We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year Heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ardbrecknish House & Self Catering Accommodation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dalmally
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ardbrecknish House & Self Catering Accommodation
South Lochaweside, Dalmally PA33 1BH, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Dalmally B&B and Inns
St Helens
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“New Year Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We went as a large family group with young children to celebrate the new year. We were accommodated in the Old West Wing which had more then enough space for 11 of us. The bedrooms were spacious, good sized kitchen. Good heating for the winter months! The views from all aspects of the accommodation were wonderful! We spent much time wandering to the loch, and even went for a New Years loch dip (which we now know the Scottish call a loony dunk). Jim and Sally were very friendly and accommodating hosts. The bar was very warm and comfortable, and there was a Hogmanay ceilidh New Year's Eve which was great fun!! We would definitely stay again, and would not hesitate to go in winter again.

Room Tip: Old west wing was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Another great holiday at Ardbrecknish House. This time we were with a party of 25 people plus 8 dogs and Sally and Jim couldn't have been more accommodating. Yes it was a little hectic in the bar area but the bar staff and locals were extremely patient with us and welcomed us with their friendly banter.
The food prepared by the resident chef was excellent as always and served by attentive waiting staff and no complaints were received by any of our party on the accommodation although many of us have been regular visitors over the years and have come to expect the high standards.
Here's to our next trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

When my mother in law said she wanted to visit Scotland again in the summer, we knew exactly where to book. All of the Aussie relatives loved Ardbrecknish, plenty of room in the West Wing for us all to have a place to escape. We had 4 children in our party so the great outdoors and play area were great and the huge living/dining room was perfect for family meals. We were very lucky and had briliant weather. Nice big kitchen but I'd recommend the bar meals, children can get half portions which are very generous, bar prices are very reasonable too. Can't wait to come back again...

Room Tip: We were a party of 9 but chose the west wing which would happily accomodate 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

A very last minute change of plans saw my fiancée and I arranging our reception on the grounds of Ardbrecknish. Jim and Sally (the owners) were beyond fantastic. Majority of our family and friends stayed at Ardbrecknish. The facilities were exactly what we required - self-contained with lots of space whilst still allowing us to be all together. The pub meals were good and the bar along with its locals provided all of our guests a great place to meet (and take over) in the nights leading up to our wedding.
I cannot thank Jim and Sally enough for all that they did for us and our guests and their willingness to help out wherever they could along the way.
I wish we could have stayed longer - im already planning the return trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limpopo
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This place was immaculate, spacious accommodation which was needed as there were 10 of us, 9 adults and a baby. Friendly hosts, service in restaurant was great and chef was very kind and waited until the last of our family arrived on our first night and served dinner later than normal. Food was great and varied and very reasonably priced, this was the best part of our trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

WOW! Having been a regular visitor to Loch Awe over the last few years, I know there are a few places you could choose to stay but I urge you to select Ardbrecknish House.

Highlights:

• The view is tremendous
• Grounds are kept to an impeccable standard
• Welcoming staff
• Flexible and comfortable self-catering apartments
• Great evening meals in the dining area which later transforms into a games room with pool table, darts and indoor bowls
• Quaint bar with friendly locals
• 5 minute walk to the loch and local fishing boat business

Overall, exceptional value for money…just remember to bring your own towels and midge repellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We recently attended a friends wedding and stayed in one of the apartments. The apartments were lovely - big rooms with all the facilites you need. Beautiful views to the loch and the mountains. Beds were very comfy. Could have easily spent two weeks there but unfortunately we were only there for a weekend. The wedding was in a marquee on the grounds and it was just beautiful. Panoramic views to the loch which were outstanding. Very friends staff in the bar. All round an excellent venue.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ardbrecknish House & Self Catering Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardbrecknish House & Self Catering Accommodation

Address: South Lochaweside, Dalmally PA33 1BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Dalmally
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dalmally
Also Known As:
Ardbrecknish House & Self Catering Accommodation Dalmally, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardbrecknish House & Self Catering Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ardbrecknish House & Self Catering Accommodation to your Saves list