We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely get away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glenorchy Lodge Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dalmally
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenorchy Lodge Hotel
Save
You added Glenorchy Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Station Road, Dalmally PA33 1AA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Dalmally B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A lovely get away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend. Mac and Sally who owned this hotel were very friendly and helpful. The staff were very pleasant. The standard of cleanliness was excellent. The hotel was warm and comfortable with spacious bedrooms. The food was amazing. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Can't wait to return. Joe and June Many thanks.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
30
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My friend & I stayed for 3 nights 26--28 January, we were out most of the day in the beautiful countryside. The weather was damp so when we arrived back at the hotel our outdoor clothing was put in the hotel's drying room, which was great as it was dry & ready for the next day. The rooms are immaculate & spacious. The bar is very friendly & you are made most welcome by the landlord & the locals "The Food" Sally the chef makes a wholesome meal which would give any restaurant a run for it's money, on the 1st night we opted for haggis, neaps & tatties with a whiskey sauce, after being out all day it was just the job. The next 2 nights we had rib-eye with all the trimmings along with a fruit crumble for desert, which is nothing like I have tasted before, it's spectacular. We will be back next January,

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed here on business for a few days. The hotel is warm, and cozy. The owners are very welcoming and the food is absolutely fantastic. The room I stayed in was clean, comfortable and I have no complaints whatsoever. Spot on.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I recently visited here whilst staying up the road in the Craig Villa guest house with 4 work colleagues.

First impressions were very good - very tidy from outside and roasty toasty inside with a hearty welcome from the owner and his wife......and boy can she cook a mean meal. We visited every evening for four days and tried as best we could to eat our way collectively through the menu - choice , portion size and presentation were spot on and very reasonably priced as well, as we're the bar prices.

The food and hospitality were both excellent, with both owners happy to spend time mingling with the us visitors even though we were not staying there.

As we didn't stop over I unfortunately cannot comment on the rooms even though they look spot on....

If you like your food and you like a warm friendly atmosphere then this is for you. Even if I don't get the chance to stay here if I'm ever over that way and it's feeding time then this is where will be.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I stayed at he Hotel in early November 2013 with a friend, who is an aspirant Munroist. We were there to climb the 4 Munros just above Dalmally. We were very well looked after. The Hotel is immaculately clean, warm and inviting. Certainly our bedroom seemed new, everything was sparkling. There was a very good and effective drying room which was an essential for us and used everyday. The cooked breakfast was grand but too large for us. There was a good choice of evening meals which were well cooked and presented. Sally, an owner, is a michelin trained chef. There was also a reasonable choice of beers.

The weather was not good and returning to the Glenorchy was lovely. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We came up to Glenorchy Lodge in the summer. We got married in Oban and stayed here for 5 days and had a small reception at the hotel! It was lovely and relaxed the rooms were clean and very well presented. The food was second to none and everyone working there made myself and my husband feel very welcome! Would thoroughly recommend the hotel to everyone! Thank you Sally and William for making our special day so wonderful! :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

take time off to relax in this lovely inn with superb hosts who will go the extra mile to welcome you.
No good if your on a tight schedule as food is lovingly cooked but you are warned it will take time & it is worth the wait.
In the meantime your host will chat to you & in our case provide you with information on your excursions that will make your stay even better.
we only came across this by chance wow what a find

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenorchy Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenorchy Lodge Hotel

Address: Station Road, Dalmally PA33 1AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Dalmally
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dalmally
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built over one hundred years ago as a hunting lodge, Glenorchy Lodge has been tastefully converted into a comfortable hotel which still retains the feel of a family home. With views of the mighty Ben Cruachan it is the perfect base for touring, sight seeing or simply taking a break. The relaxing, informal, and friendly atmosphere combined with good quality, wholesome food has ensured that visitors return to us time and again. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenorchy Lodge Hotel Dalmally, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenorchy Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.