We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class Retreat!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ardtorna B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ardtorna B&B to your Saves list
Ardtorna B&B
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Mill Farm, Barcaldine PA37 1SE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Barcaldine B&B and Inns
Dundee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Top Class Retreat!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

From the moment we drove up to Ardtorna we knew we were going to love it, the building is just exquisite. We got a friendly welcome from our hosts Karen and Sean along with homebaked sones with clotted cream and jam on arrival. The house itself is just stunning from the outside, only to be outdone by the interior decor. Our room was absolutely beautiful, complete with fresh flowers and fruit, water, tea and coffee (with an added espresso machine outside our room), a fridge with nibbles, beautiful toiletries, cosey bathrobes and the BEST gigantic towels in our wet room. For ladies, there are hairdryers supplied and great lighting for applying makeup.
Our hosts at Artorna were scond to none, Karen and Sean gave us great recommendations for eating out and were very helpful in booking the restaurants where we wanted to dine (if you get a chance, give the Isle of Eriska Hotel a try, short of being Michelin star this place is an absolute hidden gem, also, The Seafood Temple in Oban is a must for fish lovers).
The breakfast menu is extensive with everything you could wish for and more, i would recommend the Ardtorna Speciality, although everything else my husband and i tried were equally as nice, the breakfast room is beautiful from the table decoration to the stunning crockery. If you are very lucky, you may even get the delight of being joined for breakfast by a family of deer who live nearby.
Fiona, who served us breakfast on the first day is very welcoming and chatted away like an old friend, she is an absolute credit to the Ardtorna and Karen and Sean.
All in all, for a couple trying to get away from the hustle and bustle of family life, this is just what we were looking for and more, we feel VERY lucky to have stayed here and without a doubt, will be staying again in the near future, thank you to everyone at the Ardtorna for making it such a joy.
Elaine and Iain Glover, Dundee

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at Ardtorna. May I say it was a pleasure to meet you both, and to be able to chat to you both during your stay with us.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed many aspects of our bed and breakfast, from the architecture to the warm scones served upon arrival...

Our gigantic towels are a real talking point - pleased that you liked them !

You chose two wonderful restaurants for dining in. The Isle of Eriska Hotel and The Seafood Seafood temple. We are very fortunate to have such culinary delights close to Ardtorna.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Ardtorna in the not too distant future ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    15
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
309
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I don't want to be too boring with the superlatives but, as before, we had a thoroughly lovely stay at Ardtorna - the room, the people, everything ..... This time we remembered to take some cards with us to give to friends! Having read a couple of the other (mostly very positive) reviews, in defense of the 'big breakfast table' I thoroughly enjoyed other people's contribution: it was an opportunity to broaden horizons and find out a little about how other people live their lives - let alone recommendations of places to visit or eat! Fiona is a warm and friendly person and her breakfast was the best! She even invited us back for a cup of tea the next time we're passing! This was our second stay at Ardtorna and we will be back to stay again.... we'll remember to order the Jacuzzi though the next time! Thanks Karen and Sean and we hope you enjoyed your few hours of freedom - you left us all in very capable hands. All the best. Jane and John Murphy xx

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Jane and John,

Many thanks for posting a review on your 2 night stay with us. It was lovely to welcome you back to Ardtorna for a second visit. We always look forward to guests coming back to stay with us.

Sean and I had a wonderful day away, thank you. I am delighted to hear that you were left in very capable hands....
Fiona is a real gem, and her friendliness and professionalism are second to none.

We look forward to seeing you both back at Ardtorna again in the not too distant future, and next time I shall do my best to book you into a room with a spa bath and shower - give us as much advance warning as possible as these rooms book out very quickly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We booked the holiday on the strength of the other excellent reviews and can only say that we fully agree with every positive comment. We have stayed in many places where we felt that we have been 'tolerated' rather than welcomed, but from the moment we arrived, Sean and Karen who are the owners made us feel really at home, so too did lovely Fiona at breakfast time-what a great team they make! In fact when we left it was like saying goodbye to friends rather than leaving holiday accommodation. The place is so tastefully decorated and comfortable with a stunning view over the loch, but deer walking past the bedroom windows put the icing on the cake. The provision of free whisky, chocolates, fresh fruit and fresh flowers in the bedrooms makes one feel that this is the height of luxury and how much the owners care for their guests. Sean even went so far as to lend us his telescope for the week for watching the wildlife of the region. We have never stayed at the same place twice, but the Ardtorna is one where we certainly will!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We all thoroughly enjoyed having you to stay with us for the week. It was such a delight to chat to you during your stay.

I am delight that you enjoyed all the aspects of Ardtorna.

We look forward to welcoming you both back again in the not too distant future ( we hope ) ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My other half and i stayed here last night, and didn't want to leave. The bed was amazingly comfy, the breakfast was second to none, the surroundings beautiful, it was peaceful and quiet, and the owners were so lovely and welcoming. I particularly loved all the little thoughtful touches, and its green credentials too. So much though seems to have gone into the place. It was a privilege to stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your brief stay with us at Ardtorna.

Our beds are so comfortable - it took us several months to pick the mattresses and mattress toppers. We are very pleased with the end result, and receive many comments regarding the beds. In fact many people have gone out and bought the same for back at home !

We pride ourselves in being very ' green ' at Ardtorna. We have another couple of projects in the pipeline too.

I do hope that you will manage to stay with us again sometime in the not too distant future ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Yes I agree with all the comments about the rooms, owners etc. beautifully decorated and maintained place without a doubt.

Not negatives really but points that i guess should be pointed out - found the lack of lounge area a bit of a put off. Once you there you are in your room end of.

Secondly we both agree that despite its lovely minamilist decor it was not a cosy romantic environment to be in for a romantic break. Breakfast was an uncomfortable experience to be forced to have conversation with 6 other people as everyone is sat at one table. We didn't feel we could talk to each other as 6 other people listening :(

Without a doubt its lovely and the owners lovely but I think you need a room outwith your bedroom you are in and also 4 seperate tables at breakfast would be a massive win

Oh and a slightly later check out of 10.00 without having to pay an extra £25 for on a Sunday would make it better

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us at Ardtorna.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed all that we have to offer , and that you agree with all the other fabulous trip advisor comments we have received.

You paid reference to the lack of a lounge area. May I point out that all of our bedrooms have ceiling to floor picture windows that look out over the loch. Each bedroom has 2 comfortable easy chairs to sit in . These can be positioned in front of the windows with plenty space to enjoy the wonderful view, giving you your own private sitting area not to be shared with other guests.

You also pointed out that you felt uncomfortable sitting at our large table for breakfast. This is something that we make very clear on our web site.
We receive great feedback from our guests with regards to the set up. Many a fabulous morning is spent around the table with 4 individual couples who have never met before. Guests can pick up great tips and suggestions from each other too.

You mentioned our check out time - these details too are on our web site.

We are indeed a 5 star bed and breakfast and not a hotel. Our design, style and set up is clearly publicised on our detailed web site. Perhaps a hotel would have been more suitable for you - as a lunch time check out as the norm is most certainly not something I have ever come across in any bed and breakfast establishment.

I do appreciate your feedback, but once again I do need to point out that the individual style and set up of Ardtorna is on our web site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I could write a long script about how fantastic the Ardtorna is, but it still wouldn't do it justice. So, if you want a beautiful setting with deer wandering by, a comfortably exquisite room with luxurious bed and great hospitality (whisky, chocolates, speciality coffees, etc.) plus scrumptious food and simply fantastic hosts - well this is the place for you. We stayed 3 nights and didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: All rooms are top quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your 3 night stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you both enjoyed all the extras that we like to offer guests while staying with us.

It was a pleasure to meet you both, and to be able to chat to you during your break, and we do hope you will manage another trip up our way in the not too distant future ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This review comes with a serious warning! A stay here will ruin any other stay anywhere else!! This is no ordinary B&B! It is the utmost in luxury, in fact you would struggle to find such luxury and hospitality anywhere else. Not forgetting the location! Simply stunning!
Karen and Sean have had such vision in putting this B&B together. The attention to detail is quite overwhelming. Nothing has been missed and a whole lot added that most people would not dream of expecting.
From the moment you enter you can not help but be impressed, the quality, the views, the cleanliness and not forgetting the warmth of hospitality. I would not hesitate in recommending this little gem to anyone but my fear is that it may become difficult to rebook as everyone is going to want to return and recommend to others.
They have won several awards already and I don't doubt that many more will becoming their way.
The breakfast in the morning was outstanding. I had chosen the sweet pancakes and was delighted I had done so as they were delicious but I had to admit defeat after all the other tempting items I had partaken in before the pancakes! There was homemade muesli bread, banana bread, soda bread, toast, every cereal imaginable together with toppings galore, a smoothie of the day and even bloody marys if you were so inclined!! Sean prepared the breakfasts and even invited us to take some of the breads if we were going out for the day.
It will be a long time before we find anything to surpass the Ardtorna and for that reason we may not bother trying and just go back instead! I hope it is very very soon.
If I was to make any criticism at all it would only be that there was no lounge area to sit in. This is by no means a problem as the rooms are spacious and easy chairs provided to gaze out at the wonderful view. I simply mention this because it may be slightly more problematic if travelling in a group. There was seating outside and a table that would have been lovely to sit at on a summer's evening.
We dined at Isle of Eriska which again was outstanding. This can be difficult to book for non residents but the Ardtorna have a special relationship with the Isle of Eriska for use of their spa, golf and restaurant.
I would say to anyone looking for that extra special getaway, you will not find better than the Ardtorna.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenOby, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your one night stay with us.

I am delighted to read that you both enjoyed all that we offer at Ardtorna. Although i was a little alarmed at first when you mentioned that ' this review comes with a serious warning' !

It was great that you both enjoyed your dinner at The Isle of Eriska Hotel. It is most certainly our no 1 place to dine in the area, offering luxurious surroundings and beautifully presented food at a very reasonable price.

Thank you for posting a few pictures onto Trip Advisor - what great shots ...

I do hope it will not be too long until we are able to welcome you both back to Ardtorna.

Perhaps your children will buy you another nights stay with us for Christmas !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ardtorna B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardtorna B&B

Address: Mill Farm, Barcaldine PA37 1SE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Barcaldine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Barcaldine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ardtorna B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardtorna is a purpose built eco friendly property. It is Scotlands only 5 star gold bed and breakfast with the AA. In 2013 it won the best ' Guest House / B and B for Scotland with the AA, Visit Scotland and The Scottish Hotel Awards, making it the first time in history that all 3 organisations picked the same accommodation ! All the deluxe bedrooms with vaulted ceilings are en-suite with either a spa bath and a high powered shower or a colour changing wet room. Each bedroom has spectacular loch views. Each room has full sized Molton Brown toiletries, TV, I pod docking station, DVD player, fluffy bath robes, gigantic bath towels, hospitality tray, etc are a few of the items for you to enjoy while staying at our amazing property. Scones straight from the oven are served with clotted cream and home made jam between 4 and 6 pm on the day of arrival. Each bedroom has a fridge with complimentary items such as nuts, sweets etc.During a stay at Ardtorna guests can help themselves to complimentary Malt Whisky and Home Made Whisky Cream Liqueur. Spa and golf passes are complimentary for any 3 night stays ( This must be arranged at the time of booking , and is subject to availability ). Please contact us directly by booking on our own web site or by e mail - this is always the cheapest option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Ardtorna B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardtorna Hotel Barcaldine
Ardtorna Bed And Breakfast
Ardtorna B&B Barcaldine, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardtorna B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.