We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anderson's Restaurant

Anderson's Restaurant
Deshar Road | Inverness-shire, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
01479 831466
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $17 - $34
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: WelcomeWhether you've something to celebrate, are at the end of a hard day's walking in the hills, or simply fancy a break from cooking at home, it is our wish at Anderson's that you all feel welcome. Forget pretence, the atmosphere here is relaxed and informal, so sit back, switch off, and savour the pleasure of great food and drink. Local Produce At Anderson's we are committed to using local Scottish produce when it is in season, so needless to say, our menu changes each month, along with our daily specials. Each dish is lovingly prepared and bought together in such a way as to bring out the very best of truly great, fresh ingredients. Although our menu is creative, our aim is simple, to present you with food that we are confident you will enjoy, and that tastes fantastic.Family Friendly The whole family is welcome at Anderson's, and it is important to us that everyone can tuck into something they will enjoy. So for children we can either offer half portions of anything on the menu, or for specific likes or dislikes, please feel comfortable to say, and the chef will be happy to come up with something to suit- within reason! Similarly please make us aware of any special dietary requirements you may have.“It’s great to see a restaurant like Andersons opening up in Boat of Garten. Owners Steve and Claire have put a huge amount of thought and effort into their set up, and their intended philosophy of utilizing the best of Scottish produce should be a real boost to the local restaurant scene. I wish them every success for the future.” Nick Nairn
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I honestly can't understand the numerous outstanding reviews this restaurant has! Really, what you get is pub food in a glorified cafe'. OK, food is well presented and staff is kind and pleasant. Atmosphere is good too. However, my pork was dry and my wife's chips were well cooked but weren't good potatoes to start with! Portions were small and overpriced at that! So, would I go back? NO! It's too expensive for a grab-a-quick-bite place.....and portions are to mean!, and it's not good enough for a proper dining out experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndersonsRestaurant, Owner at Anderson's Restaurant, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for our little restaurant. If only you had told us on the night about your pork and chips. We certainly would not of charged you for food that was mediocre! Our menu is normally far more extensive, I have to reduce the menu this time of year due to being very quit on all but a couple of nights per week. I really don't agree that our portions are small and over priced, in fact I should really be charging customers more due to constant increases in my overheads and food costs. The last thing I would ever want people to think is they are being ripped off! My apologies for your less than perfect experience, your comments shall certainly be taken on board and used to help me make things better for future guests.

Kind Regards,

Steve Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    183
    62
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Yum yum yum in my tum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We visited Anderson's over the Christmas period and were blown away by how delicious and beautifully presented the food was. Boat of Garten is a small Highland village and Anderson's is the jewel in the crown . The roast beef was to die for! Cooked to perfection. Such a pity we live over four hundred miles away!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked a table in this lovely wee restaurant for Hogmanay as we were staying in Grantown-on-Spey, not too far away. The meal was absolutely gorgeous from start to finish and the staff were lovely too. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who happens to be in this area, its definitely worth a visit. Excellent food and service. Cannot recommend it highty enough.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

often talk about best 5 films ever, more than 5 films can go in this cartography, going to start this with restaurants. This wud go straight to number 1 for me ..... Service great and food amazing without a silly price tag

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Meal and relaxed place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had a great 3course meal with a good bottle all for £65. Brilliant value and such friendly staff. We also booked at short notice and they managed to fit us in on a busy Friday.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anderson's Restaurant also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Anderson's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anderson's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.