We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of our three weeks in Sicily and Malta” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hal Saflieni Hypogeum

Hal Saflieni Hypogeum
Burial Street, Paola, Island of Malta PLA 03, Malta
+356 2180 5018
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Paola
Type: Ancient Ruins, Monuments/ Statues, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Ħal Saflieni Hypogeum is an underground prehistoric burial site, a complex made up of interconnecting rock-cut chambers set on three distinct levels. Earliest remains at the site date back to about 4000BC, and the complex was used over a span of many centuries, up to c. 2500 BC. The Hypogeum was first opened to the public in 1908. Due to its uniqueness, the site became very popular with visitors. Unfortunately, this had a negative impact on the delicate microclimate of the site. For this reason, a conservation project was conducted that also included the closure of the site for 10 years between 1990 and 2000. As a result of these studies, a new visiting system was established. Nowadays, only 10 visitors an hour are now allowed inside the Hypogeum for a maximum of 8 tours a day. This system is also complemented by an environmental control system which keeps temperature and humidity at required levels.Tickets for the Hal Saflieni Hypogeum should be bought well ahead of the chosen visiting date since tours are often fully booked weeks in advance.For more information visit Heritage Malta's website.
New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“The highlight of our three weeks in Sicily and Malta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This attraction is not to be missed. Our main focus for our three week trip were the archeological sites so it's no wonder we loved the Hypogeum. But even if archeology is not your thing the hypogeum is fantastic and really special. The architecturally carved vaulted ceiling room is a marvel of engineering and creativity.

The tour is very well organized (only 10 people per hour tour so you MUST reserve in advance) and very informative. There is a 10 minute video which is very interesting and each person is given an audio guide (available for most languages) that is automatically started at each viewing stop.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    81
    30
    13
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Last Minute Ticket Success”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My friends and I waited in line at the National Museum of Fine Arts the day before we hoped to visit the hypogeum. There were already eight or so people in line when we arrived at 8am. Fortunately, we were able to get tickets when the doors opened at 9am.

The next day we took the public bus to Paola's main stop. From there it was a short five-minute walk to the hypogeum. We were on the 16:00 tour, so the souvenir items in the entry way were only for sale before our tour. There are also bathrooms on site. Everyone receives an audio tour which turns on automatically as you walk into the room with descriptions. Then you descend into the hypogeum itself.

I gave it a 4 out of 5 because of two things. One, it was really hard for all tour participants to see everything at the same time due to the close quarters of the hypogeum. It would have been really nice if the lights had stayed on just a couple of seconds longer. I was in the back of the tour group, and the lights showing some features had already turned off before I could the details. And two, I think the hypogeum is incredibly interesting, but I wonder if the limited number of tickets make it more of a hot commodity than it really is. If you aren't able to get tickets to the hypogeum, a visit to Hagar Qim and Mnajdra will also give you a good overview of the early settlements in Malta.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Amazing must visit site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Have visited this site several times with different family members. Needs to be booked well in advance. I've encountered many people at the door who just turn up and can't get in. It may surprise when you arrive as the street is residential and the entrance is as if you are entering a local home but then its all underground.
The tour is professionally conducted limited to 10 people due to the confined areas you enter. An informative video presentation precedes a guided walk through.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“One of the special sights and sites of Malta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

IF you find ruins and ancient mystery of interest then this set of underground human made "Caves" are fascinating and very well displayed. About 20 mins by bus or Taxi, in the centre of a small town. We went on a Saturday afternoon and got there early - nothing open at all.
Fixed timings - 10 people only (will not let in an 11th - only have 10 headsets). Book befire you get to Malta.Booked out in mid May up to to July. Audio intro - perhaps could be a little shorter then you are walked to various points and listen to the story of each area. Whole visit 45/50 mins. It is quite dark, lighting changes very cleverly as in a Son et Lumiere. Lots of steps. This will not be for everyone but personally it was a very different and memorable experience. No shop, coffee etc.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“This is a Unique site in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very very higly recommended. If you are interested in history of umanity, a trip into this hypogeum it's a must.
You have to reserve the visit some months before the trip, elsewhere you have to hope in a fortune kiss because of it's importance it's always full booked. An alternative is to speak with the hotel Phoenicia reception that can do the difference, at a price, obviously...and I do this because I not know that this archaeological site was so researched.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hal Saflieni Hypogeum also viewed

Mdina, Island of Malta
Qrendi, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Kalkara, Island of Malta
 

Been to Hal Saflieni Hypogeum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hal Saflieni Hypogeum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.