We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Start of a new tradition” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodford Bridge Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Woodford Bridge Country Club to your Saves list
Woodford Bridge Country Club
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Milton Damerel, Holsworthy EX22 7LL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
£59 (GBP)
Ranked #7 of 16 Holsworthy B&B and Inns
Whiteley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Start of a new tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My partner and I booked last minute (3am to check in that day!). We had a lovely time here. The photos and their website just don't do this place justice. We had a peaceful, restful 4 night break and were really sad to leave. Receptionist was really lovely, (I think her name was Laura) and all staff were very friendly. Nice pool, sauna and steam room (first hour and last hour of the day are adults only), gym, restaurant and small shop which is ran by a local shop owner (lovely cakes and jams). Shop open 9-12 and 5-7 which is perfect for odd bits when you feel peckish. We stayed in an apartment, so had a fully functional kitchen (with washer/dryer) and this meant we could grab some shopping from the local Waitrose (in Holsworthy which is a 10 minute drive down one road - very easy) and cook dinner if we didn't want to go to the restaurant on-site. Clovelly and Bude Beach are 25/30 minute drive away and both are lovely days out. I'd say you'd definitely need a car to stay here, but highly recommend, even in the rain! Beware of the very friendly Peacocks that roam freely! All in all, a little gem - we plan to pop back at least once a year!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    127
    32
    21
    8
See reviews for
136
155
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We are Diamond members and have been visiting this resort over the last 10 years. We really enjoy coming to this resort, and find it a good base for the North Devon/North Cornwall coast. We have visited twice this year March and September, and have enjoyed both visits. You do need transport and there are no places to eat within a short radius, in our early days of visiting we used to go out in the evening to restaurants, but they all entailed quite a drive. We now take all our food to the resort and cook each evening, the kitchens are well equipped and all the cottages have dishwashers. There is of course the on site restaurant and bar which we do not usually visit we did on this last visit and we enjoyed the meal, the menu should cater for all tastes.
Over the years the resort has been constantly refurbished and as Diamond members we always ask for a refurbished unit, and would be annoyed if this request was not met as I have seen the resort advertised on hotel booking sites at reduced rates, below the costs of Diamond membership fees.
The hotel pool area has all been refurbished and this looks really good. The grounds are always well kept no matter what time of year you visit, and the resort is a quite and tranquil place.
The staff are excellent and they will always assist wherever possible, the units are usually cleaned a few times during the stay changing towels and bedlinens. We have never had a problem with cleanliness, the units have always been well kept, we have only once been allocated a unit that I would not stay in and we given a different unit, we do appreciate that at busy times we may not be able to change units, but we tend to visit outside the main summer season.
The resort also has a small number of disabled units these look to be good well placed units, on the flat area of the resort as the resort generally is set on a hillside, so you would need to request one of these units if you have mobility problems.
A resort to which we will keep returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This will be our second visit to Woodford Bridge and to be honest probably the last, even though we love the location and tranquility of the place. The grounds are beautiful and so well maintained. Sadly this doesn't apply to the 'houses'. Our last but one visit was 2 years ago when we felt the property we stayed in was well appointed with everything in it that we needed, although the furnishings etc were looking a bit tired. This time our accommodation was sadly lacking! The kitchen inventory bore no resemblence to what the kitchen actually contained in terms of utensils etc. Also the few items that were there were filthy. The lounge furniture was badly stained in some places and because I had my small grandchildren with me I spent the first day trying to clean the marks off one of the settee's before I wanted them to sit on it - although the cushions had been turned over so the sticky bits were underneath. On making my granddaughters bed one morning I pulled the bed away from the wall to tuck the sheets in and found to my horror a spiders 'nest' in the corner! I spent the next 2 hours hoovering. I realise that it must be very difficult to maintain a large number of properties and know how difficult it is for the housekeeping staff to keep everything 'up to scratch' as they are constantly working against the clock on change-over day, but if these properties were refurbished and updated they would be so much easier to keep clean and maintain. On a positive note the bed linen was beautifully clean and the beds are very comfortable. Also the leasure facilities were excellent and all the staff that we had occasion to speak to were very helpful, polite and professional.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Woodford Bridge Country Club, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We’re really sorry to read that your recent stay at Woodford Bridge Country Club didn’t meet with your expectations. We’re really pleased that you enjoyed the facilities and found the staff helpful, however.

There’s no excuse for poor housekeeping, and we’re extremely sorry for the impression that this has given you. We expect all apartments at our resorts (whether refurbished or unrefurbished) to be cleaned and maintained to a consistently high standard – please be assured that your comments have been brought to the attention of the resort’s housekeeping staff.

We’re concerned to read your comments about the kitchen utensils in your apartment – the kitchen inventory is standardised across all our European resorts, and we’re sorry for any accidental omissions. Please be advised that our reception staff will be happy to provide additional kitchen equipment or utensils if our guests request them.

We’re sorry for the disappointment that you experienced on this occasion, and we really hope that you’ll decide to give us another try! We have a constant programme of improvement at Woodford Bridge, and we feel sure that if you do choose to return, you’ll appreciate the difference!

Resort Manager
Bridget Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I've been to woodfard bridge twice before and this christmas will be the third. I'm only 14 but i thoroughly enjoyed spending my christmas here with family and friends. Although there isnt lot going entertainment and facility wise, it makes it much easier for kids and teenagers to make friends and organise entertainment of there own. Also as a very relaxing place, its enjoyable for adults/parents ect. We stayed in 3 of the 4 lodges with our family, and the view and furniture is astounding, they are clean, spacious and very luxorious places to stay and we didnt want to leave after our week there. Food was good, fast service, good quality, and very cheap also. I hope this helps you decide to come to woodfard bridge as it is definately the nicest place i've been on holiday and i've been all around the world. xoxo

Room Tip: Get the lodges, theyre large and spacious, althhough on a steep hill, gorgeous places to be!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

From check in to check out - all the staff were friendly, professional and very helpful. We stayed in one of the club suite rooms and it was one of the nicest hotel rooms we have stayed in! The room was well furnished, clean and had plenty of space - the bathroom was huge! We also had access to a fabulous roof terrace with lovely deckchairs as well as a table and chairs - this was exclusive to only 3 rooms (one of which was our friends who we travelled with). It was just a shame that we didn't see much sun as it would have been so lovely up there! We ate regularly in the restaurant and again - the staff made it a very pleasant experience. The food was excellent and really good value for money - especially comparing it to local pub fare. We had a cooked traditional breakfast for 3 mornings and it was consistently good - and for £4.95 including tea/coffee and toast - definitely excellent value for money. The evening meals were equally good - particularly the carvery on a Sunday. We did visit the leisure centre - using the pool and the squash court (for a game of badminton) both of which we enjoyed. The grounds were well maintained and very pleasant to walk around. The only downside would be you would definitely need a car to get around as there is not much around there - but everything is available on site if you really didn't want to travel around and just wanted to relax.

Room Tip: Club suite no 12, 14 and 16 have access to the roof terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The staff were excellent, very professional and helpful. Also the decor was modern, tasteful and everything in the selfcatering apartment was thought of, comfy bed and large bathroom with shower. Bedroom also had a tv! Quality furnishings, quiet peaceful location. All in all a great family stay. Used the gym (basic but good) and the swimming pool. Didn't eat in the restaurant though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Woodford Bridge Country Club, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your review – we’re really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at Woodford Bridge! We hope that you’ll choose to return here in future, and we look forward to being of service to you again soon.

Resort Manager
Bridget Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcs
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Myself, my wife and two children stayed in an apartment for 7 nights. The apartment was clean, well equipped (although very hot if staying in apartments near the laundry) we had house keeping three days out of the seven.
Our two children loved being in the pool and the wife enjoyed the sauna! The 'childrens entertainer' did a good job with limited resources available to him. We took part in the 'Diamond Olympic Games' which included activites such as water polo, scavenger hunt etc which occupied the kids on the wet days. However, we felt that these activites should have been aimed at younger children too as there were older children and adults taking part (which didnt make medal winning fair!) however we did raise this and medals awarded on the last evening to the younger participants.
Staff in the leisure centre, reception and housekeeping were very friendly and helpful. HOWEVER! the staff in the bar and restaurant were far from helpful. Very slow service, a wait for 45 minutes for two scoops of ice cream was a little excessive, We left on two occasions without dessert as we couldnt wait any longer. confusion when trying to book tables etc made it very frustrating, sitting with two young children was difficult enough. Some young waitresses had a very poor attitude which didnt fit in with those in the rest of the resort.(the exception being a male liverpudlian bar manager who was great) This therefore tarnishing an otherwise faultless stay.
Would i visit again? yes i would. Would i eat in the bar or restaurant? No.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Woodford Bridge Country Club, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our resort. We are extremely delighted to hear that our accommodations, amenities, and activities provided you and your family an enjoyable stay. Our staff takes great pride in delivering excellent Customer Service. It is very concerning, though, to read that our restaurant and restaurant staff was not up to par with the rest of our crew. Clearly, what you experienced here (at the restaurant) is not representative of the type of service we aim for our restaurant and its staff to provide to our guests, save for our bar manager. This will be handled internally, so that this lack of service is not repeated again. We look forward to seeing you and your family again in the future; as we truly believe you will experience a noticeable improvement with our restaurant, to go along with the same, if not exceeded, level of customer service, and accommodations.

Bridget Jenkins
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodford Bridge Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodford Bridge Country Club

Address: Milton Damerel, Holsworthy EX22 7LL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Holsworthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Holsworthy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodford Bridge Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an old coaching inn from the 15th century, Woodford Bridge Country Club provided food and shelter for weary travelers, yet, while a warm welcome is still guaranteed, the standards and exclusivity of the Country Club have changed somewhat over the centuries. The thatched inn, the focal point of Woodford Bridge, still provides sustenance for guests in search of a superb meal in the friendly surroundings of the bistro. The suites and lodges, which surround the inn, are a home away from home that help to ensure you have a remarkable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Woodford Bridge Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodford Bridge Country Club Hotel Holsworthy
Woodford Bridge Country Club Holsworthy, Devon, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodford Bridge Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.