. We paid the extra £20 for the deluxe room and had no complaints. Superbly comfortable bed, excellent shower and more than enough room.
Bar nice, Cairngorm Ale on tap, in outstanding condition. Food excellent, service spot on. Only downside for me....no filet steak which has been a regular on the menu for years.

Room Tip: Pay the extra £20 for a deluxe room, well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pumpherston, Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel and we had a lovely time.We had booked a Dinner Bed and Breakfast deal and we were not disappointed. We were in room 201 which was a double room that looked over the garden area. The room was a decent side and of neutral decor and we enjoyed 2 very comfortable nights there. The best thing about the hotel were the staff and the food. There was a good choice for breakfast including a choice of cereals, yoghurts, fruit and pastries to start with. There was also hot food menu where you could order a cooked breakfast and other dishes including eggs benedict and pancakes. It was all very tasty. Our evening meals were also of a good standard. The hotel is located in a beautiful area and only 8 miles outside aviemore. We visited the osprey centre which was a 3 mile drive from the hotel and was a great experience. Overall we had a great time and would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just returned from a badly needed 2 night break here and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Comfortable surroundings, lovely ambience and without exception - friendly and efficient staff who clearly work very hard to provide excellent service. Lovely view from our room, will definitely return. Previous comments re the tired decor noted, and ok, could do with the odd lick of paint here and there. However, positives by FAR outweigh the negatives and we loved it. Thank you to all the staff.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 2 nights in mid April. It does need a bit of tidying-up, but it is clean, comfortable, and the staff are very helpful and pleasant to talk to. The food was good quality. At the tariff we were on, it was an absolute bargain!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Hotel

Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boat Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving at The Boat Hotel for the first time can be be compared to returning as house guests of a close friend, where needs are anticipated before arrival and the welcome is genuine.Where else can you wear your Hunter wellies at 8am, golf spikes at 3pm and dress up or down for dinner? But while we offer our guests comfort some luxury and indulgence, this is not a stuffy hotel where you can’t sit on the furniture or let your kids enjoy themselves. Nestled in a tranquil picturesque setting deep within the heart of the Cairngorms National Park, near Aviemore, lies the historic and unique award wining Boat Hotel & Bistro. Adjacent to the renowned Boat of Garten Golf Club we boast 2 AA Rosette food and stylish yet relaxing accommodations with exhilarating views.The Boat Hotel is a place where you can relax and enjoy your well deserved leisure time, then put your feet up.Hotel Highlights: * Dining Options 2 AA Rosette Bistro & Bar Dining * Range of guestrooms including King Bed Deluxe Garden Terrace & Four Poster Junior Suites * Child Friendly Hotel near Landmark Forest Adventure Park and Kids Stay & Eat Free * Meeting & Events facilities for up to 65 * Close to the Cairngorm Ski Resort and adjacent Boat of Garten Golf ClubEvents DiaryWhether you're looking for an active or relaxing break, an inspirational meeting or private dining venue for your next event, planning a fabulous wedding, looking to indulge in a glass of your favourite tipple by the log fire or simply join us for some of the best food in the Cairngorm National Park. The Boat Hotel & Bistro combines historic charm with modern facilities to provide the leading destination and first choice country retreat hotel in the Aviemore area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Boat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Hotel Of Garten
The Boat Hotel Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.