We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boat House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Boat House to your Saves list
The Boat House
Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in two different rooms: the large family room (3 single beds and an en-suite) and a small double room (yes, it is small but that was not a problem for us. It is big enough if you don't have tonnes of luggage), also with an en-suite. Both rooms were clean and comfortable with amenities for tea/coffee/hot chocolate and biscuits. Both the en-suite bathrooms had plenty of towels and nice toiletries. We slept well, it was warm enough, breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and eat as much or little as you want. Owner and staff were friendly and helpful, so was the lovely dog Poppy, who is very obedient and well-behaved (she stays in the private part of the B&B, doesn't go in the breakfast room - for those who are not keen on dogs). We would definitely recommend it and go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    14
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
19
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

sadly, they'd already left for South Africa, but there was still plenty to see in the area, the room, despite being described in another review as "very small", was more than adequate for our needs, with a large, comfortable four poster bed, and a selection of beverages and toiletries in the room and en-suite facilities. Breakfast was excellent, , with a wide selection of food and freshly picked fruit. The owner is friendly and informative, giving us advice on what to do and see in the surrounding countryside, and giving us some help which went well above the call of duty...
Definite recommendation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arbroath
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

WE had a late arrival, but that was no problem. Harry recommended that we head into Aviemore for a meal at the Cairngorm Hotel. We had no chance in the local hotel as we had not booked. However, what a brilliant recommendation! Superb meal.

Breakfast with Harry was excellent - good choice, well cooked; just what it should be.

Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night in May while walking the Speyside Way. This was by far our least favorite lodging of the 6 places we stayed during the walk.

The room was so small that the only way a person could walk around was if the other one was lying on the bed. Furnishings were spartan and a bit shabby. The mattress coverings and linens were thin and we felt the springs all night.

The ensuite bathroom was adequate, thought the vinyl floor seemed sticky. The breakfast was the typical Scottish offering, and it was fine and served with a smile.

I agree completely with the other reviewer who said this B&B is nothing more than a step up from a hostel. And that's fine if that's what you're looking for -- basic accommodation that is reasonably clean and safe. If you are looking for something with a few more amenities and more comfort, it's best to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theboathouse, Owner at The Boat House, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
i have responded to this review before and it seems trip advisor keep removeing my responses
firstly , we are a 3 star rated guesthouse the reviewer has comparded us with a 4 stars guesthouse, secondly if you read there other review you will see that they were serve whisky on their porridge hardly a normal thing for any establishment to do
so one can assume their thoughts will favour that estblishment , the room they were in is not huge but is adaquate please feel free to read other reviews regarding this room

why haven't they posted reviews for the other 4 place at which they stayed ?
this review is an unfair attack on my buisness , we are certainly not a hostel we have just 1 month ago been quality assure by visit scotland and easily aquired 3 stars with a score of 68% , note a score of 69% and over would have given us 4 stars , i do not wish to advertise my self as 4 stars as peoples expectations of a average 3 star are more than met and generally they leave very happy

i hope if trip advisor post this response it cleared things up

kind regards

Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The Boat House Guest House is clean and comfortable with a warm and friendly owner who is full of tips and anecdotes to help make the most of a visit to this most beautiful part of the planet.
The bed was comfortable, there were plenty of clean towels and toiletries as well as tea, coffee and biscuits in the room. The shower in my en-suite bathroom was fabulously powerful - just right after a day of tramping about the countryside. Breakfast was substantial, the WiFi was free and I had a pleasant four night stay there at a very reasonable rate. I would like to have seen a couple of coat hooks on the inside of the bedroom door - a minor quibble.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theboathouse, Owner at The Boat House, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
thank you for your review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good holiday in the wonderful area
we take on board what you have said about coat hooks , we do have wardrobes in every room , however i understand that putting a wet coat in a wardrobe isn't ideal we also provide a drying and washing facilities , but the point is that someone may simply wish to hang their coat after being caught in a light shower, there for we are in the process of procureing and installing coat hooks in our rooms
we are always looking at ways we can inprove our guest stay with us and are greatfull for your kind constructive critisium
we hope too see you again some time in the future

Harry Hancock owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We arrived at this guest house after a long cycle ride and we were told that they had no knowledge of the booking. After a short wait we were allocated the three bedded room which was clean and comfortable but our friends were put into a very small room. This room had a four poster bed which took up most of the space. Fortunately they were moved to a larger room which again was clean and comfortable. We all slept well and breakfast in the morning was good. We were recommended to have dinner at a local restaurant, Andersons, close by which was very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Boat House, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
once again we apologise for the confusion , however 10mins before you arrived another group of 4 arrived with a simalar name and my step mother let them in ( i was attending an appiontment) thinking they were you and checked them into your rooms your party then arrived and she tried to accomodate you aswell giving you alternative rooms then 5mins after the other group realised they had not booked with us at all and infact should have been at The boat hotel , my step mother then offered all of you to move into the rooms which you had booked and apologised to you and explained to you what had happened, 10 mins or so later again i arrive back from my appiontment the situaton was explained to me by mystep mother who was very upset having made a mistake i also spoke to you guts at this piont and apologised again 2 of you had moved to the correct room and the other two didn't wish to move and were happy with the room which they had.

i'm glad you found the rooms comfortable and clean , and you had slept well also that breakfast was good. i beleive you also had a lovely meal in andersons that night also,

i apologised again on your departure for the mix up , we are deeply saddened that this mix up spoit your stay with us and can only apologise sincerly

Harry Hancock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed at the Boat House in May. Clean, comfortable, absolutely adequate. Paper thin walls--we could hear everything the couple next to us were saying, and since they came in after we were already in bed, it was annoying. They weren't speaking loudly, but it felt like they were in the same room with us. Breakfast okay, nothing special. We stayed in so many really nice B and B's while in Scotland that it's hard to give the Boat House much more than a 3 in comparison.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Boat House, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
we are glad you found things here to be clean comfortable and adaquate we are very sorry to here that you were disturbed by other guests in a neighbouring room , i'm sure they weren't just talking normally , occasionally we have guests that come in late and unfortunaitly have no respect for others who may be sleeping etc i'm not sure what time of night the disturbance occured had i have been informed i may have been able to either speak to the noisy guests or move you to a queiter room and i appriecate that some people are light sleepers too.
if you happen to return and give us a 2nd chance please let us know and we have a couple of rooms which are not adjacent to any others, therefore a little queiter.

i'm sorry to read that you weren't overly happy with breakfast we do have a large selection for breakfast cereals, porridge, toast ,fresh fruit, juices , and any of the 10 item full scottish cooked breakfast to choose from

again are apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat House

Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Boat of Garten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly family run guest house located within the Cairngorm national park near to ski,golf, fishing,wildlife, rspb ospreys,steam railway, climbing, and everything Aviemore and the Cairngorms has to offer etc the list goes on pet and child friendly etc. 1/2 hour from Inverness airport with good bus and rail links too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Boat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boat House Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boat House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.