We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Housesteads Fort and Museum - Hadrian's Wall

Housesteads Fort and Museum - Hadrian's Wall
Haydon Bridge, Haydon Bridge, Hexham NE47 6NN, England
+44 (0) 870 333 1181
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Hexham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I decided to visit this wall after reading magnificent reviews on this website. I was expecting to find a wall on par with the likes of the Great Wall of China, Berlin or Byker wall. However, I was disappointed to find that this wall is a bit crap. It's falling down in a lot of places and nobody seems to be bothered about maintenance. We literally watched one sheep walk over the wall to the other side of it, presumably into Scotland? Obviously not a lot of thought went into the original construction. It gets a lot of raving reviews on here, but as a wall, it doesn't even serve it's basic purpose.
In conclusion, this is the most underwhelming experience of a non-wall I have ever had the misfortune of coming across. Try Rome; some of their ruins are taller than waist height.
Good day to you.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    156
    42
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A great bit of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Not only is this site impressive because of its scale but is also in the midst of beautiful moorland scenery.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Roman Classic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

If you got any interest in Roman history, you'll love this place. It's well sign posted and easy to find off the main road between Carlisle and Hexham. There is ample car parking at the site, but there is a £4 charge for this. The ticket can be used for another 3 sites in the area, but only on the same day. The site office is at car park but there is about a half mile walk to the site, which is downhill then uphill to the fort. Good shoes are recomended as it is a stiff walk to the fort as it is on a hill. At the fort there is a museum with some relics from the fort, as well as a short but informative film show. There is also a box with Roman clothes for kids to dress up in at the museum. The fort is the largest ive been to and really good to walk around. The "rooms" have plaques on them so you know what was what. There are views of Harian's Wall from the top of the fort running off to the distance.
I would say its fair valve for money. I would recoment a visit in the summer as on a windy day its freezing.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Fortissimo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

A well-excavated fort in a prime location right on Hadrian's Wall. Entry is shockingly overpriced, but it's worth your time if you're passing and want to see where the builders lived.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Stunning.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

My husband and I visited Housesteads on a clear but crisp day. There was no wind although it was still pretty chilly as it was only the first day in March. The walk to the fort itself from the entrance was quite nice although up quite a steep bank which may be a struggle for some. The newly opened museum was a nice edition, with friendly and informative staff.

The fort itself was very well preserved and very interesting, and the views around of the countryside and of Hadrian's wall were stunning.

We had a lovely visit and would recommend this to others. We can't believe it has taken us both so long to visit Hadrian's wall as we have always lived in the area.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Housesteads Fort and Museum - Hadrian's Wall also viewed

Hexham, Northumberland
Northumberland, England
 

Been to Housesteads Fort and Museum - Hadrian's Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Housesteads Fort and Museum - Hadrian's Wall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.