We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly exceeds expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dalmally Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dalmally
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dalmally Hotel
Save
You added Dalmally Hotel to your Saves list
Dalmally, Dalmally, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Dalmally B&B and Inns
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Certainly exceeds expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My partner and I booked this Highland Heritage coach tour based at the Dalmally Hotel with misgivings. It appeared cheap and we thought “If it seems too good to be true, it probably is” - but it wasn’t. We went, prepared to eat out if the food wasn’t good, but it was - just as well as the eating-out options in the area appeared non-existent!

Our room was on the third floor. It was clean, adequately furnished, with en-suite bathroom and TV. Tea and coffee-making facilities were provided with biscuits and fresh fruit.Our only criticism was the failure of the lift on the penultimate day - inconvenient but hardly the hotel’s fault. The views were spectacular though frequently obscured by low cloud.

The staff all appeared to be immigrants mainly from eastern Europe. They were charming, courteous and invariably helpful. Our main driver/courier/guide, Colin, was a delightful Scot. He was efficient and knowledgeable, with a ready wit. He kept us well-informed about the locality and its history, interspersed with amusing anecdotes as did our alternative driver for two of the days, Gary. They had a phenomenal memory for dates, though I guess nobody was in a position to question them!

The food was excellent, plenty of choice, generous portions, well-cooked and presented. A choice of Loch Fyne kippers for breakfast was a particular pleasure. The Scottish dinner on the last night was memorable and provided my introduction to haggis! Certainly worthy of comment were the bar prices. There was a limited, but adequate, choice of wines all priced at £9.99 a bottle - remarkable for a hotel! The white was chilled as it usually is and the red was at the right temperature which is less-common!

There was entertainment every evening which was tolerable if not to everyone’s taste. The first night certainly merits comment. The entertainers were “The Homelanders”, a duo who played the guitar and an adapted piano-accordion. They were remarkably talented and varied their extensive musical offering with amusing patter. It was a great evening and I can’t understand why they’ve not had greater exposure. They did offer CDs for sale, one of which we bought, but these are only available at their performances.

We frequently commented on the sheer efficiency of the whole operation. It worked like a well-oiled machine and appeared to be faultless. We remain amazed at the remarkable value for money and hope to return to one of the other Highland Heritage hotels later in the year.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    55
    28
    13
    11
See reviews for
24
70
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Travelling with some trepidation on this first time experience with Highland Heritage, we returned full of praise after a truly enjoyable break. What needs to be emphasised is the real value for money these holidays deliver. Yes, if you look hard enough there are things that can irritate but the irritations are the result of the same formula that keep the costs down. Trips in the fantastic Scottish countryside, good basic accommodation and food, friendly and accommodating staff and drivers and very reasonable prices for, let's face it, a captive clientele, all contribute to the value delivered. Definitely an "older person's" holiday but this is a company that knows its clients and how to accommodate the numbers in an efficient way. The evenings were really enjoyable with good entertainment and those reasonable bar prices. Go, join in and enjoy and if you don't like the entertainment, take a calculator and try and work out how they do it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

You need a top floor room at this hotel if you want to get any sleep as every floor board in the place creaks, though the walls must be paper thin because you can hear toilets, snoring etc. The food was sufficient and well cooked. The staff were excellent but if you're looking for the scottish experience take note that they are ALL Eastern European. Two out of the four entertainment acts were very good. The coach tours were great, apart from the concert day which was just boring, and a much too early start. The drivers were fabulous and really knowledgeable. Over all a nice experience and value for money.

Room Tip: Top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Had a lovely time staying at Dalmally hotel ,owned by Highland Heritage.All staff very helpful and pleasant.Food good. Entertainment good mostly singers,one comedian/singer. Bedroom on ground floor large,with comfortable double bed.Bathroom on the small size,Shower over the bath.Toiletries and dressing gown provided a nice touch .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just spent a lovely 5 days at the Royal Hotel was really impressed by the way Highland Heritage run their tours. The Hotel was excellent the Manager Alex and his staff were all very helpful and nothing to much trouble for them. Our coach driver Darren was fantastic and was a pleasure to travel with. Everything ran like clockwork. I would really recommend the holiday to anyone. Mr and Mrs T Bishton Ilkeston Derbyshire

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby N E Lincs
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Got back from holiday with Highland Heritage holidays staying at the DALMALLY HOTEL and thoroughly enjoyed it. Was sat with a great crowd of people Graham and Kate also DAVE and KATE and DAVE,S mother-in-law ROXY (HA HA JOKE) and of course my better half LINDA. Everything about the place was brilliant the food the room the staff and of course our driver PAUL (Clan Cambell Fan). Paul was very knowledgeable and very informative and told us lots of interesting facts about all the areas we drove past or through. Will definitely being going with this company again as it was worth every penny.

Room Tip: our room 54 was right near the lift but not bothered by it as we could not hear it going up and down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just had another lovely break with Highland Heritage! The feeder coach service was much better than last time being at Tebay services and not Gretna, although it was much better when their own drivers and coaches picked up from start.

Scenery was stunning because of the snow on the mountain tops. This was my first trip with them on my own the main reason was to see Sterling Castle. The hotel and food was as expected, I have been to the Royal and Alexander before. I knew there was nothing in the way of a village as such but as I was going on the trips it didn't really matter. There is nothing to do if you have to stay in the Hotel!

The tours are good value for money and the banter and information from the drivers are excellent and you always meet nice people on the coach. As I love Scotland I will always have trips up there and I haven't been to the Ben Doran yet so will have to give that a try.

There is only one negative comment and that is having to pay a single supplement of £5 a night in a single room! I could understand a supplement for sole occupency of a double room but not for a single bed in a small room.

Highland Heritage are a well run company in a beautiful part of our country and good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dalmally Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalmally Hotel

Address: Dalmally, Dalmally, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Dalmally
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dalmally
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dalmally Hotel Lying in the village of Dalmally in Strathorchy The hotel is sited in the village of Dalmally in Strathorchy. It has spectacular mountain views all round and three acres of beautiful landscaped gardens. The famous salmon river “Orchy” flows down the Strath and the favourite morning walk is past the ancient medieval church down to the 300 year old “Wade” Bridge to watch for salmon, trout and otter. The hotel is of modern construction with large en-suite bedrooms and spectacular public areas awash with plants and flowers. The lounge has a dancefloor and bar, and there is also a billiard room. The bedrooms have comfortable modern divan beds, tea makers, hair dryers, TV and controlled heating. Furnishings are modern and crisp; there are heated towel rails in every room. There are four floors serviced by a modern lift. The dining room and lounges each seat two hundred people and are a joy for flower lovers everywhere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dalmally Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dalmally Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.