We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Diplomat Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Diplomat Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Diplomat Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aelybryn, Llanelli SA15 3PJ, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Llanelli
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rogerstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed at this hotel over the bank holiday weekend. We stayed in a twin room in 'the new wing' - room 48. Lovely big room with everything you need. Very clean.
Hotel - it's set in 2 halves really - the older bit & the new wing. There are renovations going on but we didn't hear anything at all. The older bit has some qwirky decor.
Spa - we didn't use it but it looked good. The hotel seemed to be full of people on the Groupon offer & they all went to the spa to avoid the poor weather. Pool looked good but not too big.
Staff - they were all really friendly & made everyone feel welcome. A lot of banter and teasing going on between them all so that was very nice & very natural.
Food - all Gropuon people were put in a large room with loads of lighting & no atmosphere. Only 3 choices of coures but they were tasty enough.. It was value for money but I wouldn't have paid for it in a restaurant. Before you say it - yes it was to be expected!!
Overall it was a good hotel & we would stay again to be able to go to the beaches & country parks and to enjoy the beautiful scenery around the area

Room Tip: The new wing was lovely but others said the older part was lovely too
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    77
    46
    19
    13
See reviews for
44
96
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Troedyrhiw Merthyr tydfil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Stayed here with friends using our groupon vouchers, we were very pleased with our purchase. The quality of the hotel, as well as the service it provided were all good. We have stayed in many nice hotels and would be quite happy to use this hotel again. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the rooms spacious clean and comfortable. My only gripe would be the shower was a bit of a let down, not much water pressure. But a very relaxing and enjoyable stay with good food and great company.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

What can we say but a fantastic hotel, we were put in the Coach House which is separate from the hotel, a lovely comfortable, clean room and very quiet. Staff extremely friendly and helpful and although a limited choice of food on the Groupon deal it was of an excellent quality, breakfast really good though. Spa facilities really lovely we did not want to leave. Will definitely be returning here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Stayed for 1 night with a Groupon offer.
Warm welcome at reception and all staff we came across were friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious,well furnished, comfortable and spotlessly clean Spa facilities beautiful. Evening 2 course meal included in the Groupon offer had very limited choice, 3/4 staretrs, only 3 mailn, vegi lasagne, chicken and a very small fillet of Sea Bass. Veg that came- well we had 5 small new pots, some carrots,cabbage and a very few green beans between the 2 of us, BUT, the quality and taste were great .
We were at the end of service for breakfast but they made fresh scrambled eggs for my husband and came around asking if we wanted anything else.
We both agreed that we would visit again with or without a special offer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

stayed at hotel for one night, had an excelent deal with groupon, on arriving at hotel first impression was very old looking and in need of updating, but room was very clean and comfortable,the tv was old and not good picture, staff were extremely friendly and helpful, in fact every member of staff was so polite and friendly couldnt do enough for you, in particular the lady who was leaving to have a baby printed directions for us when we asked where the nearest cinema was, so kind! the food was exceptional, we had sunday carvery which was amaizing, a three course meal in the evening and everything was homemade, deserts to die for!! and then breakfast in the morning the food was five star!!! the spa was lovely, would definately stay at hotel again

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Staff very welcoming and friendly. Hotel room huge with great views and his and her sinks. Spa facilities great for cafe for tea seating by the pool. Happy because it had sauna, steam room jausi and large pool. Treatment were a reasonable price. Restraunt good and very varied menu. Went to hotel with a groupon so very good price, but would have paid more. Only criticism was there was a weeding going on so hotel very busy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Im on my bed now, been trying to get comfortable since 11.30pm...it's now after 1am, this bed is awful, 2 singles pushed together creating an uncomfortable lip in the middle, not to mention it's like concrete. Id put the TV on, but there's only 6 channels working. Not good for my £110. I wouldn't pay £30. Don't book.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Diplomat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Diplomat Hotel

Address: Aelybryn, Llanelli SA15 3PJ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llanelli
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Llanelli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Diplomat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Diplomat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Llanelli
Llanelli Best Western
BEST WESTERN Diplomat Hotel Llanelli, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Diplomat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.