We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a stunning property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Docharn Lodge Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Docharn Lodge Guest House to your Saves list
Docharn Lodge Guest House
Boat of Garten, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“What a stunning property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Neil and Catriona have created an amazing house, full of light, comfortable furniture and colourful modern art which cannot be faulted - there was no detail which they had not thought of in creating the property in which they provide a truly top class service - nothing was too much trouble and the breakfasts were a real delight. We know where we will be staying next time we are in Scotland.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
It was a real pleasure to meet you both and we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us recently. We would like to thank you for your kind comments and would be delighted to welcome you back to Docharn again soon.
Best wishes Catriona and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
50
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winchester,
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The most wonderful views, excellent accommodation, and perfect hosts - thank you Catriona and Neil! We will definitely be returning. The choice for breakfast is brilliant and it is served with a smile - we couldn't have wished for better.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you both for writing this review, we really appreciate it. We're glad you managed to spot the capercaillie and many other birds while you were here. We look forward to your return visit in September.
Best wishes
Catriona and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights over the Easter weekend 2014. The guest accommodation is superb and the hosts, Neil and Catriona couldn't have been more accommodating and pleasant - they say nothing is too much trouble and I am sure they really mean that. We stayed in bedroom 1 - the furnishings are of a high quality and in very good taste as I am sure the other rooms also are. As other reviewers have mentioned, the breakfast is fantastic - possibly the best we have ever experienced. Afternoon tea is an extra complimentary service that you wouldn't normally expect but was most welcome on the day of our arrival. Hats off to Neil and Catriona - they have definitely got it right and we will certainly be back.
Paul and Sue, Canterbury, Kent, UK

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Many thanks Sue and Paul for your kind words, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Docharn. We enjoyed the little chats with you in the evening. Hopefully we'll meet you again soon.
Best wishes
Catriona and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Excellent in all respects. We has a very warm welcome and this continued throughout our stay. The room was lovely with a very smart en suite. The lounge area was relaxing with plenty of reading material and excellent views of the Cairngorms. Neil and Catriona helped us to make the most of our stay with their suggestions and were always prepared to give of their time.
The breakfast choice was great and beautifully prepared.
We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and would love to be able to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hello to you both, hope you arrived home safely last week. We thoroughly enjoyed your company and hope you do manage a return visit soon. Thank you for this kind review.
Best regards
Catriona and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Neil and Catriona have a diamond of a guesthouse here and they run it spot on. The rooms, the location, the breakfasts, the beds, the showers, the welcome, the friendliness, the EVERYTHING is perfect, cannot fault it. We can't wait to go back :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a lot of fun having you stay. Hope Linda's grandparents arrived home safely to Essen.
Kind regards
Catriona and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I arrived in the evening to be shown into a lovely bedroom with a great shower. I was given a cup of tea and a variety of shortbreads and biscuits and sat in the living room, admiring the fantastic conversion of an old steading using green oak construction and underfloor heating, all done by Neil (who was a builder) and Catriona.
The breakfast was delicious, with a bowl of fresh fruit, perfect porridge and poached eggs on muffins.
This must be one of the very best!
Thank you, Catriona and Neil

Room Tip: If using satnav, it works fine from Aviemore and Carrbridge, but not from the main bypass road, as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
It was a real pleasure to have you stay with us recently, and we're pleased you managed to get some good photography shots. Thank you for this kind review, we're glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and hope that you return again soon.
Kind regards
Catriona and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Thank you Catriona & Neil for your wonderful hospitality!! Your house is beautiful, bedrooms better than top notch hotels, & so enjoyed chatting to you both.
Breakfast was delicious & you both went out of your way to make our stay as good as it could possibly be. We look forward to
returning. Sandy & Lesley

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to Docharn again very soon.
Kind regards
Catriona and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Docharn Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Docharn Lodge Guest House

Address: Boat of Garten, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Boat of Garten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts Catriona and Neil would like to extend a warm welcome to you at Docharn Lodge. Our home is a recently restored steading with spacious oak framed extension and has the latest in sustainable and efficient hi-tech energy systems. Docharn Lodge was designed on a beautiful elevated position to take in the unfolding panorama of Strathspey and the Cairngorm Mountains and maximize the views. If you are looking for that special place to stay in the Cairngorms National Park, then Docharn Lodge is for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Docharn Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Docharn Lodge Guest House Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Docharn Lodge Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.