We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff let down by accommodation.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Thomas Arms

Save Saved
You added The Thomas Arms to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Thomas Arms
Thomas Street, Llanelli SA15 3JF, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Llanelli B&B and Inns
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Lovely staff let down by accommodation.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed one night in Room 7, midweek. We arrived late but parking and check in were no problem. Car park is small so on weekends with restaurant customers it does get really busy here.

Room on first floor, flooring and corridors really creaky, an absolutely overwhelming cloying smell in the corridors when you enter.

Room was fairly clean but skirting boards and carpet edges looked in need of a vacuum nozzle. The room was stiflingly hot and we were unable to keep the very heavy and quite dangerous sash window open - it slammed down with force on any attempt. As we were over a fire ladder and flat roof it didn't feel very safe to leave it open in any case. There was a small window in the bathroom, but we couldn't leave that open with the bathroom door open as the extractor fan and orange street lights were too disturbing. Additionally the room door had a 2-3 cm gap so the hall light and feet were quite visible from the outside!

The bathroom was large, and clean although paintwork was a bit tired. The sloping floors in the bathroom were creaky and felt a bit disorientating. The bedroom floors also sloped into a corner and lying on the bed made me feel a little seasick, my head was lower than my feet and I felt like I was falling off!!

Noise from the hotel bar carried up easily (and on a quiet night at that!) and a very noisy group of guests coming to bed woke my child on three occasions. You were able their every conversation through the door and floor. Add to that a strong whirring fan noise which stopped and started every five minutes. I tried to watch tv but only a few channels were available due to signal strength and I would've had to turn the tv up very loudly over the other noises.

I woke with a massive headache from the room heat (it wasn't even a hot day), the cloying smell, the noise and the sloping bed. Facing a drive back across Europe this is not the best way to start the day.

Free WIFI with good strength, and breakfast was good, but we had a bit of a wait to be served. Not the fault of the staff. The option was "cooked breakfast" but we weren't asked for choice of eggs or offered a vegetarian option or even told what was included!

Breakfast finishes at 9am and check out at 10.30am. Not a very relaxing morning after two hours sleep! We are exhausted.

Would I recommend again? Perhaps for a different room and maybe without children you'd have a better stay. For me, I will stick to the Premier Inn West and pay ten pounds more for breakfast, a flat bedroom floor and some soundproofing!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    28
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
18
32
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Spotlessly clean, friendly and helpful staff, who went above and beyond normal service, ie they searched through the rubbish bags to retrieve a box that had been accidenly thrown away, it was only a trinket but he had brought it all the way from Thailand to give his much loved gran. Food good too.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyevans, General Manager at The Thomas Arms, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thanks for the review so pleased you enjoyed yourself and so glad we where able to find the white box for your grandmother thanks for telling us about your stay really glad you enjoyed.
Kind Regards
Christine L Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Excellent pub, restaurant and rooms. Very comfortable and very helpful, informative staff. Gave us maps and told us the most scenic route to the beach. Good food and great real ale, particularly the SA.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyevans, General Manager at The Thomas Arms, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Hello and Thank you for your very kind review of Thomas Arms Hotel we are so dlighted to see everything was to your expectation we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit us in the near future.
Regards
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystrad Mynach, null, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Simply 5 STAR! Pub & rooms spotlessly clean, lovely decor, rooms very comfortable. STAFF outstanding, helpful before we arrived and during our stay. FOOD superb, 10 of us staying 2 nights, both nights we ate at the pub and the silence during eating said it all!! We will be going back for New Year and we would definitely recommend staying here

Room Tip: We had 5 rooms between our party all were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyevans, Manager at The Thomas Arms, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind commenst we are really pleased to see you had a good time.
Regards
Christine L Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We have just returned from a weekend away at this lovely hotel with a group of 10 friends, spotlessly clean, super food & excellent service from all staff, we enjoyed the facilities laid on to watch the final games of the six nations on a large screen & the free curry,rice & chips at half time went down a treat!
The hotel is around 15 minutes from the Pembrey Country Park, a must visit with acres of countryside, dry ski slopes, bike hire & miles of sandy beach to enjoy.
We are all looking forward to our return visit for the New Years Eve celebrations. Many thanks to all staff at the Hotel for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyevans, Manager at The Thomas Arms, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thanks for the review really nice to see that you where happy with everything.
Kind Regards
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Just spent a great weekend here with friends. Watched the last matches of the six nations in the beautiful function room. Great day all round. Friday evening had a lovely meal in the restaurant. Staff were all brilliant and couldn't do enough for us. Hoping to go now for our New Years Eve get together, can't wait! Well done to all the staff, friendly and excellent service, Diolch yn Fawr!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyevans, Manager at The Thomas Arms, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hello
Thank you for your kind review, really delighted to see that you had a good time during your weekend stay with us, we now look forward to seeing you over the New years eve period, Im sure you will have a great time with us.
Thanks for coming to visit us.
Regards
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Excellent service,staff extremly polite and helpful! Love the main bar layout because u can see all the liquer/shots/spirits etc that they sell. Had a table straight away and didnt wait long for our meals either fantastic all round

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyevans, Manager at The Thomas Arms, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Hi Kelly
Thank you for your great review so pleased to see that you loved everything thats great news we really do appreciate guests taking time to feedback on Tripadvisor, we hope you will be calling with us soon.
Thank you
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Thomas Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thomas Arms

Address: Thomas Street, Llanelli SA15 3JF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llanelli
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Llanelli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming traditional Inn in South West Wales with 10 ensuite updated comfortable guest rooms that are well appointed and ideally located close to the town centre and the New Ffwrnes Theatre and East gate development.Also close by the renowned Millenium coastal path and within easy access of the beautiful Gower Penisular which was the first area recognised as natural outstanding beauty and noted to have one of the top three beaches in the world.Also Pembrey motor sports centre,Ffos Las racecourse, numerous prestigious Golf clubs and due to open soon Llanelli House a unique historic property dating back to Jacobean period.We offer a friendly service to all guests ensuring their stay has a home from home feel and atmosphere.We offer a wide selection of traditional British cooking, Chefs Welsh specials all cooked to order served in either the bar area or comfortable lounge area,we serve food all day every day.On Sundays we offer a traditionally served Sunday lunch with a choice of Home Roasted meats and fresh market vegetables served to your table, along with our full menu.We also offer extensive function facilities catering for Weddings and all celebrations for up to 200 guests with private facilities with disabled access.We are proud to be a unique venue in our area and ensure we go the extra mile so that guests return time after time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Thomas Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thomas Arms Llanelli, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thomas Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.