We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Diplomat Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Diplomat Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Diplomat Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aelybryn, Llanelli SA15 3PJ, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Llanelli
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glos, UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Amazing staff. Nicely decorated after Jan 2011 refurbishment. Good food nicely presented. Excellent facilities. Spa nicely done. Well organised. Brilliant Groupon value. Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    77
    46
    19
    13
See reviews for
44
96
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We booked this hotel as we had a groupon voucher for £64

There was a wedding party on the saturday evening and in fairness when I booked the night I was advised of this. I said I appreciate that so can I have a room that's not above the reception area directly above the party. I was allocated room on 2nd floor and there was a litle bit of noise until 1ish but hey it's a wedding and it was nothing to complain about.

The staff were helpful and polite on most ocassions. The only down side was that with the groupon voucher it's 2 courses but only starter and main. You couldn't have main and dessert. It was a limited choice. However it was really nice . Even though it was a wait between meals, we expected that as it's nit a fast food place. We had mains and dessert . We paid for dessert. I would say looking at prices I've stayed in many best western and the prices were reasonably. The downside booking with groupon is limited choice on menu.

The room was clean and airy. Bathroom clean and appeared to be retiled.

Buffet style breakfast. Breakfast was ok. Sausages, bacon very nice. But the beans and apple juice was very bland.

Staff really helpful .
The leisure facilities have been refurbished . Pool jacquzzi steam room and sauna were great. At one stage we were the only ones using leisure facilities for over an hour.

It's about a mile from a trostre a retail outlet . And 8 miles from rhossili beach in gower.

On the whole had a really nice stay

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

My husbund and i stayed here on the 11th October . We had booked a groupon deal and fancied a night away but close by so we didnt have such a long drive. The hotel was very easy to find and was worth the 40 minute drive.
When we checked in we were greeted by a lovely young receptionist who helped us check in, we were given a lovely room which was the bridal suite. Very clean and nice room. We then used the spa facilities before heading down to dinner. Great spa , we didnt have any treatments but i will be going back there for some. Dinner was fantastic, great food served by great staff who were very attentive and made us feel relaxed and well looked after.
This hotel has a great feel to it, you do feel at ease but in lovely surroundings. Had a great nights sleep followed by a brill breakfast, again served with lovely staff. The food and staff made the hotel a great stay and i would def go back to this hotel. I have actually booked a spa day already so will be returning at one point soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantymoel, Wales
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 1 night through the Groupon deal on 8 October. Check in was quick and easy, our room was modern and spacious with very comfortable beds. The spa area and gym are excellent - staff even brought chilled water to you at the poolside. There were 4 starter and main course options for the evening meal which we both enjoyed. A rather long wait between courses though. Buffet breakfast was very good. Although I tend to be a light sleeper when away from home I slept very well and did not hear any noise whatsoever. The hotel exceeded our expectations and came close to being as good as some 5 stars we have stayed in. We hope to return in future.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Our nephew held his wedding at this hotel, its a dated hotel that could do with a face lift, the staff worked extremely hard though and they couldnt do enough. The bedroom we had was very clean and quiet. On the other hand others family members rooms were very noisy especailly on the night of another wedding, their bedroom floor was bouncing with the music. They were unable to get to sleep until 1am, when they complained the manager was less than sympethetic! I would not consider going back to this hotel, I consider it expensive and for the price we paid we have stayed at other hotels in the same price bracet that have been much more modern. The breakfast was very enjoyable and pleantiful.

Room Tip: ask for a room that is not situated above the main function room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We booked this place through Groupon. Only for one night thank goodness. At £64 for a two course dinner & B&B it was expensive for what you got. The offer was for 2 courses so we wanted a main course and dessert but no, we were told we could only have a starter and main course. The starters were vegetable soup or prawn cocktail really inspired!! We went for the prawns which were flavourless.
The steak and ale pie had a crust that had not slept with the pie – it was a lump of dry pastry dumped on top of some chunks of beef in a bland gravy. My dry fillet of sea bass with crushed potatoes and Hollandaise sauce came with a few drops of sauce on the plate. I asked for more sauce and was given a jug which made the dish more palatable. The food tasted typical ‘cling & ping’ – freezer to microwave, of the lowest quality as produced by the food service companies. Even some of the conference delegates that were staying had taxis bringing them in takeaways as the food was so awful.
After the dinner experience we kept off cooked breakfast and just had cereals and toast. The orange juice was very poor quality and the segmented grapefruit on the buffet table were so dried up they looked as though they had been around a long while. My coffee was weak and lukewarm so as the coffee maker was nearly empty I thought I would wait until the next jug brewed. Then I found out why it was weak – the waitress added another jug of water and switched it on – she didn’t bother to put fresh coffee in the filter! When we commented about it to her she just said – ‘oh do you like strong coffee?’ We told her no but we don’t like brown water which was all she was producing.
In the room the loo fell apart and the loo was running all night. We reported it and filled in a sheet for the maintenance men as we left.
A disappointing end to a trip to Wales.

Room Tip: No 33 overlooks the back yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Stayed here with my wife on a Groupon deal on a Saturday night. On the plus side, nice bedroom, good food and the spa and pool area were enjoyable. On the downside wedding all day and night so couldnt chill out. Also we were at the front of the hotel so as the night wore on had to listen to all the drunken nonsense such as domestic arguments, shouting, screaming and swearing. friends wanting to pick fights with each other and pint glasses getting smashed outside.This caper went on and on until around 4am. Did staff care or intervene, of course not , reception was closed and hotel content to rake in the profit. All this is fine if you were part of the wedding however if you want a relaxing break avoid as i got the impression that weddings are what keeps this place afloat.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Diplomat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Diplomat Hotel

Address: Aelybryn, Llanelli SA15 3PJ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llanelli
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Llanelli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Diplomat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Diplomat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Llanelli
Llanelli Best Western
BEST WESTERN Diplomat Hotel Llanelli, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Diplomat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.