We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fish Pie” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anderson's Restaurant

Anderson's Restaurant
Deshar Road | Inverness-shire, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
01479 831466
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $31
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: WelcomeWhether you've something to celebrate, are at the end of a hard day's walking in the hills, or simply fancy a break from cooking at home, it is our wish at Anderson's that you all feel welcome. Forget pretence, the atmosphere here is relaxed and informal, so sit back, switch off, and savour the pleasure of great food and drink. Local Produce At Anderson's we are committed to using local Scottish produce when it is in season, so needless to say, our menu changes each month, along with our daily specials. Each dish is lovingly prepared and bought together in such a way as to bring out the very best of truly great, fresh ingredients. Although our menu is creative, our aim is simple, to present you with food that we are confident you will enjoy, and that tastes fantastic.Family Friendly The whole family is welcome at Anderson's, and it is important to us that everyone can tuck into something they will enjoy. So for children we can either offer half portions of anything on the menu, or for specific likes or dislikes, please feel comfortable to say, and the chef will be happy to come up with something to suit- within reason! Similarly please make us aware of any special dietary requirements you may have.“It’s great to see a restaurant like Andersons opening up in Boat of Garten. Owners Steve and Claire have put a huge amount of thought and effort into their set up, and their intended philosophy of utilizing the best of Scottish produce should be a real boost to the local restaurant scene. I wish them every success for the future.” Nick Nairn
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Fish Pie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband and I went to Andersons on Pie Night, we both had the fish pie and a drink for £12 each. The pie was delicious and the portion was substantial. I would definitely recommend it to anyone in the area and I would go back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    81
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A great place for Speyside Way walkers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I were hikers walking the Speyside Way from Buckie to Aviemore and we stayed in Boat of Garten along the way. There are two places to eat, Anderson's and the Boat Hotel. We went to Andson's and were informed they were fully booked, so we walked to the hotel and were informed that they were hosting a large wedding and the dining room was closed. Hungary and with no other option we went back to Anderson's and begged for a takeout of soup or bread or anything... The host checked with the chef and they took pity on us and found a way to slot us in, which was quite nice of them. A good thing, too, as the food was very, very good. My wife had a pomegranate, arugula, avocado, and goat cheese salad and I had a veggie curry with naan bread. Both were very tasty and quite filling to two hungry hikers. I would recommend this place to anyone passing through Boat of Garten, just be sure to call ahead for reservations.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Bistro!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great selection of local ales and foods and a very cosy atmosphere. Reserve ahead if you can! Definitely recommended!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Great option in the Highlands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is the kind of local restaurant I love to find. We visited in April this year on my first trip to the Highlands. I had the special - barbecued short beef ribs. Tender, tasty and filling. I thoroughly enjoyed it, as well as the home-made gin and lemon sorbet and the house whisky made specially for them. If you are in the area (and like good food) this should be top of your list for mealtimes.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Consistently good meals a gem in boat of garten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I don't want to write a review about my favourite restaurant, as it means that it will be more difficult for me to get a table. However if you are within 500 miles it is worth calling in as the food is fantastic. In addition there is a good supply of the award winning Cairngorm Brewery Beers. Try one of the home made ice creams to complete your meal, or even better two of the ice creams!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anderson's Restaurant also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Anderson's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anderson's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.