We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really enjoyed our stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stradey Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stradey Park Hotel to your Saves list
Stradey Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Furnace, Llanelli SA15 4HA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Llanelli
Certificate of Excellence 2014
gosport
1 review
“really enjoyed our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

everything about the stradey is lovely the staff are happy to help the food is good and the beds comfortable first class! will return

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    149
    43
    16
    5
See reviews for
85
152
18
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

My husband and I have stayed at the Stradey Park Hotel on a number of occasions since having our wedding there a few years ago (definitely picked the right place!), and I must say that we have enjoyed every occasion. The staff cannot be any more helpful. Nothing has been too much trouble. Rooms are well appointed and clean, although it is nicer at the front of the hotel than the back as it's a lot more lighter. Whats more, I couldnt hear the people in the adjoining rooms (a particular bug-bear of mine) so a good night's sleep was had. The public areas are clean and modern and its very easy to spend a few hours in the bar with a wine or six!

The food in the restaurant is of a good standard, both breakfast and evening meals with good representation of local Welsh foods. However, it is the Sunday lunch that I must reserve highest praise for - its fab. So many choices of vegetables, it takes a lot of skill to get them all onto the plate.

All in a all a lovely place to stay. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pembrokeshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Very nice hotel, lovely and clean, lovely decor,the bed was so big and comfy,little hiccup with our reservation at arrival but was dealt with swiftly,will definetly be returning and will recomend.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

Just back from a golfing holiday with 23 friends. We stayed 2 nights at the Stradey Park The welcome from the reception and other staff, the cleanliness of the rooms and public areas, the quality of the food, (dinner and breakfast) were all of a very high standard, which added enormously to the enjoyment and excellence of the golf courses we played.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

I thoroughly agree with Jayare14 who reviews this hotel on 19 April. i stayed a couple of weeks previously and had the same problem. the inebriated wedding guests spilled outside [probably because of the smoking ban] and created an exhorbitant amount of noise, making sleep impossible until 1-2am. The room was nicely furnished, although rather small. The food was good. Pity they can't satisfy both types of guest.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

Public rooms bright and modern, bedrooms very comfortable and recently updated. Bathroom and shower excellent. Bar food and service excellent. Reception staff excellent. Breakfast very good in a very modern recently decorated restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

This hotel is fantastic, as long as there are no wedding's. We arrived on a Thursday, it was great. Friday morning, wonderful. Then the Weddings do's started. Friday night, it was typical drunken mayhem. People yelling in the car park, chatting in the corridor etc. No sooner had that lot gone, Saturday's bunch turned up. At least we thought that would be it. But no, on Sunday there was yet another young lady, fresh out of the 'dress-up box' celebrating her 'Special Day'.

It seems the curse of the ordinary hotel guest to have to put up with Wedding receptions. So many times you see it. They turn up in all their carefully chosen clothes, all trying to look their best and make a good impression. Then they start drinking, and in no time, they seem to revert to type. Yes, you know the type I mean.

How the staff manage to clean-up from the night time mayhem, and present a sparkling breakfast room is beyond me. But they do, and very nice it is to. Found the food presentation and service to be very good. However, the breakfast sausages were not great quality.

The bed was large and very comfortable. But the real treat was good quality sheets and blankets, not the cheap synthetic duvets used by so many hotels these days. Sadly, we had rather a lot of time to ponder how comfortable the bed was, due to the wedding guests holding conversations in the corridor.

The free wifi was fast, but seemed to cut out every day at around 5pm for a couple of hours. The much talked about rooftop lounge and patio is a real feature. Afternoon tea up there, is a very nice experience.

If you can put up with the wedding nonsense, I would thoroughly recommend the hotel. I would love to stay again, but only if they have no weddings booked. Experiencing people make total idiots of themselves is fun, but I prefer a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stradey Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stradey Park Hotel

Address: Furnace, Llanelli SA15 4HA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llanelli
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Llanelli
#3 Romantic Hotel in Llanelli
#4 Business Hotel in Llanelli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stradey Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up in West Wales nestled into a wooded hillside with stunning views over the Gower Peninsula. Stradey Park Hotel is lucky enough to be situated in Carmarthenshire with its flourishing green landscapes and horticultural attractions such as the National Botanic Garden of Wales. Carmarthenshire has a lot to offer tourists, with its stunning coastline and long sandy beaches, historic castles and many popular attractions including Oakwood Theme Park, the National Wetlands Centre, Ffos Las Racecourse and Pembrey Country Park. Stradey Park Hotel is a large yet independent hotel offering a 'true Welsh experience,' using local produce, local designers and local staff to give you a unique hotel experience. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable accommodation including spacious family rooms and luxury suites. It offers free Wi-Fi, free parking and a fine restaurant overlooking Carmarthen Bay where fresh, local food is served for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Stradey Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stradey Park Llanelli
Hotel Stradey Park
Stradey Park Hotel Llanelli, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stradey Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.