We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel has sadly gone into receivership” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barcaldine House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barcaldine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barcaldine House Hotel
Barcaldine PA37 1SG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Barcaldine
edinburgh
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
323 helpful votes 323 helpful votes
“hotel has sadly gone into receivership”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

I made a booking several months ago to stay at this hotel towards the end of February 2012 and have been really looking forward to it. Unfortunately we were recently notified that the hotel has now gone into receivership.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    6
    8
    3
    7
See reviews for
17
49
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Have just returned from an extremely disappointing New Year stay at Barcaldine House. Our room in the annexe was standard but certainly not the superior we had paid for. The meal for Hogmany took around 4 hours to serve and the food combinations were a little strange, lamb with trout! The food was very well executed although for an 8 course menu the portions were rather excessive. We have never visited Scotland for New Year before and were led to believe it is the best place to experience this celebration. Unfortunately our stay at Barcaldine did not include any of the usual New Year celebrations, although we were invited to watch the countdown to the New Year and the London fireworks on TV! When we courteously approached Michael with the itinerary for the New Year stay which we had paid for he disputed its authenticity, although other guests had the same information, and furthermore asked us to leave, which we gladly did. No apology was offered and we did not receive any compensation. We had both looked forward to this break which was definitely an unforgettable experience for all the wrong reasons and will definitely never return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011 via mobile

A terrible experience and not recommended whatsoever. Staff made you feel very chlostrophobic and were constantly watching over you. Food was average. Power cut in hotel ruined plans for first day, which was not hotels fault but a complete lack of understanding and apology about the impact of this on a luxury stay was unwelcome. No attention to detail whatsoever with package details. Had to request to be presented with items a part of the package, and was overcharged on leaving. Could say more, but overall very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcaldine, Manager at Barcaldine House Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
In response to your review we must say that we are completely shocked to find that this is how you experienced your stay. The accusations made in the review are false and at no point reflect the truth of your stay with us.
Yes, due to the weather we did have a power cut which lasted several hours, of which you spend four in the lounge with other residents next to the open log fire enjoying conversation, afternoon tea and a considerable amount of wine and drinks.
As it was not possible for us to provide dinner, we offered to drive you to another restaurant together with the other residents which you enjoyed, however, making it almost embarrassing for the group as you had a quite a considerable amount of alcohol to drink at this stage, being asked by even your partner to be quiet. The result being that as commented by other guests a worry about the drive home. As you did not make it for breakfast which was set up for you until 12pm, while it is clearly stated that breakfast finishes at 10.30am, we provided a full breakfast for you, at no extra charge, which would have been the normal procedure.
The meal and the transport were not charged for, although you were booked on dinner, bed and breakfast for that night, neither were the drinks. That we would provide this instead of your dinner at the hotel was made quite clear, although you questioned this on departure. Again, we choose not to charge you, making it an uncomfortable situation on check out. If this is not a welcoming gesture I don’t know what is. Other hotels might have shut completely or would have not provided this option at all. As the choice – and at this stage the only possibility – was yours, the accusation is entirely false.
Our staff try their best to make each and every one of our guests feel at welcome and at home at Barcaldine House, no matter if they are on a package or not. This review in itself is an insult to them and quite hurtful.
As for the afternoon tea, the champagne and the morning coffee, when these included extras are taken is entirely up to each guest. Our staff are always at hand to help, especially when there is an unexpected situation such as a power cut or the possibility of another one. On the one hand you complain about being watched and claustrophobic and on the other hand you think we are not paying attention to detail and are not offering a service. You are contradicting yourself.
Clearly this was not the right place for you to stay and we hope that in the future you find accommodation more suitable for your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Stayed at Barcaldine House Hotel for one night whilst touring Scotland. Room was beautiful and had character which was refreshing and welcome - so often luxury hotel rooms can seem so sterile. Michael was a wonderful host - made us feel very welcome and at ease and although it was a quiet night in the restaurant we did not feel uncomfortable as the service was efficient but not intrusive. The food was the highlight at Barcaldine - really was Michelin star quality and the meal was one of the best I've had. Breakfast was also great. I came across this hotel when thinking about wedding venues in the UK; in the end we decided to get married in my parent's home town but the hotel would be absolutely ideal as an exclusive wedding venue. Would love to go back and stay longer - we had a wonderful experience. I've stayed at the Isle of Eriska Hotel previously which was lovely but Barcaldine is a great alternative if you prefer somewhere quieter and more personal and is good value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

My friend and I just returned from an overnight stay which was truly fabulous. We particularly enjoyed the michelin star quality of food which for me was a first. Our only regret was that we had only booked in for the one night. We will be returning with more of our friends.

Room Tip: We had an excellent twin room to the rear on the first floor which was extremely spacious and obviou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

My husband and I went for a much needed break and was really looking forward to this LUXERY HOTEL,(that is what the advert said).On arrival Michael took us to our room which was located on the top floor.The room was so small,the bathroom was shabby and to make a cup of tea we had to put the kettle on the floor and plug it into an extension lead.We didn't get a choice for dinner (oh yes he asks for your likes and dislikes but we got duck which we had said we didn't like and told Micheal this and we still got it). We tried to make the most of our stay but the final straw was when we got our bill and was charged £4.50 for a small glass of water at our table which we didn't really want,but after Michael asks about your likes and dislike for your meal he then say 'and finally would you like still or sparkling water?. RIP OFF !

Room Tip: Dont let him put you in the Dundas Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

stayed here for 3 nights for our anniversary, everything was great! room was comfy, bathroom spacious, and of course the food we enjoyed very much.

all the staff looked after us very well, a very high standard of service.

thanks again Anita and Michael! (Hope the leg gets better soon...)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcaldine House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcaldine House Hotel

Address: Barcaldine PA37 1SG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Barcaldine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Barcaldine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished in January 2011, Barcaldine House is one of Scotland’s unique luxury hotels located near Oban and within easy access to spectacular mountains, beaches, lochs and glens as well as a range of superb activities in Argyll. With 11 bedrooms and an award winning restaurant with two AA Rosettes, using the best locally sourced Scottish cuisine - a true taste of Scotland. The 1709 country house hotel is surrounded by enchanting forests and secret gardens. Barcaldine has spacious public rooms with log fires, and is an exceptionally romantic stately home to relax, unwind and explore the west coast of Scotland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barcaldine House Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcaldine House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Barcaldine House Hotel to your Saves list