We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stag and Pheasant

Save Saved
You added Stag and Pheasant to your Saves list
Stag and Pheasant
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stag and Pheasant
Llandeilo Road | Carmel, Llanelli SA14 7SE, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Llanelli B&B and Inns
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from spending week here and what a fantstic place owers are very nice and good to talk to breakfast was the best I have ever had well done hopefully back in feb see you soon can not wait to come back oh yh and the pub was great

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    5
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
3
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tenby
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were shown to our room by the owner, his wife was to busy to smile. He opened our bedroom door and quickly took out two cups saying he would bring us some clean ones and then we didn't see him again untill after dinner when I collected two cups from the bar.
The room was grubby with damp patches and loose wallpaper, the window opened but had mould all around it. The toilet had a folding door covered with dust and mould and no latch to close it. The shower was a glass cubicle and was actually in the bedroom. However we all slept well.
The evening meal was quite nice but the vegetables was just a spoonful of peas. Breakfast was fine.There was only one real ale and it most definitely was not local. The resturant and bar were clean.

Room Tip: Try staying in the cottages next door, same owners but better facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford on avon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

we stayed here over Easter, Our hosts were very welcoming.Breakfast was lovely. Our room needed some TLC, but as we only used it as a base it was sufficient. A few small touches such as milk available for tea and replenished, our towels being changed, would have made a nice touch.
But, the host and regulars made us feel so welcome we can excuse these small problems.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross Hands, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great place to gather with friends, went for the Welsh International Rugby final, which was great, and at half time the landlady brought out free of charge Food for the customers, the welcome you get is great, since Rob and Julia have taken over. They also have entertainment there, which is great for the area since its out in the country. Don't live too far so it will become a place that I will be going back to often I hope. Have eaten there before and it was very nice, had Jacket Potato with Prawns on Saturday with a small salad for £4.95.. They have a great Quiz night there on a Wed. night, so will be going, also a Karaoke some weekends. They also have a big 90 seater dinning room which is very nice, my family has had several family birthdays there Food is very reasonable. Plenty of parking across the road, and in the back of the Pub. It also had free Wi Fi which was very handy. My friends & I stayed the night, in the family room it had two double beds and was very comfortable, the only thing was it did not have an on- suite, but it was out side in the hall. The only downfall was the price of the lager which was £3 a pint plenty of Ale on tap thou. Good luck Rob and Julia.

Room Tip: In the back. Also have family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

i would like to start this review by being totally honest and say the family that manage the stag and pheasant do try and provide a memorable stay for their guests....but...apart from breakfast we would rather forget we ever set foot in the place..from the minute we stepped over the threshold and the place went deathly quiet and the hairs on the back of our necks stood on end....we got the impression our yorkshire accent did not go down well!!..The room we stayed in was described as en-suite..in fact it was a bedroom that someone had plumbed a shower in with a toilet next to it with a concertina glass paneled door...honestly!!!...no extraction fan..a towel laid on the carpet to step on when youve showered..the bed didnt have white sheets..no white towels... not one door fitted properly...Maybe we got the one bad room??????

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just returned from another Sunday lunch at the Stag and again it was ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC! At £7.99 for one course and £9.99 for two course you just cannot justify making it yourself let alone the mess you would spend more. The restaurant was virtually full and not surprising considering the quality of food and service. The new owners have not been there long but they have really raised the bar, well done and thank you, will be back very very soon.

Just do not bother looking for anywhere else. But beware! Arrive hungry as there is so much put on your table.

Paul.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ammanford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Our house recently had a fire and our insurance company offered to provide us with alternative accommodation. We chose the Stag and Pheasant and tonight is our last night here after a two week stay. What can I say? The food has been excellent, the girls that have served it have been excellent and Rob and Julia have been excellent. Of all the pubs I have visited in this area, the Stag and Pheasant has something many of the others don't...............ATMOSPHERE!

From the Quiz night to the Mouse racing, the evenings in the bar have been vibrant, busy and good fun! Ice cold Magners helped as did the selection of wines of which I think we tried them all!

As much as I want to get home, if the insurance company kept paying, I think I could manage a few more weeks :)

Will be coming back for Sunday dinner next week, will definitely bring the family for a meal one night too! Thanks everyone for your friendly and excellent service!

Chris & Eil

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stag and Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stag and Pheasant

Address: Llandeilo Road | Carmel, Llanelli SA14 7SE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llanelli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Llanelli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under New Management and Newly Refurbished, The Stag and Pheasant is an ideal place to stay, close to the M4 and set in the beautiful countryside of Carmarthenshire. There are many great sites to see with The National Botanical gardens of Wales and Carreg Cennen Castle and many other great places to visit only a short distance away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Stag and Pheasant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stag And Pheasant Llanelli, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stag and Pheasant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.