We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, beautiful view from room and and amazing area.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boat Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Boat Hotel to your Saves list
The Boat Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Excellent service, beautiful view from room and and amazing area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My girlfriend and I spend our Christmas holyday at the Boat Hotel in 2011.
The service was superb, the food was delicious and the room was Nice ans romantic decoraded and had a nice bathtub:-)

We love trekking and the area is superb for that:-) Beautiful forrests and paths to walk on.

We are definately going again

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boat Hotel M, Front Office Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope to welcome you and your girlfriend back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Shona MacLachlan
Front Office/Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    295
    124
    87
    36
See reviews for
115
502
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

From the moment we entered the hotel and saw the log fire in reception, we knew it was going to be a wonderful stay. We were not disappointed. The room was large with en-suite facilities. French doors opened on to our own terrace (OK it was cold and snow was about 6 inches deep but the staff had cleared our terrace). A bottle of Prosecco was on ice together with chocolate-coated strawberries. The towels were folded into two swans on the LARGE bed - a nice touch.
Dinner was excellent. We both had venison for the main and it was so tender I asked the waitress if she could find out what cut it was and how was it cooked. We were rewarded by the chef coming to our table to explain in a very friendly manner. The wine was very good and the staff so friendly - nothing was to much trouble.
Next morning we had a typical Scottish breakfast and later in the day we came back and had soup and bread with mulled wine and coffee. Again the bar manager was very attentive and not obsequiously so. If staff were nearby when we approached a door, it was opened for us with a smile. Dinner the second night was as good as the night before and again the service was excellent. We indicated that we would like to take our coffee in the reception area but we were invited into another room were we sat down in front of an open fire on leather settees. A candle was placed on our table to add to the ambience.

I had a problem with the shower on the first morning but a call to reception had the boiler reset and all was well.

We thought about the various hotels and B&Bs we have stayed at in the past and could not think of one that matched the Boat Hotel. Thank you, we will be back again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boat Hotel M, Front Office Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic 5 star review on the Boat Hotel. I was thrilled to read that you had an excellent stay with us and really appreciate you sharing your stay on TripAdvisor for other travellers to read.

We look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Kind regards,

Shona MacLachlan
Front Office/Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeenshire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just had a lovely 2night snowy break. This hotel has a friendly welcoming feel, the staff were efficient, professional and attentive. It was a very cold weekend and our room was a bit too cold ( I really should have asked for an additional heater ) the heating was working but not well enough! Also it was a hopeless shower but there was lots of hot water so I just had lovely deep baths! The room was a little bit dated but comfortable and cute! The food was very good we ate at the hotel both nights and the restaurant was busy which is always a good sign!
Good tasty breakfasts and the weekend break was good value.

Room Tip: For a better shower and a bit warmer you should request not the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boat Hotel M, Front Office Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that, overall your stay was enjoyable but apologise that you found your room too cold. The outside temperatures have been very changeable over the past week and we do try out best to accommodate the fluctuations within the hotel, we do have extra heaters available on request which we would certainly have provided.

Glad to hear that you really enjoyed dining in the hotel for both breakfast and dinner, and do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Shona MacLachlan
Front Office/Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We chose the Boat of Garten Hotel as it was in an ideal situation for exploring the local area. The hotel is a traditional type of Scottish Highland hotel. It is not your modern chic but does have its own charm. Log fires in the main areas helped with the atmosphere. The staff, almost all foreign, were extremely pleasant and helpful. The food was excellent and not excessively expensive. The room we had looked onto Boat of Garten station and to the resident steam train there. We would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boat Hotel M, Front Office Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments and for advising other travellers on your experience.

We value all guest feedback at the Boat Hotel and I am pleased to read it was a great base for you to explore the local area. I am also thrilled to read that the food was excellent and will certainly pass over your kind comments to our chef.

Kind regards,

Shona MacLachlan
Front Office/Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spean Bridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We wanted a chilled weekend break and we got it. From the moment we arrived till we departed i was happy and having worked in the industry for near 30 years i am very particular. Having looked behind the toilet, under the sink and behind and under the bedroom units I could not find fault ( yes i am fussy ). The room was freshly decorated and well presented even if furniture dated it was warm and welcoming through out our stay unlike some hotels you are in control of heating night and day. We ate in the restaurant both nights of our stay, I am a total foodie and was not disappointed. The biggest asset I have to say is the wonderful staff I did name 3 on the comment form which really was unfair on the rest of the staff they are all excellent in my opinion and treat you as if you where the only guests it was lovely. Though i would suggest name badges . Thank you for a lovely break.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boat Hotel M, Front Office Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor, I am thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all the staff. It’s encouraging to read such a wonderful review and pleasing to know our staff delivered outstanding service consistently throughout your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to the Boat Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Shona MacLachlan
Front Office/Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldmeldrum, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was our first visit to this hotel. A little apprehensive due to some of the negative comments but found these to be pretty much groundless. Yes some of the prices were higher than we were used to but this is the Highlands and subject to higher transport costs. All the staff were friendly and ready to give any help required. We had a problem with the hot water tap on the wash basin - attended to within half an hour of being reported. Food good, beds comfortable, staff courteous. What more could you want? Advice - use the upper car park. The one accessed from beside the hotel is very tight for manoeuvering.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boat Hotel M, Front Office Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments and for advising other travellers on your experience via TripAdvisor.

We value all guest feedback at the Boat Hotel and I am pleased to read you enjoyed our facilities and accommodation in general.

We look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards,

Shona MacLachlan
Front Office/Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here after booking via Groupon and it was a really pleasant break.

The staff were friendly and attentive without being over the top, rooms were average for this standard of hotel however breakfast was exceptionally good - great selection to suit all tastes. This led to slight disappointment when dining in the hotel restaurant on the Saturday evening.

The dinner menu was appealing but disappointing given the 2 AA rosette standard expected. However, the mulled wine was very tasty!

The hotel is pet friendly and this added to the experience when we met several canine friends in the foyer!

Overall a good value weekend break. Thanks to all at The Boat.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boat Hotel M, Front Office Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that, overall your stay was enjoyable but apologise that you were disappointed with your meal.

As you mentioned, we have been awarded 2 AA rosettes for another successive year and we will certainly use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.

Kind regards,

Shona MacLachlan
Front Office/Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Hotel

Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boat Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving at The Boat Hotel for the first time can be be compared to returning as house guests of a close friend, where needs are anticipated before arrival and the welcome is genuine.Where else can you wear your Hunter wellies at 8am, golf spikes at 3pm and dress up or down for dinner? But while we offer our guests comfort some luxury and indulgence, this is not a stuffy hotel where you can’t sit on the furniture or let your kids enjoy themselves. Nestled in a tranquil picturesque setting deep within the heart of the Cairngorms National Park, near Aviemore, lies the historic and unique award wining Boat Hotel & Bistro. Adjacent to the renowned Boat of Garten Golf Club we boast 2 AA Rosette food and stylish yet relaxing accommodations with exhilarating views.The Boat Hotel is a place where you can relax and enjoy your well deserved leisure time, then put your feet up.Hotel Highlights: * Dining Options 2 AA Rosette Bistro & Bar Dining * Range of guestrooms including King Bed Deluxe Garden Terrace & Four Poster Junior Suites * Child Friendly Hotel near Landmark Forest Adventure Park and Kids Stay & Eat Free * Meeting & Events facilities for up to 65 * Close to the Cairngorm Ski Resort and adjacent Boat of Garten Golf ClubEvents DiaryWhether you're looking for an active or relaxing break, an inspirational meeting or private dining venue for your next event, planning a fabulous wedding, looking to indulge in a glass of your favourite tipple by the log fire or simply join us for some of the best food in the Cairngorm National Park. The Boat Hotel & Bistro combines historic charm with modern facilities to provide the leading destination and first choice country retreat hotel in the Aviemore area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Boat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Hotel Of Garten
The Boat Hotel Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.