We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant Le Rivage

Save Saved
You added Hotel Restaurant Le Rivage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Le Rivage
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue du Rivage, Lutry 1095, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Lutry
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great location. The hotel is beautiful. I was there with my wife for our second honey moon and it is very romantic. The restaurant is good too. My wife enjoyed specially the breakfast. They have good coffee. The rooms are modern. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    25
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
9
29
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This location is the best in medieval port city of Lutry, except for parking (nearby square). The food is of consistenly high quality, fireplace in winter, lake-side terrace in summer, views all year around. Fine dining as well as bistro style. High-quality menu changes regularly, fresh and imaginative, fish is very good here too. Lake-side rooms in the hotel have best location in town.

Room Tip: Lake-side rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

No parking at the hotel so you have to park in the nearby public parking and buy parking cards (available with Reception).

Room was very nice - small but perfect with view to the Lake. wifi - nice modern bathroom with large shower - comfortable bed - modern furnishings and feel.

Reception staff were a little dull, although one receptionist did lend us his umbrella when it was raining! which was a sweet gesture.

Breakfast below average.
Boiled eggs which you steam yourself...
Toast...again self service...
Cold croissants / meats / cheese / fruit / cereal
Not worth the 20 CHF pp.

Overall enjoyed our stay

Thank you

Room Tip: View to the lake - 1st floor - near the lift :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Hotel Roms are really nice, well equipped and clean.
Reception staff however is usually not very friendly and unmotivated.
Breakfast, which was not included in my arrangement, was charged CHF 20.00 - which seems a lot, considering this is a pure self service deal with no hot food available.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We arrived on a very unfriendly wet December afternoon. We were greeted so warmly by the receptionist that we soon forgot about the misery weather.
We were given a room on the second floor- well to be honest- we were a bit disappointed because the room was rather small. It had a balcony, which might help in warm and sunny days, but that day, it didn't. The sight over Lake of Geneva was super, though.
We were invited to come down for a glass of Champagne, which of course was on the house.
Dinner was another experience, not one course of that 4-course meal, which was not second to none and the service very attentive and friendly. Should you be somewhere close to the Hotel Rivage, it's worthwhile having dinner there.
I gave 4 out of 5 because of the size of the room.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room, but stay on the second floor for the sight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is a lovely hotel and is the first place we stayed at in Lutry. We now stay with family. We stayed a few years' ago now but the restaurant has been overhauled in the last few years and we often have meals there or just drinks. You can sit outside on the terrace under the trees, overlooking Lutry harbour with the boats bobbing up and down. We had a room overlooking the lake which was lovely and we asked to see the room last time we were there and the room had been completely overhauled. I was ill when we stayed there (I came over from England with a chest infection), I could not visit the family the first evening as I was unwell and stayed in bed. The kitchen made me some onion soup and the staff looked out for me until the family came down to sit with me. The restaurant itself has a Swiss Auberge style and the meals (both breakfast and supper) are of excellent value. We have been seated outside and inside and both are equally good. I can recommend the restaurant and the food. There is a playgrround and ice-rink nearby, close to the primary school on the lake. You can pick up one of the ferries here which will take you along the Swiss side of the lake or across to Evian. You can see Evian from the hotel windows and the mountains which are beautiful in the Spring, Summer and Winter. The staff are very friendly and there is wifi in the hotel. I can highly recommend this hotel and its restaurant. Just along the lake there is a swimming area in the lake. There is a co-operate supermarket up the hill (walking distance) and a post office also. Lutry has some very pretty shops and also a lovely Church in the centre.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the lake which is so beautiful and I thought very romantic. I have a pict...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I've stayed in this hotel on two business travels in April-May 2012. Both times I had a spacious room with a great view on the lake. The rooms are well equipped and practically new and have nice calm design. The bathroom had a walk-in rain shower and had a great supply of L'Occitane toiletries.
Both times I had dinner in the restaurant downstairs. The food was good, however the menu is in French only.
The hotel is easy reachable from Lutry train station in around 10 minutes by foot.

On my occasional travels to Lausanne I would have really liked to stay again in this hotel, however the hotel no longer offers that attractive spring price of 130-140 swiss francs for a single room. Unfortunately they are back to their standard 180-200 swiss francs, which is my only disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Restaurant Le Rivage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Le Rivage

Address: Rue du Rivage, Lutry 1095, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Vaud > Lutry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Lutry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Le Rivage 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, T4B, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Le Rivage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Restaurant Le Rivage Hotel Lutry
Hotel Le Rivage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant Le Rivage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.