We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Thomas Arms

Save Saved
You added The Thomas Arms to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Thomas Arms
Thomas Street, Llanelli SA15 3JF, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Llanelli B&B and Inns
1 review
“Brilliant Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Clean and tidy. Staff are so friendly and welcoming was a pleasure to stay here. Food was amazing nothing was to much trouble. A return visit is a must. Thank you to all the staff. Brinkley and Colins room 4 and 5

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyevans, General Manager at The Thomas Arms, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hello and thankyou for your recent review of hotel,really pleased you had a great time and that you thought our food to be great I know two of you where vegetarian so we are delighted we where able to feed you well and you where happy with our homemade choices we recommend so nice to meet you all and hope you can get back for Christmas as discussed kind regards Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    30
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
20
35
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great stay at the Thomas Arms. Wonderful Welsh welcome, such friendly, attentive staff a credit to the management. The bed was large and comfortable, in a light airy room. Breakfast and evening meals were very good, reasonably priced pub type meals. Very close to the town centre. Llanelli house recently opened to the public is well worth a visit. The only downside is busy roads on either side of the hotel, quiet from midnight to about 7am but if you are an early to bed person you might find it difficult to get to sleep. I would stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyevans, General Manager at The Thomas Arms, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hello and thankyou for your recent review of hotel,really pleased you had a great time and that you thought our food to be great I know two of you where vegetarian so we are delighted we where able to feed you well and you where happy with our homemade choices we recommend so nice to meet you all and hope you can get back for Christmas as discussed kind regards Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed 2 nights recently, our room was the bridal suite which was a large bright room with a big comfy bed although not that special considering it was the bridal suite. The hotel staff were very welcoming especially the waiting staff both at breakfast and dinner. Some areas of the hotel could do with a fresh coat of paint as looking slightly tired. We dined at the hotel on both evenings and the food was good. The car park is quite small but there is plenty of free parking nearby.

Room Tip: Bridal suite is a lovely large room with dual aspect windows at the front of the hotel, worth paying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyevans, General Manager at The Thomas Arms, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hello and Thank you for your recent review . The hotel will be totally refurbishing its function room in October 2014 and part of that wolrk will see the exterior paint work revamped new triple glazed windows decoration work done to interior new doors etc etc thanks for choosing our hotel for your stay.We hope you will return when you next visit Carmarthenshire again.
Regards
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I can't fault my recent stay in Thomas arms in any sort of way.

The rooms are very clean modern the beds are lovely and comfortable,

What made my stay extra special was the hospitality of all the staff they couldn't do more for us to make our stay very pleasant and welcoming a special mention to the general manager Christine who is an absolute legend such a nice lady who really went out of her way to make our stay unforgettable.

I tried the food in the restaurant area in the week and once again outstanding... Cheap food,high quality and as usual excellent service.

Will definitely stay here again and would highly recommend to anyone who hadn't stayed here you won't be disappointed :-)

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyevans, General Manager at The Thomas Arms, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello
Many thanks for your very kind review of the hotel and our staff.
Iam really delighted that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel we strive very hard to ensure our guests have a super time and to receive reviews like this make our job so worthwhile.
Thank you for taking the time to review us and we look forward to Welcoming you back to the hotel.
Our very best wihes and Thanks
Christine David and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Thomas Arms for one night. It is essentially a pub with rooms. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated but ours had the smallest bed I have ever experienced in a hotel. We had a meal at the hotel which was pleasant enough. However, we didn't get much sleep partly due to the size of the bed but also as a result of the drunken wedding guests also staying at the hotel. The breakfast was average and I was surprised not to be offered granary or whole meal toast- especially as when it came it was good.
Overall this was an ok overnight stay but why oh why don't the owners invest in larger, more comfortable beds??

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyevans, General Manager at The Thomas Arms, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay with us, we always appreciate feedback so we can improve our services to our guests.
I am really sorry to hear you where unhappy with the size of the bed, just to let you know we do have a range of bed sizes in the hotel from Standard doubles to Super King doubles and should you be in the area again then please ensure you ask for an extra large bed and we can allocate the room with the best bed for you.
All rooms have a description of the bed if booking online or if you phone us then please just ask
Im so glad to hear everything else was to your satisfaction.
Regards
Christine L Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Would never normally write a review as working in hospitality my self i belive a service you pay for should be of a certain standard however after a last munite decision by my self and partner to stay there late all the staff coulsnt do enough for us examples being use of phones as we didnt have chargers with us offers of breakfast as we slept through fresh ground coffee and coke served to us even tho establishment was closed at the time in particular manager christeene shows me there is just some genuinly helpful down to earth people around couldnt do enough for us also would like to add the quality and cleanliness of rooms was a breath of fresh air considering my partner and my self travel almost every weekend for a night to relax and have paid double sometimes treble i still have trouble beliving the standerds there .also as we seen the food offers we went back tuesday and unbelivably ate 2 main mails for less than 11 pound generous portions and yet again excellent service have highly recommended this place to both friends and family and am looking forward to visiting again soon

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyevans, General Manager at The Thomas Arms, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Good Afternoon Kaz,
Many thanks for your recent feedback from your stay with us, we are delighted to see that you found everything to your satisfaction and appreciate the time you have taken to review us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and glad you have found a place that you enjoy coming to for your little breaks away.
On behalf of our Team Thank You very much
Christine and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Recently visited this Hotel for function, initial impression was OK then we entered the function room for two course meal. The food was average for this type of function with an approximatly
70 people attending, the real issue I had was very poor service and obvious lack of training of the
service staff, some of the staff were just ignorant showing little or no customer care, it costs nothing to smile and be polite let alone do your job efficiently.

Room Tip: Did not stay overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyevans, General Manager at The Thomas Arms, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Hello
Thank you for your feedback, this is really unusual for us but the main reason being is that we supplied a 2 course meal at a very very reasonable cost to yourselves as you where fundraising for a charity event.
As the cost was very low we where unable to have the required staff to run the event. I really feel I should say that our staff where by no means rude but simply under a lot of pressure to deliver the food for the event.
As you can see from other writers this is most unusual we are really sorry that we where unable to deliver our usual excellent standard of service on this occasion and hope this will not deter you from returning.
Regards
Christine L Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Thomas Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thomas Arms

Address: Thomas Street, Llanelli SA15 3JF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llanelli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Llanelli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming traditional Inn in South West Wales with 10 ensuite updated comfortable guest rooms that are well appointed and ideally located close to the town centre and the New Ffwrnes Theatre and East gate development.Also close by the renowned Millenium coastal path and within easy access of the beautiful Gower Penisular which was the first area recognised as natural outstanding beauty and noted to have one of the top three beaches in the world.Also Pembrey motor sports centre,Ffos Las racecourse, numerous prestigious Golf clubs and due to open soon Llanelli House a unique historic property dating back to Jacobean period.We offer a friendly service to all guests ensuring their stay has a home from home feel and atmosphere.We offer a wide selection of traditional British cooking, Chefs Welsh specials all cooked to order served in either the bar area or comfortable lounge area,we serve food all day every day.On Sundays we offer a traditionally served Sunday lunch with a choice of Home Roasted meats and fresh market vegetables served to your table, along with our full menu.We also offer extensive function facilities catering for Weddings and all celebrations for up to 200 guests with private facilities with disabled access.We are proud to be a unique venue in our area and ensure we go the extra mile so that guests return time after time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Thomas Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thomas Arms Llanelli, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thomas Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.