We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful All Round Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jolly Sailor

Jolly Sailor
Moorsholm | TS12 3LN, Saltburn-by-the-Sea TS12 3LN, England
01287 660270
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: This is a large moorland Country Pub that offers dining in the pub or in the restaurant. Excellent menu and wine list, warm and friendly welcome. Four of us ate 3 delicious courses here on a midweek evening 2 bottles of wine and beer £130 staggering value for money as the food was both delicious and well presented....a very pleasant suprise indeed and deserving to be represented on TripAdvisor.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful All Round Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We called in on a cold Monday evening and were immediately met by two cheerful members of staff who made us immediately feel at home.

We had a drink and were then shown to our table. We all had different starters and different main courses and not one of us had any complaint whatsoever about any part of the meal or the general ambience of the place

The blushing salmon, chicken in leek and stilton sauce were exquisite as was the beef bourginon.

Well done Jolly Sailor - We will be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    29
    14
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

We went to the Jolly Sailor after reading trip advisor reviews.We struck gold a lovely pub.My husband enjoyed the finest steak he advised at a pub giant onion rings & home made chunky chips- I had the chicken breast in a cream brandy sauce tasted devine!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Sea bass to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I had the sea bass, which I can honestly say is the best I ever tasted. Others in our party had various meals all of which were superb & piping hot. The staff were friendly & efficient & were very helpful. & professional. The décor was good & the cutlery etc was spotless. Prices were reasonable too. We will definitely be going again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great atmosphere, great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

I havnt been to the jolly sailor for at least five years, tonight I was taken there for a suprise meal by my boyfriend and I'm so glad he chose the jolly sailors! Food was gorgeous all home cooked, fresh and great portions, very good value we had the tea time special between 6/7 on a fri and sat we got two prawn cocktails and two parmos with sides for 18pound fantastic can't wait to go back :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The not so Jolly Sailors”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We booked a meal for 6.30pm, 40 minutes after being seated and having queried the time delay our order was taken. No apology for delay. Three of the six main courses were really poor, chips were brown and mushy. Complained one meal was vile and were offered free drink or dessert. If you have nothing better to do than waste time waiting for poor quality food, then this is the place to go ! !

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jolly Sailor also viewed

Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
 
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Jolly Sailor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jolly Sailor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.