We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just not value for money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Boat Hotel Bistro

The Boat Hotel Bistro
Deshar Road | Boat of Garten, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BH, Scotland
+44 1479 831258
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Boat Bistro & Bar. There are few places in the Cairngorm National park where food, wine and location come together as beautifully as The Boat Bistro, we showcase rustic and seasonal fare and re-imagined classics, featuring vegetables, fruits and herbs grown locally combined with produce sourced from the British Isles. Poached, squeezed, pressed, steamed, grilled, wilted, roasted, battered and seared. Our utterly delicious food, from first thing in the morning to last thing at night, will melt on your tongue and always leave you wanting more. Our menus comprise contemporary interpretations of classic British dishes. Our Lunch and Dinner menus also feature daily Best of British specials. It almost goes without saying that we use fresh, local, seasonal produce as the norm.Breakfast offers you a range of cold dishes and freshly baked pastries from the larder. As well as a fully cooked Scottish breakfast, you can order anything from delicate smoked Scottish Haddock to meltingly beautiful Eggs Florentine. If there’s anything else you’d like to eat, just ask. We’re not too posh or proud to make boiled egg and soldier. The Osprey Bar is warm and welcoming, the perfect place to meet, the bar is full of quiet corners. Tuck yourself away with a paper. Enjoy a quiet romantic moment. The Boat Bistro & Bar, you'll find:Best of British specials every day.Breakfast, lunch and dinner, contemporary interpretations of traditional dishes using fresh local produce. Extensive malt whisky selection. Early Bird Dining. We welcome everyone to experience the Bistro & Bar, including guests not staying at the hotel.
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“just not value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Love my food and don't mind paying for quality but i'm afraid £6 for soup and £16 for chicken pie takes the biscuit. don't get wrong the lentil soup was nice and the chicken pie was perfectly pleasant but you get far better value from the old bridge inn

Staff very utterly delightful, the bar and restaurant itself is also a lovely place to be.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    43
    23
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Went for dinner on the Earlybird menu which was excellent value. The dining room was comfortable and I was seated at a quiet table in the corner. The restaurant supervisor even substituted a dessert on the other menu for me when I had asked if this would be possible.
Highly recommended and I would dine here again.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Below average and very expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We booked a table for four at weekend in bar area - it was not very busy. We were shown to our table but nobody to took our drinks order for15 mins. Three of us ordered scallops for starters. Each consisted of 3 very small scallops which arrived lukewarm. We had 4 different main meals and only the fish and chips had vegetables, a very small pot of peas. None of the other meals had vegetables and as far as I know, none were available. All four meals were very disappointing. Although quite tasty, the portions were very small and outrageously expensive. Drinks too were way too expensive.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh on Sea
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We booked a table for six people, however the table wasn't ready in the restaurant as the people before us had turned up late, we was offered a table in the bar however we decided to wait to sit the restaurant.

I didn't really like the vegetarian option on the menu but the chef kindly made me up a pasta dish instead.

Our group was three couples, and the three guys in our group all had the burgers and all thought that these were delicious.

The Guys waiting on our table were a good laugh and the service was good.

We did note that there wasn't any napkins or serviettes on the table and when we requested some from the waitress there she handed us two, even though there was six of us, which we thought quite amusing, one of the guys who was waiting on our table grabbed us some more so this wasn't an issue in anyway, we just thought it a bit strange really.

This is a lovely place and definitely worth a visit for a drink or meal if you are in the area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Just above average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We had a good meal here but it was nothing extra special. Venison casserole was good but lacked flavour which is surprising considering that game usually carries so much of a punch. Fine but not much else.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boat Hotel Bistro also viewed

Boat of Garten, Aviemore
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Boat of Garten, Aviemore
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to The Boat Hotel Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boat Hotel Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.