We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good "local"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wheel Inn

Wheel Inn
Tresillian, Tresillian TR2 4BA, England
01872 520293
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Tresillian
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: English, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A good "local"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Food is average to good. Staff friendly. Parking is not too bad. Prices reasonable. Can get a bit cramped.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    19
    2
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Truro
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice Roast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Visited here quite a while ago, the pub and staff were very welcoming and we had the roast lunch whitch was really good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious Dinner In a Cosy Pub !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We passed the Wheel Inn on our way to Falmouth and thought it looked like a lovely country pub. We phoned to book a table and spoke to Alison who was delightful. On arrival we were shown to our table and we ordered a sirloin steak, gammon egg and chips and fish goujons for my son. The food was all cooked to order, delicious and huge portions with extras such as mushrooms, onion rings, grilled tomatoes, salad, home made chips all included.

The cod goujons for our son were home made and he declared them to be light and very tasty! He had chips and beans with them and really tucked into his dinner, obviously enjoying it. No chicken nuggets in this place ! Just quality home cooked food and a traditional pub atmosphere.

We loved it here and would certainly recommend it to anyone visiting the area. The owners were very pleasant and friendly, the menu was varied, children were catered for and the service was great. It was even good value for money. What more could you ask for ! Thanks for a great evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had dinner at the Wheel Inn on Tuesday. The pub has a nice olde world feel to it, just the place to go as a couple, or for a family. There is a good selection of food available on the menu, but the steak deal on Tuesdays can't be missed! Our steaks were delicious, nice generous portions, some local beers on tap, and friendly and polite staff on hand. If you are looking for a country pub for a pint or dinner, this is just the place to go! This is what an old English pub should be like! We will be back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall,UK
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have eaten here at least a dozen times in the last year, and have never had cause to complain about any aspect of the food. It is always plentiful, freshly cooked and excellent value.
Its good, honest pub food, and is somewhere we come back to regularly on a Saturday night because it simply can't be beaten for value for money and excellent food.
Its a firm favourite for us,and we keep coming back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apbellama, Owner at Wheel Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you MAdcat for your continued support. We work hard to try to ensure everyone is happy, and everyone here appreciates your support. Long may it continue!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wheel Inn also viewed

 
Mevagissey, Cornwall
Perranarworthal, Truro
 

Been to Wheel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.