We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Peace and Quite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wheatland Farm eco lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winkleigh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wheatland Farm eco lodges
Save
You added Wheatland Farm eco lodges to your Saves list
Wheatland Farm, Winkleigh EX19 8DJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic Peace and Quite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed here with my husband and my Cavalier King Charles Spaniel, what a lovely cabin very spacious, clean and the view was to die for. Woke up in the morning and just heared the birds. Ian and Maggie are such lovely owners and are only to happy to assit where needed. Welcomed by homemade scones just right after a journey. Well definately visit again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winkleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I live hear but the over day I stayed at plovers barrow for the first time. It was excellent! It is very
beautiful. the garden is lovely and the noise is poor.


IT WAS VERY GOOD

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

We booked this lodge as a 'retreat' from our busy lives and can honestly say it was perfect. We stayed in nuthatch lodge with our 2 children, aged 4 and 9 months. Ian and Maggie made travelling with a baby very easy by providing nearly everything we needed for the baby! A warm welcome, and delicious homebaked scones made our arrival perfect; and the glorious weather made our week away lovely.! The lodges are housed within a secluded area, with a play area for the children, and a field for the dogs to run round.. a friendly farm shop up the road made getting supplies easy.... it was lovely to be able to let our 4 year old run free in the fields with the dogs, as the farm is self contained, its a rare opportunity for a child these days to enjoy the outdoors without natural parental concerns; and one our son took full advantage of! Highly recommended, ecologically sound, peaceful and tranquil! Thanks for our break.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

My wife and I had a lovely 5day holiday staying in Otter Cottage and was exactly what we needed and wanted. Lovely small cottage with everything you need for a relaxing stay. The log burning stove was lit every night and heated the whole downstairs very quickly. Ian re-filled the basket of logs in a moment’s notice every time. We used a couple of their bikes for a few hours to explore – Ian wasn’t wrong, it is hilly in places!

Forgot to mention, upon our arrival we were greeted with freshly baked scones! Possibly the best ive had and possibly worth going there for the scones alone!

There is a convenience store a few miles away with a butchers etc which we used. You’re remote but not isolated.

All in all, a very nice mini-break. We’ll certainly think about returning when we need another de-stress!

Thanks to you both

Phil & Emma

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We had a lovely 6 days staying in Nuthatch Lodge - our very own wooden cabin with views of Dartmoor and roaming chickens! Maggie and Ian, the owners, were friendly and willing to help with anything we asked, lending us bikes (and a spanner to remove front wheels and get in the car), a map of Dartmoor and so on, and so on... Furthermore, they are both really knowledgeable about ecology and the environment, and were eager and willing to share this when we asked. We came away having learnt all sorts about bees, dormice and the marsh fritillary butterfly and its picky eating habits (only one plant variety will it feast on, which makes it rather endangered)!
The cabin was warm, cosy, clean and well-equipped, with an outside balcony which we took full advantage of, lounging in the sunshine and reading.
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend coming here for a peaceful stay, with plenty to explore in terms of walking and cycling - and there's also a jolly nice pub in the village which does good food!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We got back from Wheatland farm on Saturday after a fantastic weeks holiday. We have a 2 and a half year old girl and it was perfect for her, lots of space to run around feeding the chickens and going on the swings and slide.Tthe lodge we stayed in was fab, nice and warm and clean and on arrival scones and home made jam. Ian and Maggie are so friendly and make you feel really welcome and are doing a great job. We used the local farm shop for our veg and meat which was lovely so please use. All in all a fantastic week away in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

It's really, really not easy to find a holiday location that's all of comfortable, welcoming, beautiful and genuinely child and family friendly but Wheatlands Farm is it. Ian and Maggie are terrifically friendly and locally knowledgeable and you may even be lucky enough to be given some of Maggie's terrific scones on arrival.

We stayed in Nuthatch Lodge with our two boys, aged 5 and 1, and it was perfect. There's enough space for everyone and the child-safe verandah was a godsend. The walks and meadows mean you can have an active and varied day without having to pack everyone into the car and drive for miles. This place is a little slice of heaven in the middle of Devon. One word of warning, if you are not used to driving on narrow country lanes, take the long way round to Chulmleigh. We didn't and collided with a local 4x4 driver. He was terribly nice about it, but still...

All manner of stresses can, however, be remedied by a trip to Fiona's Farm Shop a handy half a mile jaunt up the road from Wheatlands. All the talk of people like Hugh Fearnley and the like is actually happening at Fiona's. Pure Devon butter, milk, clotted cream, homemade pasties, cakes to die for and hot lunches will make you pull your increasing girth up the road time and time again. You can even book milk, a quiche, whatever you need to eat when you arrive at Wheatlands with Fiona and she and her lovely hubby will arrange to have it delivered to your lodge. We'll be back next year - except for two weeks, not five days.

We stayed

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wheatland Farm eco lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatland Farm eco lodges

Address: Wheatland Farm, Winkleigh EX19 8DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Winkleigh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Winkleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Devon eco lodges offer a tranquil haven for short breaks and longer stays. We're a green business, running our 21 acres for wildlife. But you don't need to be super-green to stay - it's for everyone. Choose from three well-appointed eco-lodges set amongst trees, or Otter cottage, a converted stone barn with views over our lakes and to Dartmoor. Dogs and children welcome. Close to excellent fishing, traditional pubs, cycle trails and great walks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wheatland Farm Eco Lodges Winkleigh, England - Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheatland Farm eco lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.