We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly atmosphere, but rather small rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Cap

Save Saved
You added Hotel du Cap to your Saves list
Hotel du Cap
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel du Cap
58 avenue de l'ocean, 33950 Lege-Cap-Ferret, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in Lege-Cap-Ferret
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very friendly atmosphere, but rather small rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Good locationin the center of the Village in the middle between ocean and basin, nice breakfast, very small and basic room, but clean. Real star of the hotel is the manager Jacek, who is more than helpful in all cases.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    0
    2
    6
See reviews for
6
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We planned to spend new years eve with friends in Cap Ferret, but received a short email last week saying our booking had been cancelled to unplanned, unscheduled building work that needed to be completed. We wrote back explaining that we'd booked flights etc, and for them to find, or at least recommend another hotel and we've heard nothing in seven days. Really shocking service and would not recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lege-Cap-Ferret hotels

UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

If you're going to Cap Ferret (and I thoroughly recommend that you do) then give this place a try. We were so greatful to the owner for giving us a room for a week. Why? Don't do what we did this holiday. Don't drive for several hours and several hundred miles and arrive in Cap Ferret without booking accomodation in advance. Don't think that you can just turn up and get somewhere to stay. Especially if the weather forecast is 30 degrees upwards. Chances are that everywhere will be fully booked as we found out when we arrived. Thank goodness we found this place.And it had a room.

So...what was the room like? Ours was small but managed to cram in a toilet and seperate shower and wash basin. The bed was very comfortable but if you are in the habit of measuring rooms by whether you can swing a cat in one then all I can say is bring a small cat. I think they're called kittens. And I'm not advocating that. We love cats. Oscar and Cleo (our Persians) have never been swung around a room. Even when we've been cross with them. Oh and the place was spotlessly clean. Beds are changed/made up every day and the rooms are fully cleaned.

What about breakfast? Plenty of coffee, juice, croissants, yoghurts, fruit etc and it set us up nicely for exhausting days lying on what is probably one of the best beaches in Europe. About 5 mins from your front door (or 10 mins if you are momentarily s-l-o-w-e-d by eating Pain au Chocolat with Nutella as part of your breakfast. Guilty as charged, your honour!).

The owner speaks a bit of English so this provides you with an ideal opportunity to cast your mind back to French lessons at school and try out some of those phrases that you thought you'd forgotten or would never need to use ever again.

There is free wifi and the signal was pretty strong throughout the place. I got a great tan in Cap Ferret and grew a beard. Whats that got to do with an accomodation review? Nothing. Just pleased with myself.

To sum up then...well worth considering. We paid 75 Euros a night (and that includes breakfast). Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

While a tad pricey this is absolutely top drawer. The facilities are remarkable and set on the little hamlet with extraordinary views. Food is awesome and staff are equally so. Ask for the room with the terrace...there are but a few. Fantastic to take breakfast there

Room Tip: ask for the room with the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2008

While not cheap for France, one of the cheaper options in Cap Ferret where there is limited choice. The room was old and cramped, the bathroom was not great, and no view as on ground floor. Breakfast mediocre. Service laid-back but OK.

Very well positioned though as 500m from the main beach in Cap Ferret and the pier that connects to Arcachon via ferryboat is about 1 Km away. It is therefore a good place to stay if you want to spend the whole time at the beach and just looking for a bed. Not so good if you want to spend time at the hotel - in that case you will have to pay considerably more and go upmarket.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Crampy room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel du Cap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Cap

Address: 58 avenue de l'ocean, 33950 Lege-Cap-Ferret, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Lege-Cap-Ferret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in Lege-Cap-Ferret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel du Cap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Cap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.