We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chez Charles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chez Charles to your Saves list
Hotel Chez Charles
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lieu dit tragone, 20260 Lumio, Corsica, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lumio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nantucket, MA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location and view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was our last stop on our trip to Corsica. We wish we had more time to spend in Calvi and Hotel Chez Charles. The hotel was very nice, upgrading our room to a higher (quieter) floor with a great view across the bay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    82
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
42
211
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Chez Charles has to be one of the top five hotels in Corsica. Joseph and his wife must be congratulated for their warm hospitality and the quality of the service and attention to details.
What a wonderful boutique hotel.
The restaurant is superb, featuring local products. I witnessed the morning delivery of fishes caught earlier. Chapon, daurade, danti to name a few.
The swimming pool is a delight.
We shall be back.
Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Higher floor with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is a lovely hotel, a bit stuffy perhaps , but still lovely. It sits on the main road from Lumio to Calvi so it is not great if you want the windows open. The pool area is sufficient but I would not spend time there due to wind and noise from traffic. They do try hard, my husband was not happy that the internet did not work in our rooms and we were offered coffee in the morning to compensate. The breakfast is way over priced. Though it has a beautiful view you do need to drive everywhere.
Though the hotel was fine, ( I agree with another guest's review that the bathtub shower should be modified, please install a shower screen and the possibility to hang up the shower head), in all honesty, I would try other hotels in the area before returning to Chez Charles.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Chez Charles is on a hill some 5 kilometers from Calvi with an astonishing view of sea and mountains. The hotel is spotless with comfortable rooms. Ours had a balcony overlooking the bay. The service at the hotel and restaurant is first rate from the attentive and knowledgeable staff and management. There is a wonderful trail that goes up the hills from behind the property. The hotel is next to the road but we had complete sound insulation with the balcony door closed. The hotel restaurant is outstanding with a sophisticated and creative menu.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Bay of Calvi
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We spent a wonderful week here to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. The staff made us most welcome and our chambermaid Florentina really made us feel pampered. We had a room with a balcony overlooking Calvi Bay with a huge bed, plenty of space and a really well appointed bathroom. We would have liked a walk in shower but our room had a large bath with a shower hose but nowhere to attach it to the wall and no shower curtain. The pool was lovely with plenty of sunbeds both in the sun and the shade. The pool bar was open from 4 till 6.30 each day for drinks and snacks with a relaxing area nearby. Pool towels could be obtained there for 2 euros each and robes and slippers were provided in our room .The breakfasts were extra but there was a good selection of cold meat, cheeses, bread and croissants and eggs were available too.
Dinner was fine dining only, we would have prefered a little more coice and a greater price range but we had our first celebratory meal there. There was a most impressive, comfortable cocktail lounge. The only real negative was the parking which was up a narrow lane at the rear of the hotel on 3 ssall sites. The road was well lit and there was a baggage drop off point. It's not suitable for disabled drivers however.
Altogether it was a pleasant experience and a very clean, modern well appointed hotel.

Room Tip: Well worth the expence of a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amstelveen
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

What a lovely hotel and excellent staff. Very friendly, professionel and accomodating.
We arrived a bit early but that was no problem. We could leave our suitcases in
one room while the other was being cleaned, so we could go out and enjoy ourselves.
Very, very friendly cleaning lady and highly professional too. The infinity pool is gorgeous
enough shade and sun for everyone. The bathroom however is a bit outdated. We had to shower in the bathtub , no screen and no place to stand up and shower. Standing up in a slippery bath can be a bit iffy and sitting down was the only way to take a shower. The
price of the drinks on the hotel terras was high... 8 euro's for 1 glass of white wine .... a bit steep for our tastes. But all in all a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariehamn, Finland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

It was also for us our first trip to Corsica and starting with this hotel was an excellent surprise.
Great staff, always available to help, modern and spacious room with a great view of the Calvi bay. You can go there with confidence, no doubt.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chez Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chez Charles

Address: Lieu dit tragone, 20260 Lumio, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Lumio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lumio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chez Charles 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idéalement situé dans le pittoresque village de Lumio, entre Calvi et Ile Rousse. A 3 km de la plage du Matahari et 15 mn en voiture de l'aéroport de Calvi.Hôtel: de 29 chambres. Restaurant gastronomique L'Oggi (1 macaron au guide Michelin) et snack Le Salvi au bord de la piscine. 2 bars. Parking privé (gratuit).Restauration: petit déjeuner servi en chambre ou sous forme de buffet sur la terrasse du restaurant. Pour les clients en demi-pension, repas du soir servi au restaurant L'Oggi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Chez Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chez Charles Corsica/Lumio, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chez Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.