We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Seaview Restaurant

The Seaview Restaurant
Lower Promenade, Saltburn-by-the-Sea, England
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Ilkeston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We visited Saltburn by the sea today and what a great day we had.

We had fish and chips on the balcony with a fantastic sea view and fantastic food with friendly atmosphere.

We will call again.

Best make it early has the cue was about 50 yards long when we came out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    43
    13
    11
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Decent fish & chips marred by appalling service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Visited on a fairly busy Sunday (waited about 10 minutes to get a table) and ordered 2 haddock and chips and something for our son. The small restaurant was fairly full, but seemed to be heading for a lull as people finished and left, was relatively well decorated in a modern style. I was a little ttroubled as to what we'd get when the waitress didn't bother writing our order down, merely bustling away as quickly as she could. A couple who we seated a little while after us received their cod and chips while we were waiting; thought nothing of it, other than our drinks hadn't been served yet. Then a larger group near us received their order and we still had nothing. A quick chat to the waitress revealed that our order "hadn't gone through" and it would be out "right away", but "what was it again?" Our son's came out quickly after, shortly followed by our drinks, but he's nearly finished by the time ours came out.
We were repeatedly told we hadn't been charged for his or our drinks, but we won't be risking another visit...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Fish & Chips I ever tasted!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Had a wonderful night with wonderful friends (only spoiled by a very rude customer who begrudged us having fun!)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tideswell, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This is not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Whilst on your holiday on the north Yorks coast you must visit this restaurant for the best fish and chips, great price and good portions plus the service was second to none.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midldlesbrough, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Senior waitress/owner? needs some people skills!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Very disappointing visit. Had pensioners' special, the fish was quite grey at the tail end. Chips were very white. The senior waitress was very unpleasant, terrible attitude to customers. Meal was overpriced for what we had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Seaview Restaurant also viewed

Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
 
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Seaview Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Seaview Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.