We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but small portions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Seaview Restaurant

The Seaview Restaurant
Lower Promenade, Saltburn-by-the-Sea, England
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely but small portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

These were lovely fish and chips,but for £5.30 and small portions though a bit steep.but would go again

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    43
    13
    11
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fish and chips by the sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Visited with 2 friends. Good portion sizes. Quick service. I thought the fish was a bit too oily but my friends disagreed. Lovely bottle of Pinot with our food. We all said we'd go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Scenic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Efficient and pleasant staff. A lovely breakfast sitting outside looking across the sea. Lovely and relaxing views. Good food. Worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Soggy chips, tiny fish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a chip off comp between here and the Marske chippy. Marske won. Last year I has lovely golden chips from here but this year they are floppy pale and tasteless. The fish was a small portion and not fresh. The take away window has no shelter & my husband was soaked waiting. Shame as the venue is lovely.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The perfect fish and chips experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

To get fish an chips right you have to have a lot of things in place. The seaview had them all: perfect fresh fish, cooked to steamy succulence in an oh so light and crispy batter. The chips should come in a range of sizes from big hot juicy to a few crispy ones. There should a be a lot and it should be super hot and fresh. Eat with salt and vinegar or (if you want to be a bit posh) lemon or (if you are slummin' it a bit) tomato ketchup orr (for that truly vintage appeal) bread and butter. It should be served by a happy and chatty local person and eaten with the smell of the sea, the sound of seagulls, on the sea front, on a perfect summer evening with a view of the pier and the cliffs whilst watching people and dogs on the beach.

Okay maybe not every evening in Saltburn is perfect but this one was. I am going back for more of those fish and chips.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Seaview Restaurant also viewed

Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
 
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Seaview Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Seaview Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.