We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place to be.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodford Bridge Country Club

Save Saved
You added Woodford Bridge Country Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Woodford Bridge Country Club
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Milton Damerel, Holsworthy EX22 7LL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Holsworthy B&B and Inns
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to be.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Had a week here & so enjoyed it that i hope to go again nxt year .The outside look is that of a chocolate box thatch cottage inside its a large beautifully clean hotel .staff so helpful & restaurant serving a good choice at a fair price.Barbara D

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Woodford Bridge Country Club, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback, we are pleased that you had such a lovely stay and the atmosphere, the professionalism of our team and the hotel decor all contributed to you having a great time. We are looking forward to seeing you again next year!

Bridget Jnkins
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    113
    27
    18
    7
See reviews for
127
130
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 3night break, when the weather was wet and cold, but the accommodation was so comfortable that we really didn't mind cutting our sightseeing short to return to the resort. We were in a one bedroom apartment, which was spacious, well furnished with a small kitchen and even a balcony overlooking the river. It is not a hotel, so there is no daily housekeeping service, but this didn't bother us on our short stay. We used the pool, which did get very busy at times, but we were lucky to go at a quieter time, so we were able to find a free shower and changing cubicle when we needed them. The resort is constructed on a very steep hill and our daughter and family were in a 2bedroom lodge at the top, which we visited frequently as it was large enough for us all to spend time in without feeling overcrowded. Over the course of our 3days we climbed up and down many, many steps! But I loved the resort. Providing you are fit and able it is a really pretty location with great views from the top. The only bad experience was our visit to the resort restaurant, where the food and service were very poor, which is a pity as the Country Club is quite isolated and a good on site restaurant would be well patronised, but we definitely would never return. However, overall our visit was a really enjoyable one.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildomar, California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place has it all. Great accommodations, great pool and fitness center, great woods to walk, great location. The only drawback is the door height. If you are tall, truly "mind your head". The service was impeccable. Our room had a lovely balcony under the thatched roof. It is also very near to the Dartmoor Park, which has great hiking and ancient sightseeing possibilities. I definitely plan to return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went to stay at this hotel/ apartment block for 4 days over Easter. We got a great deal with booking.com and stayed in a one bedroom apartment. The accommodation was clean and tidy and fully functional. The beds were comfortable and the apartment was very warm. The pool was warm, clean and quiet most of the time and the staff couldn't have been more helpful throughout. We didn't eat in the restaurant as we were self-catering so I can't comment on the food there, but we would definitely come again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Woodford Bridge Country Club, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review, we are pleased to read you had such a lovely stay here at Woodford Bridge Country Club . We hope to have an opportunity to be of service to you again soon!

Bridget Jenkins
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed here 3 years ago and the quality of the accommodation (a 2 bed apartment) on that occasion was superb. This time we were in a different 2 bed apartment and it seemed tired, was also less spacious so I think the standard varies between rooms/apartments. Floorboards creaked noisily and walls were paper thin. Location is remote so it's a decent drive to any towns, beaches or attractions but facilities at Woodford Bridge are good (pool, small shop, bar and restaurant on site), rooms clean and beds comfy. WIFI a total rip-off though at £6 per 24 hours. Would stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We loved the lodge and the initial price was good, but there are cost to make up for it. £1.50 towel use in the pool, £2.99 for a DVD and the ridiculous cost of over£6 per 24hrs PER DEVICE for WIFI!! We had to check emails and my wife had to do some work, but with no O2 signal at all we were forced to pay the ridiculous fee. Unfortunately it didn't work initially and we wasted an hour eventually being put through to the Swisscom company to sort it out.
They forgot about the cotbed and needed to be reminded
There was no sheets for the sofa bed and reception didn't answer the phone after 11pm despite being 24hrs so we had to improvise with the blanket and mattress.
The bar food was very poor. Reheated jacket potatoes and salmon and cream cheese sandwich that had no cream cheese in it.
9.1 on Booking.com makes me think that people need to treat themselves a bit more!!
This resort has great potential, some very good staff, but is a mile away from outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Woodford Bridge Country Club, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We’re sorry that you experienced some disappointment during your recent stay at Woodford Bridge.

As the resort is primarily a holiday ownership property, we’re unfortunately not currently able to offer free Wi-Fi to guests. Most businesses can incorporate the cost of Wi-Fi provision into their pricing and so appear to provide a free service, but in order to do the same within a timeshare resort, these costs would have to be incorporated by increasing maintenance fees and rental costs accordingly, which would also charge those guests who didn’t use the internet.

We’re sorry to read that a cotbed wasn’t available in the lodge when you checked in. These are provided after the lodges have been made ready by the housekeeping team, and we’re very sorry for any oversights which took place on this occasion.

Additional bedding should have been provided in a cupboard in the lounge, and we apologise if this wasn’t explained to you when you checked in.

We can confirm that the resort’s reception desk is staffed 24 hours a day, and as such we’re very sorry to read that your call was missed by the night staff. Please be assured that this has been brought to their attention, to ensure that incidents of this nature don’t arise again.

We’re concerned to read your comments about the on-site restaurant. We must advise that your review came as a surprise to us, as we receive very few complaints about the on-site restaurant facilities at our resorts. We strive to maintain a high standard of food quality, and we were concerned to read your comments in this regard.

We regret that you didn't have a more enjoyable stay on this occasion. Please be assured that the issues you encountered on this occasion are not the norm for this resort and in no way reflect the standards of housekeeping and customer service that we strive for. We really hope that you’ll decide to give Woodford Bridge another try, and we’d love to see you again.

Kind regards
Bridget Jenkins
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My family and I have been coming to Woodford Bridge for over 10 years and have made it a yearly thing.
Staff are extremely helpful and make sure you're well looked after.

We have stayed in nearly all of the accommodations available and they are to a very high standard and give you a very homely feel. You pick up the sense that you're in a small village, rather than on holiday.

Close enough to beaches and towns, yet far enough away to have peace and quiet.

I would recommend Woodford Bridge to anyone who is staying in this neck of the woods

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Woodford Bridge Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodford Bridge Country Club

Address: Milton Damerel, Holsworthy EX22 7LL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Holsworthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Holsworthy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodford Bridge Country Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an old coaching inn from the 15th century, Woodford Bridge Country Club provided food and shelter for weary travelers, yet, while a warm welcome is still guaranteed, the standards and exclusivity of the Country Club have changed somewhat over the centuries. The thatched inn, the focal point of Woodford Bridge, still provides sustenance for guests in search of a superb meal in the friendly surroundings of the bistro. The suites and lodges, which surround the inn, are a home away from home that help to ensure you have a remarkable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Woodford Bridge Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodford Bridge Country Club Hotel Holsworthy
Woodford Bridge Country Club Holsworthy, Devon, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodford Bridge Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.