We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise, just over an hour from Brussels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moulin de Daverdisse

Save Saved
You added Moulin de Daverdisse to your Saves list
Moulin de Daverdisse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moulin de Daverdisse
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61, rue de la Lesse, Daverdisse 6929, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Daverdisse
Brussels
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Paradise, just over an hour from Brussels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

A friend recommended the Moulin to us, and needing a quiet weekend away together, we booked (directly with the hotel) two nights at demi pension (breakfast and dinner included), at 185 euros per night per person - please note that includes a really special dinner! The room was nice and spacious, with excellent bathroom as noted by other reviewers.
We left Brussels a little before 6 pm after work on Friday, and by 7:30 were ensconced with aperitifs in the lounge at the Moulin, already extremely impressed by the quick, efficient, friendly yet unobtrusive service. Dinner was impeccable, and we chose the wine option whereby they pour a different wine with each course (which is 20 euros extra but really the best way, I think, if you are only two). Breakfast hours are highly civilized - you can wander down any time before 11. The next day we took the map our hostess provided us with and set off on a 16k walk along the Lesse river, coming back in the afternoon for a sauna and a sit-down out on the lawn next to the river with a well-earned beer. Then another gorgeous meal and a sound sleep, followed by the same thing the next day, except only 14k and then back into the car to go home when we got back to the hotel. As we set out that morning, our hostess said reassuringly, "Please feel free to come in and use the ladies' room when you get back from your walk"! They are lovely people and the staff are obviously devoted to keeping it well-run.
Another time we would take Friday afternoon off and fit in a walk and sauna before dinner. the countryside around Daverdisse is tranquil and lovely - hard to believe it's only 10 minutes form the E411 motorway!
The only vaguely negative thing I would say is that the drinks are expensive and can add up, if you have aperitifs, wine, digestifs... Also, and this is very minor and probably not a problem for a lot of people, but the toilets are just that bit too high for one's feet to touch the ground properly!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    11
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
The Hague
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We spent the freezing weekend (Friday -Sunday 10-12 Feb. 2012) in this large but intimate and cozy hotel. Nicely renovated rooms (no nonsense but all you need; nice modern bathroom). We stayed with a group of friends (13 people in total). (The one single in the group was a little bit disappointed with his room (older type of room for two).

The surroundings are superb : although only some 10 km from the highway E411, you are in the middle of nowhere surrounded by nature and very small villages Beautifull hiking experience (even at minus 10 degrees Celsius).

Very cozy bar and another equaly cosy sitting area. Nice swimming pool, sauna and hammam in the basement.
At peak moments the warm water supply in the bathroom can be a problem: advice the management at once, they'll adapt.
Btw: the management and the personnel is very friendly and eager to assist.

We booked a "week end gastronomique: half board with two dinners, one four course dinner on Friday and one five course dinner on Saturday. Together with the breakfast it kept us going for the day (neo need for lunch).
Breakfast is good without being sumptuous (no fresh orange juice, only boiled eggs “from the warm kitchen”, but delicious fresh rolls, self made jam etc)
The restaurant, at diner, is good, without being something worth the travel on its own merit. The wines served with the meals however (with appetitive and coffee included in the “week end gastronomique”-deal, were of excellent quality and served almost more than you can drink.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Having stayed at the Moulin De Daverdisse , 4 years ago, we were pleasantly surprised to find the rooms and bathrooms completely renovated and in good taste; nothing lacking, bathtub and separate shower, segragated toilet, bathrobes etc....the rooms are not large but you miss nothing: flat TV screen, safe, refrigerator, desk; The restaurant serves good food, according to the seasons and the owner is the chef cook... they were very cautious with the meals since I have some intolerance to lactose and it was taken very seriously by the personnel.Furthermore, there is a swimming pool, sauna and hammam which are used when the weather is miserable, which happens quite often in the belgian Ardenne.
The hotel is situated in a very large park with old trees and a river running through it. Lovely scenery and very quiet with a lot of walks around.
Only one hour away from Brussels, and more or less the same time from Luxembourg city;
We would definitely recommend this hotel and will be back soon;

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moulin de Daverdisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin de Daverdisse

Address: 61, rue de la Lesse, Daverdisse 6929, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Luxembourg Province > Daverdisse
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Daverdisse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moulin de Daverdisse 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Moulin de Daverdisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moulin de Daverdisse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.