We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the most glamourous, but it did the job” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southmead Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Southmead Guest House to your Saves list
Southmead Guest House
72 Queen Victoria Road, Llanelli SA15 2TH, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Llanelli
Ottawa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Not the most glamourous, but it did the job”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I was a little nervous after reading the reviews, but there was no reason to be. If I'm ever back in the part of Wales, I'd definitely return - for that price, can't be beat.

Ok, so not the most glamourous of places and certainly the most stylish, but the bed was comfortable, every thing looked clean and had no problems with carrying sound even with my windows open and such. My room was a little small, but as a solo traveller used to crowded hostels this was plenty good for me!

Location is great - 10min walk from the train station, less than 5min into town.

Can't comment on the breakfast - I was out and about at 6am all three mornings I was there, so didn't try it out. Every time I was in the kitchen area though, staff were eager to give me coffee or tea though. Nice to have the kettle in my room too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    3
    5
    25
See reviews for
7
8
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wallsend-on-Tyne, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

very good breakfast, very clean & tidy,excellent hosts and chef ,couldn't do enough for you,would definately recommend for people to stop there also 3 minutes walk to town centre.
will definately stop there again

Room Tip: we had room 7 it was ground floor and had a door to the back yard where you could have a cigarette d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I was greeted by a dishevelled man wearing ill fitting grubby clothes, and as a lone female traveller I was filled with apprehension. However my arrival was expected, I was shown to my room with an offer to carry my bags, and the room, though shabby, was clean and the kettle etc all worked.
Despite the ominous first impressions, I felt safe, the guest house was close to all the amenities I required and there were clearly many other guests staying that night. The room was quiet,my bedroom door didn't squeak, solid walls prevented sounds from adjoining bedrooms or the corridor, and there was a soap dispenser in the communal bathrooms all plus points as far as I'm concerned.
I agree with other comments about the breakfast. I had a horrible omelette, and couldn't be bothered with the toaster or queuing for coffee. The chef appeared gloomy and remote.A glimpse through the door that lead to the kitchen seemed to show a room with unmade beds and general filth....
Overall it was good value for money, and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I wasn't expecting much from this place, since we had got it for real cheap in the last minute. But I was pleasantly surprised that it wasnt a bad bargain. The rooms were spacious and clean, though the decors looked really old and made the place look dark. The heating system definitely needs some upgrade, since it took a while for the rooms to get warm enough. It is definitely far from most of the main beaches that you would want to visit in South Wales, but for that price on a tight budget I think you should be okay. The staff were very friendly and helpful, though the cook can try smiling once in a while :). But he was on his toes to keep the breakfast coming for our big group of 12 people. Overall we had a pleasant stay, with a good night's sleep and a humble breakfast in the morning, we were good to go for our journey ahead.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed here for a wedding night (wedding was at Stradey Park Hotel).

Good, clean room. Excellent service. Only £4 taxi ride from the wedding.

Good value at £45 per night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

The good points are: the water was hot and the bed linen clean but apart from that we were not impressed. The conversion from private house to guest house was obviously done on a shoe-string and reflects that. The decor is very tired. Breakfast was an experience. Although there was someone in attendance, we had to get our own tea/coffee from a table where there was an urn and likewise help ourselves to cereals. Two of us had the 'full English' (tinned tomatoes - not fresh) and one request for just bacon, tomato and egg arrived less the egg but with a sausage. The real surprise was an order for a poached egg, which came to the table on a large white dinner plate with the egg sitting in the middle, but with no toast or anything else on the plate. We had to get this ourselves from a table upon which there was a toaster and a cut loaf! We had one double room with en-suite, but this was very tiny with little room between the shower cubicle and the toilet. The bed in this room was comfortable, but one of our group was unlucky and had a bed with springs that were popping up. Some reviews make the point that it is cheap, but we felt that prices were on a par with other establishments which would merit a more favourable review.. We won't be going there again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Good points: Good location, free parking, free wifi (although I think the signal is dependent on which room you're in), comfy bed, friendly staff, decent breakfast, freeview in the room.
Bad points: All done on a bit of a shoe string but my room cost me £27 for the night so I'm not complaining.

If you're just looking for somewhere cheap to crash out I don't see the problem with this place, it was clean, breakfast was good and was what was expected. I wasn't hoping for the Hilton, but I didn't pay their prices either!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Southmead Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southmead Guest House

Address: 72 Queen Victoria Road, Llanelli SA15 2TH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llanelli
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Llanelli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Southmead Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southmead Guest House Llanelli, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southmead Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.